We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jill's Tea Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alford
Reviewed 5 January 2014

What a fabulous surprise this tea room is! A wonderfully evocative atmosphere and food to die for! My wife and I have been lucky to enjoy afternoon tea at some of the most fashionable and well known locations in London and elsewhere, but without doubt our favourite now is Jill's. The food is not only gorgeous but so generous, and the service is an absolute delight. Thank you Jill for providing such a precious haven for locals and travellers!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Book at room for a friend in which she was very happy with warm and lovely room loads for breakfast staff very friendly .love clean and friendly welcome my friend will book a room again at the half moon

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazevans1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I'm sure I arrived in my car, but maybe it was a TARDIS. We appeared to have been transported back to 1979... But do you know, it was really rather fun! The prawn cocktail was more prawn than cocktail, but that's no bad thing. And as usual I drew the short straw: overlooked sausages in a pre-baked cardboard Yorkshire pudding. But everyone else was very happy with their steaks and fresh fish. The portions were huge, too.
Hey, there was even a sweet cabinet with trifle and chocolate 'rumpy bumpy' in it (whatever that is).
The decor is suitably old fashioned, too, with piles of old-school crockery around - this place transforms into 'Jill's Tea Room' in the afternoon. As you'd expect...
One other downside - we last visited about ten years ago and dined with the flies. They're still there, although not in such numbers in September. Obviously a problem as it's rare to see one of those bright 'fly lights' in the dining room rather than the kitchen!
If this place actually embraced its old-fashionedness it could be something of a hit! Turn on the Abba!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank stevefowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We needed to find a place to stay that was close to some friends who live in Chapel St. Leonard which seems to be devoid of hotels. The hotel was in a good location within the town of Alford and had a relatively secure and ample parking area in the back. The hotel seems to be the gathering site of several groups in the town who congregate there for fun and games. The hotel itself is rather tattered, but the staff is helpful. It has a bar and restaurant attached. The room was comfortable and clean, but nothing special. It had a table and television. The tea kettle was full of scale which they cleaned out when we asked them to do so. In the morning, we ate a typical full English breakfast made to order. It was quite tasteful with toast and jam. The service was attentive. We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The price for the room, considering the décor of the hotel, seemed high. We would probably have chosen something else, but this seemed to be the best of the rest that was close to where we wished to be.

Room Tip: We have been told not to get a room above the bar especially on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KUFBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

On a recent visit to Alford my partner and I were desperate for a cup of tea and a snack. Could we find anywhere open? No! All the cafes in Alford seems to shut in an afternoon, so we started to head out of the deserted town, when, low and behold, we saw a sign for "Jill's Tea Room", attached to the Half Moon Hotel on West Street. We decided to give it a try. What a fantastic suprise! As we entered there was 20's music playing on an old gramaphone, and the tables all had embroidered linen table cloths- it was like ging back in time. Especially when the leaf tea was served in a china tea pot and we drank from beautiful china cups. Best of all, the food was to die for! Freshly baked scones with jam and cream, and I know I shouldn't, but I could not resist a slice of the home made battenburg cake. Jill said she also made the marzipan- absolutely wonderful and to top it all Jill gave us one of her home made lavender biscuits. You can have full afternoon tea with sandwiches and the works, but we just wanted a cup of tea and a piece of cake, we will definately be calling again and i have told a lot of my friends about it. Highly recommended- 5 *****.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

First impressions are of a dark and dingy reception area. However the owner was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and clean and well equipped. Gardens beautiful.
Generally the staff were fantastic, unfortunately the bar man spoilt this as he seemed more interested in his own alcohol consumption?
Meals were lovely, even for us vegetarians!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieatoldcanalfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed with freinds whilst doing a trackday at Cadwell Park

Excellent service,good food, nice rooms and really freindly. definately return and recomend.
The staff even started breakfast early so that we could get to the track on time!

Room **** Star
Food**** Star
Staff ****Star

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alford
0.1 mi away
The Windmill Hotel
The Windmill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alford
57 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Grange & Links
The Grange & Links
#1 of 3 in Sutton-on-Sea
400 reviews
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#12 of 25 in Skegness
72 reviews
10.7 mi away
Kildare Hotel
Kildare Hotel
#1 of 25 in Skegness
328 reviews
12 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 25-28 West Street, Alford LN13 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Alford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alford
Price Range: £88 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Half Moon Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Half Moon Hotel And Restaurant Alford, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing