We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cleethorpes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked from Monday to Monday in June, for my sons 2nd birthday. The caravan was a lovely caravan, there was always staff out and about cleaning, cutting grass, trimming hedges, the staff on reception were very helpful and usually had a smile. I was dissapointed with the eating areas, they reminded me of a motorway cafe, in need of a good clean, which was a sharp contrast to the rest of the site. From Monday to Friday the site was so peaceful, but on Friday we experienced a rowdy site, music booming from a surrounding caravan from the moment they got up to well past midnight, so we left on Sunday morning as my son was struggling to sleep through it. The Trawlerman was a fantastic place to eat for both carvery and normal pub food, be prepared to queue though its that popular. We tried the chinese takeaway, near to the site and was very dissapointed with the portions for the price. The beach in Cleethorpes was lovely, we were lucky enough to have our car so took off most days and had a lovely day out at Skegness. Security was excellent, having security guards on barriers to check you had passes before allowing you onto the site, which I think is a brilliant idea. The spar shop is expensive but we went to Tesco which was close by. I made the mistake of leaving my sons shoes out overnight and we woke to find them chewed to bits. Would we go again, probably not but its nothing against the site just the noisy people who liked their music. I do feel thought that some people are a bit hard on the site, its a great base at a really good price.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cedar Brook area in caravan 2, a beautiful caravan, and not to far from amenities but f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe H, Guest Relations Manager at Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Hi

Thank you for your review it was great to hear your caravan was lovely and in a good location.
I was saddend to hear of the disappointment you felt regarding the food courts not being upto standard, I have passed on your comments for the next anual review.

I am also sorry to hear that you experienced noisy guests in the neighbouring caravan.
Its great to know you found the price of your holiday to be good.

I hope you will return to Haven again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Where do i start !!! Driving up to the site i though oooh this looks good right on the beach nxt to a theme park with plenty to do, i couldnt be futher from the truth!! We got our keys for our van and went to look for it we were on the same side as the touring pitches far away from the facilities but that didnt bother us were all capable of walking, driving around we saw vans that must of dated back to the sixtys ive never seen such old nasty looking vans in my life luckly ours wasn't that bad or old till we got in side :( it was filthy !!! The fixtures and fittings were upto date but it looked like it had not had a good clean for a long time, we found out that this is because we had chosen to take our dogs !!! Night time was horricic as my bed/ bedding smelt of un washed people :( any way we went to look at the facilities as this is a massive park we expected there to be a massive amount of facilities we were wrong !!! The pool is tiny !!! We only went once as its filthy chewing gum stuck to the floor and changing cubicles and bugs jumping around the changing room seat :( yuk!!! There wasnt enough room for all the people who wanted to use it !! Big fail !! We went to the amusments and none of the change machines worked :( my teenage daughter politely asked a member of staff and they basically said tough!!! Very rude in fact the only member of staff who was friendly and always said hello was the security staff !! We later tried the entertainment , what a major let down !! We got there at 7:30 which we thought was early but every table and chair was full already again this facility is not big enough for the amout of vans on
this park, so we went to the other room which has no entertainment at all :( we had some food there which was ok is except my sons spag bol looked like it had been recyled from some one elses plate dry and clearly microwaved , i have 3 teenage kids 11,13,16 they were all bored out of there brains!! We have been to many holiday parks all over this country and if u check out my profile i always find something good to say but this time i can not !! This was the first time ive used haven and i would never use them again!! A waste of a weeks holiday :(

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebload76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe H, Guest Relations Manager at Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

I would like to thank you for your feedback although it was upsetting to hear.

I have passed on your concerns regarding the condition of your caravan and the updating needed. The cafe bar delivers a great variety of meals all delivered to a high standard, I m sorry to hear that you found it to be poor..


I hope you change your mind and try another break with Haven.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We went to thorpe park in may we were offered an upgrade to a prestige before we went. The caravan was out standing we can not fault the caravan it was spotless. We have been to other haven sites and this is far better and cleaner. We were in orchard which was perfect for us having two children we could get straight to the beach. The swimming pool was spotless lifegaurds were always cleaning it. When we came to leave our 4 year old cried and didn,t want to leave. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: All caravan are a good distance away from the main complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe H, Guest Relations Manager at Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Hi

Thank you for visitting thorpe park. It was great to hear that you all had a fantastic time , your lovely comments have been passed to all the team. I was happy to hear your caravan was close to the beach access and that you enjoyed time on the beach. Its always nice to hear that our guests dont want to leave, but just as good to hear that they will be returning.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in April, was a little on the chilly side but hired extra heaters from reception. Caravan was lovely and clean and in a great spot near the beach. Plenty for the kids to do, another great Haven site but not sure if enough to do for a whole week. More of a weekend break.

Would visit again

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funkymonkey789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe H, Guest Relations Manager at Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Hi

I would like to say a big thank you for your feed back, Im so happy to hear you all had a great week end and your accommodation was cleaned to a high standard.

Great to hear the kids had plenty of fun the whole week end. Summer is always the best time to find more fun things to do.
As in all seaside resorts most places are just opening at this time of the year .The weather does influence opening times.

Look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a family weekend break at Thorpe park and overall it was a lovely holiday we had a prestige caravan with sea view and the caravan was lovely with a good view definitely worth the extra money. The caravan was of a high standard but could of been cleaned to a higher standard than it was, the shower had hair and fluff in it and surfaces were only wiped down looking dirty still but overall the caravan was lovely!

The entertainment complex was lovely and clean with plenty for the kids to do they all had a great time. The showbar was kept nice and clean with plenty of tables and chairs available, iv been to a few haven sites and always enjoyed the evening entertainment but have to say the entertainment has gone down hill a bit since our last visit. They used to have the catchy haven kids dances on every now and again through the evening but this seems to have stopped so we didn't go home singing random funny holiday songs this time which is a bit disappointing as we always have done before, the entertainment was very cheap and cheesy so they need to get this sorted out to get back to the haven standard people expect.

The swimming pool was kept clean and changing areas but the slides were not open very much at all and unsure why this is as it wasn't raining or there was no work going on!

Overall Thorpe park is a nice, clean entertaining break for families just a few things need sorting to make it a great break away!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazziemikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe H, Guest Relations Manager at Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Hi

Thank you for your comments , It was great to hear that your holiday was so good and the view you had from your caravan was amazing.

So good to hear your caravan was of a high standard , but a little dissapointed with the cleanliness. We do hope this was a one of and will return to our high standards.

Our entertainment team are always trying new shows so guests dont get bored with the same thing , I have passed on your request for the happy random dances and songs to return.
Hopefully on your next haven visit you will go home singing once again.

Thank you once again

Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

What a lovely holiday me and my family had!! By far the best haven park we have ever visited, would defenatly reccomend this place to everyone, so much to see and do and very friendly staff, especialy the lovely young lady that works in reception jodie she was very helpful and always had a beautiful friendly smile, and also the bar staff in cafe bar very friendly too!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catty63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe H, Guest Relations Manager at Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Hi

Thank you for chosing Thorpe park , It was great to hear that you had a fantastic time and found lots to do for the whole family.

Its always nice to hear that our team are friendly and helpful. A smile says it all. I have passed on your kind words to the reception team.

We look forward to seeing you all again.


Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Very clean and friendly staff but very little in the way of outside play areas. Also lay out of fun works very poor entrance around the back and have to go in there to get to all areas like pool and mini golf but don't know what other reviews are talking about the complex is clean and well maintained no problems there would recommend to any one and will return to this park

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe H, Guest Relations Manager at Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Hi D G,

Thank you for your coments regarding your break. I was pleased to hear that our team were friendly and you found the complex clean and well maintained.

We have been looking into changing the entrance to the funworks and it is high on our list of priorities.

It is great to hear that you will be coming back and that you'd recommend us.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Amelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
1 mi away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Beeches Hotel
The Beeches Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grimsby
259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#4 of 7 in Cleethorpes
284 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Thorpe Park Caravan Park Cleethorpes, Cleethorpes DN35 0PW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Thorpe Haven Holiday Park Hotel Cleethorpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing