We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thorpe park the worst haven site”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cleethorpes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“thorpe park the worst haven site”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

we have been to lots of haven hoildays,, but we did not like thorpe park one bit, the carvan was nice until we went into toilet, the walls were covered in ants,, we got some ant killer spary, but this did not help, because the ants still kept coming back,
it is a good 10-15 min walk to the main complex, it was ok going out but coming back it was very dark, and found it very hard to find carvan in the dark,
the enterainment was not as good as other haven sites,
on the plus side the restaurant was brillant food very nice a good choice to choose from.
this has not put us off haven hoildays just not thorpe park.

Room Tip: we did not use fittness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillytaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorpe H, Guest Relations Manager at Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hi

Thank you for your feed back.I am disappointed to read of the problem you had with ants but pleased to hear that H/K tried to eradicate them from your accommodation.
I am sorry that your caraven was not close enough to the main complex and you had a 15 min walk and found it difficult to find when returning in the dark. I would like to advise for future reference that you can request to be closer to the main complex, although we can not guarentee this we will try our best.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to another one of our Haven sites.

Kind Regards

Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    428
    235
    100
    92
See reviews for
969
90
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Arrived for Friday to Sunday break. Lazy River not open Friday - reason given "Change over day" despite number of people complaining manager would not relent. Feel there was unnecessary bad feeling over this. The facilities were very good but Crazy golf, trampoline and the wall very expensive considering we had already paid facilities admission charge - £20 each for week-end. The plus side is that the site is well maintained and staff very friendly. Would I visit again? not if there was an alternative.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 322Anita1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Myself the wife and 2 kids aged 10 and 8 had a great time.
Facilities were excellent. Staff couldn't do enough to help.
I would have given it 5 stars but the accomodation let it down.
We stayed at palm springs 47(Fantastic caravan, must be top of the range, decking and en-suite wc and great location in the park) only problem was, on arrival we opened the front door and you were hit by a horrible smell. Bedroom floor was soaking.Contacted reception, 5mins later a handyman came, he said a plumber would come the next morning and sure enough"great service" the plumber appeared and found the problem was a leak from the bath and quickly sorted it. But the floor was still wet when we left. The smell was so bad, we found we couldn't sleep in the room and slept on the living room floor.
The pool was great, flumes kept the kids entertained. We spent most of the time on site, lots to do.
We usually go haven, but this is the first time we have not cooked because the food was excellent in the restaurant. So we spent a lot of money but it was worth it.
LOOKING FORWARD TO GOING BACK. CHEERS THORPE PARK

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 17GEEFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just been to thorpe park with my husband, my 11 year old son, his friend and my 81 year old dad and had a great time ! Our caravan was spotless the only problem we had was the location was a bit far from the complex so had to use the car but was close to the beach which was lovely. The staff were very friendly as soon as we arrived at reception and made us very welcome.
The security staff were also very friendly and always spoke when we went in the complex and also every time we left . The restaurant was lovely with varied options even for myself and I'm a veggie ! The food was gorgeous and very reasonable prices. The swimming pool and slides were fab and where the kids spent most of their time . We chose to sit outside the restaurant on a night as it was very hot instead of the indoor entertainment and the seating is very comfortable and drinks were average prices .
The only complaint I would have is the amount of activities you have to pay for where the kids are concerned and we had to limit them to only doing a few as it would have been too expensive for them to do them all ! My kids were fine with this although younger children would maybe not understand as much ! All in all though a great 3 day stay maybe a week would've been too long especially if the weather was poor !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is the 3rd Haven we have been to and unfortunately it comes 3rd too!
The site itself is beautifully maintained throughout and has lovely water features with ducks,geese and swans and also areas for fishing too,it also backs onto a stunning beach.
The van we stayed in was good too.Although a very long way from the bars and pool etc.
However,this park seems to have got too big and has lost the nice friendly atmosphere that we have got used to at other Haven sites.
The entertainment bar is incredibly loud,overcrowded and in your face and far from enjoyable,the cafe bar was a bit quieter and has a nice area for children to play.
Bar drinks are very expensive,children's drinks are pricey,coffee too,this bar is constantly rammed with people and finding a clean table is hard to do!
The swimming pool is too small for the size of the park and flumes are outside so you are very dependant on the weather if you want to use these.The changing rooms were not good.
Activities are at an extra cost too,turbo jets in the pool £4. Crazy golf for 4 adults and 2 children £22,family train for 4 for an hour £15,carts £10 per hour,the shop on site is mega expensive too.So if you are on a budget you need to head to the beach if the weather is good enough.
Would I return?No,not to this one but would go back to the other Haven sites.
Would I recommend? No not to this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snooks5970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed in a prestige caravan and the quality was non existence. Very poor standard of accomodation. Site at Thorpe park is very isolated. Cleethorpes near by is ok but skegness? What a dump. Entertainment on the pow camp is simply rubbish. The entertainment room smells of old shoes and the staff who try to entertain are just awful. Everything on the site costs a bomb. What people see in camping / Caravaning is beyond me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davidsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We recently visited this holiday park for a friends get away. Upon arrival I was quickly dealt with, the van was easy to find, not far away from reception. It was clean and well equipped - only thing missing was there were 7 of us but only 6 mugs, but that wasn't a massive issue.
The rooms were ok - plenty of storage, especially in the main double room. The 2 twin rooms were very small!! (pic attached)
When everyone had arrived we went over to the bar where there was live entertainment (if you can call it that - some people on the stage doing dances?!?!?!) but I guess if you have kids they would love it. (it was 11:30pm at the point though!) We had a few drinks in the bar and then the bar closed at 1am.
After cooking breakfast we went to the pool, I will agree with most of the comments on here about the pool - it is small for the size of the site and was quite tired looking... we didn't stay long.
we then went for a walk down into Cleethorpes which is a nice seaside town, the boating lake is within walking distance and there is a small steam train you can catch down into town (or the buses from site)
In the afternoon we played mini golf - much fun had by all - always a winner :) Its got 9 holes so took us about an hour to do.
There is also paintball, mini go karts, water zorbing, climbing for the younger ones if they want it.
We ate in the restaurant that night - all fine, reasonable price and quality. Some of the group had fish and chips from the outlet on the camp the first night though and didn't enjoy they - there is a fish and chip shop just outside the gate (turn left at the main roundabout) which had a queue of people when we went past so probably good!!!!
The beach access on site is really close so that's also a bonus - not far back (about 100M) to the main centre for toilets.
Overall i'd say it was perfect for what we wanted - a 3 night break for £199 between 7 of us - you cant go wrong!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
2.3 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
2.3 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
100 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
4.5 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Thorpe Park Caravan Park Cleethorpes, Cleethorpes DN35 0PW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorpe Park Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Thorpe Haven Holiday Park Hotel Cleethorpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing