We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls weekend”
Review of Priory Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Priory Guest House
Ranked #23 of 25 Cleethorpes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 June 2013

When we arrived we had booked 2 rooms of 4 with breakfast .. We got told on arrival she had priced wrong but it was ok but we were made to feel very uncomftable ... The upstairs room had to have another bed made up and we were waiting 4 bedding we thought it would have been done while we were out but on our return there was still no bedding and no staff about to get any so it was a tight squeeze to get 3 in a double bed so we would be warm .. The downstairs room was through the dining room and kitcken we had to unlock 3 doors in the dark to even get in it ... When we returned on sat night we found slugs on the kitchen floor ... Breakfast was a farse we got up at 8 and still no staff they arrived about 8.15am we asked what time we could eat and got told she couldn't do our group till 9.30 as she had a busy dining room so we thought fair enought as we went through the dining room to exit the building we found there was only 2 people in there .... When we finaly sat down we wasnt even asked what we would like we just got a fry up put in front of us ... Over all very disappointed and will never book again ... If there would have been another guest house we would have moved into that ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marysoboyede, Manager at Priory Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

These 8 girls are just two faced. Yes they requested for two rooms for eight people, but instead I offered them three rooms with no extra cost, all because I wanted them to be more comfortable, but they insisted that they don't mind squeezing. That is what their girls night out is all about, squeezing into one room. The room at the back, had a seating area and big shower room it was through the dinning room and they only need to open two doors, not three, as they have lied about! Talking about the slug, in the five years I have been trading, I have never come across one. They must have brought it in with their filthy shoes whilst smoking in the garden as we did not see any during breakfast. This could also be another lie as this was not seen or reported to in the morning. We asked them during their breakfast if everything was ok and they were happy and they claimed that everything was fine. The breakfast was originally arranged to be for half 9, they now woke up that morning very early and decided to now change their mind. This was not possible as there was not enough seating area for them whilst our other guests were peacefully having their breakfast also arranged during their check in time. This would not have been fair to put a large group of girls at the same time as a couple. Especially as they were very loud and did not have the decency to behave well mannered. I would not like their type to call or knock at my guest house in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

was in cleethorpes with my family for 2nites, we stayed at priory guest house ,we really enjoyed it the landlady was very pleasant &friendly breakfast was fantastic room very nice and clean .will definately visit again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed over night on the 31st of july 2012...we stayed in a family room where the double bed was two singles pushed together..Obviously we keep slipping in the middle of the beds..the bedding was all bitty and out of date...nothing like the pictures on the web site.We were asked what time we would like breakfast and told her nine oclock would be fine...we waited twenty minutes before the lady entered saying ..your leaving without breakfast...distusting comes to mind..on arriving she was not one bit happy it was as though everything was a chore ..she obviously is in the wrong business..she needs to pay attention to cleaning and polishing ...not nice ....dont think she can smile...

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilybutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marysoboyede, Manager at Priory Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

This woman did not stayed at priory guest house she. Must be confused the face and the name of the family that stayed at priory on this day does not match at all . The family that stayed in my family room even wrote a nice comment on my guest book is either she is confused or she is being vindictive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I booked an overnight stay at the Priory and was allocated a room at M&J's.

M&J's is situated nearer the sea front, we actually had a seaview.

The room was spacious with a double bed and two single beds, lovely decor and nice finishing touches with a nice en suite.

The owner was friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast was a cooked english for all (kids included) also offered was orange juice and cereal. Breakfast was served in a lovely dining/games room, which was again had lovely decor and furnishings.

I would highly recommend this guest house, I will return again.

Room Tip: Stay at M&J's if given the choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igglepiggleLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here before and we must have had the best room last time !Wed booked ensuite but on arrival our toilet was on a landing sharing with other guests.Shower cubicle in room with a screen to cover your modesty.!
Room was grubby ,cobwebs and generally poor.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special.The only good thing was the owner and the lovey girl who served us our breakfast.

Definatly wont be revisiting which is a shame because it is so close to all bars etc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

me my mum and son booked the priory and the day before we were phoned to say we were staying at m and js. this hotel is great the people are very nice and the rooms are clean and spacious,breakfast is lovley. i will recommend this hotel to everyone i know and we will be comming again. thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 87joanne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on Saturday night. When we arrived we were warmly welcomed and shown to a lovely clean room with a very big bed. The breakfast the next morning was delicious too - i would definitely return and I recommend the priory guest house.
Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bealharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.2 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
300 reviews
2.3 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#7 of 25 in Cleethorpes
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comat Guest House
Comat Guest House
#11 of 25 in Cleethorpes
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sugar Sugar
Sugar Sugar
#24 of 25 in Cleethorpes
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Guest House

Address: 2 Isaacs Hill, Cleethorpes DN35 8JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cleethorpes
Price Range: £46 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Priory Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Priory Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing