We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fill your boots!”
Review of The Trawlerman

The Trawlerman
Ranked #3 of 142 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Carvery
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fill your boots!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited Cleethorpes recently and found this pub on Trip Adviser. We had the carvery meal, which is the main meal they serve. The meat was nice and tender and the veg was ok - you could pile your plate high if you wished, although some of it seemed to be frozen veg rather than fresh. Drinks were more expensive compared to other places we've eaten carvery meals at, but overall, for the cost of the meal itself, we didn't expect anything more so weren't disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshy12-13, Manager at The Trawlerman, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thankyou for sharing your thoughts on our pub we appreciate your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    226
    85
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orcheta, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good value!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch with the family today! Very busy but what you would expect when so good value. Was going to upgrade to large for £1 but was happy with the normal meal. Will certainly go again. All enjoyed it. Thanks

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshy12-13, Manager at The Trawlerman, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Another great review Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a place to feed”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Place to get fed, nuff said. Like roast dinners? This is your place. Foods simple, bar is good. Child friendly, play area indoor & out. Foods not they most exciting but hits the spot. gets busy!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tronicus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshy12-13, Manager at The Trawlerman, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Great review Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“More than your money's worth.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Whenever we come to cleethorpes which is often we always come in here for a carvery. Food is plentiful and good quality and great value for money at £6.99 on a Sunday and £3.99 every other day. The staff are lovely and polite very helpful too. I advise booking in advance because as you can imagine it is very popular.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittiecat666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshy12-13, Manager at The Trawlerman, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We take bookings all the time so no problem there,
great review thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberston
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice beer garden”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We visited the trawlerman for a few drinks on a sunny day. We were served quickly by friendly young staff at one end of the bar separate to where there was a queue of people ordering carveries.
There's a good selection of beers and some good deals on wine.
The inside is clean and has a good atmosphere.
In the front beer garden we sat in full sun from about 6.00 pm till 8.00 pm. Tables were regularly cleared of glasses and the landscaping, furniture and exterior were all very well maintained.
The clientele appeared to be mainly Yorkies on holiday in family groups which I don't mind as I'm an ex-pat anyway. It was all relaxed and good humoured.
Great couple of hours spent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshy12-13, Manager at The Trawlerman, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Our beer garden gets the sun all day long,when its shining that is.
Great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trawlerman also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Trawlerman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing