We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Visit”
Review of The Coach House

The Coach House
Ranked #20 of 167 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited for a friends birthday between Christmas and New Year. A part of 11 we were asked to pre-order our meals which we did in plenty of time. When the starters arrived several of our party had ordered baked Camembert. A different cheese starter was put down in front of us with a quick “you must have had the wrong menu” Why were we not contacted to let us know this when the orders were placed? The starter consisted of a bowl of grainy cheese sauce, crudités and bread. Main courses were poorly presented and steaks of poor quality. We had taken a Birthday cake for which no plates were brought out and swiftly not offered upon noticing that we had provided our own serviettes (incase anyone wanted cake to take home.) When the bill arrived the staff refused to split it for us and tried to charge £9 for the poor cheese starter. I have to say that on an evening when the restaurant was not busy this was a very disappointing show and somewhat spoiled the Birthday celebration. Having over the years patronised the Coach House regularly we will not be going back. You need to up your game Coach House, there are much better restaurants in the area.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JAW1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2018 via mobile

Was busy at tea time with Xmas parties
Best to book in advance
Sunday menu was traditional roasts and some pub classics
Belly pork and roast turkey dinner were very big portion size with a wide selection of vegetables
And a Yorkshire puddings
Struggled to eat it all
Reasonable priced

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2018

Myself and a friend called here for breakfast this week. We decided to treat ourselves to the large breakfast rather than the regular. WOW what a plate full it was. My friend had a coffee and I went for a fresh orange. Think we should have just gone for the regular size breakfast as there was so much on the plate. Didn't need anything else all day. Well worth the money and plenty to choose from.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank biggirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2018

Turkey Christmas lunch was a turkey roll no slices of Turkey not great the Yorkshire puddings were dire overcooked and inedible,15 of us went and 15 wouldn't return a bad start to Christmas and in my opinion an insult .....

Date of visit: December 2018
2  Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

Good was nice, service ok. We had a member of our party that was allergic to nuts, we informed this when picking desserts and it was quickly dealt with.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank DeniseV1358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coach House also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing