We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How to work French wonders in an old English pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Petit Delight

Petit Delight
Ranked #17 of 139 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We use only the finest ingredients, expertly prepared by our top chefs.Our brasserie is styled upon a bustling Parisian brasserie, where naturally flowing 'joie de vivre' will enthuse family and friends as a great meeting place. With the focus being on top quality ingredients, great taste and friendly, attentive service, Petit Delight delivers delicious, vibrant, yet effortless results, in relaxed and informal settings.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“How to work French wonders in an old English pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Petit delight is just that - a delightful french restaurant/brasserie occupying what used to be a public house near Cleethorpes sea-front. But there's nothing pub-like about it now, and you'll realise that this is no English sea-side cafe as soon as you see the various french-influenced dishes on the menu, including croque monsieur & croque madame and a variety of savoury and sweet galettes, although you can also choose more conventional fare such as steak frites or a hamburger. There are also 'specials' every day, and as the place seems consistently busy, the chef/proprietor has obviously judged correctly just what the local customers (who must be the majority of the business, despite Cleethorpes' status as a resort) like and come back for in and out of season. Another reviewer refers to the food being overpriced, but we don't think so - you get what you pay for, the quality of the food is high, and the success of the place speaks for itself. Service is pleasant and usually prompt. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voyager1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    139
    64
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic food you will go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great food and service, would recommend you ring and book your table, so as not to be disappointed .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ALPATO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Something different.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Having lived in the town all my life it was nice to have a restaurant that offers something that bit different.
I have only visited here on a lunch but the service and food was great, although friends have spend evenings here, and have said what cracking nights out they have had.
The service was a little slow the last time I visited but it was packed out.
I would definately recommend it here either for a 'girls who do lunch' or a romantic night out.
Great food!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debsy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had an antipasti platter and my sister had a stuffed croissant. both contained far too much cheese, and were overpriced for what they were.
I thought the wine choice was a little poor, but then I'm not a lover of French wines, so was a little restricted. The glass of fizz I 'had to have' instead made up for it though!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A special place- our favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

What can I say about Petit Delight? We eat here regularly...at lunch, for the early evening menu (super value) and the during the evening for special occasions. The food is fresh, authentic and delicious. The menus are not extensive but every dish deserves its place' Prices range depending on the time of day but you can get 3 excellent courses for £20...food this good at that price cannot be matched anywhere within a 30 mile radius.

The wines are superb and I cannot find enough words to describe the desserts, try the creme brûlée!!
The atmosphere of the restaurant is amazing. There is a great buzz and energy but it is never too noisy and tables are not jammed in so tightly that you are forced to overhear everyone else's conversations!

Staff are polite, knowledgable and attentive and always save me my favourite dessert!
I love it here so much I even pop in for lunch on the run...staff are only too happy to prepare a salad to take away.
This restaurant is very special to us and I can't wait to return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeanutRevell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petit Delight also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Petit Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing