We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at the Dovedale for a couple of nights and thought it was a fantastic hotel.
The room we had was a family room which was very clean and a very good size.
The Staff at the hotel were very nice and made you feel very welcome.
The breakfast in the morning was very nice, if anything it was too much,(not a bad thing)
The location the hotel was situated was great, close to everything.
I read on previous reviews regarding the parking but we found no problems at all regarding this, we were out in our car on a few occasions and found no problem each time in parking our car in their private car park at the rear of the hotel.
With our travelling down from Scotland we were very happy with the hotel after the long drive and would highly recommend this hotel. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    98
    73
    35
    41
See reviews for
76
157
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed at the Dovedale while attending a family party nearby and the location was not only very convenient, but also pleasant - about a minute's walk from the beach, with lots of restaurants and bars if you needed them. It was surprisingly quiet, except for some loud plumbing noises in the middle of the night - the staff were happy to swap us to another room for the second night, and throughout our stay we received nothing but pleasan, cheerful service. The rooms themselves were a bit small but well equipped with a nice TV. Bathroom fixtures are tatty with gold plating peeling off the taps but everything worked fine. Bed linen is at the 'bobbly' stage so not that comfortable, but was clean and fresh. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were dining with family but had drinks in the bar where the selection was very good. Breakfast also offers a great selection, served by some very cheerful ladies, who didn't seem to mind guests breaking the rather early 9am weekend deadline! The lounge and bar areas are pleasantly furnished and there's a nice terrace outside, so it is a place you can relax. All in all, a nice hotel that offers reasonable value for money and is just let down slightly by some minor points.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ironhorse_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here with our two children, aged 5 and 13. The allocated room was a family room as requested, and on the third floor overlooking the front road. The trip up to the room was a bit of a trek with luggage, as the stair way is somewhat narrow.
The room itself was spacious with good, comfortable beds and clean linen. Despite the front location, the night time was not noisy and everyone enjoyed a peaceful sleep. The bathroom had a good shower and plenty of hot water. The only downside was the bathroom towel rails being rusty and loosely attached to the wall.

In the room is free WiFi. We could only receive 5 channels on the TV despite Freeview channels being advertised as available.

Breakfast was of the full English variety and we were all satisfied by the quality and speed of service, all cheerfully served.

Overall a positive experience, and will likely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room number seven. The neighbouring room is room eight, and I believe also a family room faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark60528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We were somewhat disappointed by our break at this hotel, particularly my husband who booked it as a treat for me. On arrival the back entrance area was untidy, obviously due to some minor work which was going on. On reaching reception we were greeted by someone who appeared very ill at ease at front of office and who lacked any kind of enthusiasm. Having seen the pictures on the internet beforehand I was quite excited about seeing our room, expecting similar standards to those on the pictures. Initial impression was that for the money we had paid the room was pretty small but the decor was relatively good. On entering the bathroom however disappointment grew. There was rust covering the entire front of the radiator, for which I feel there is no excuse. On using the shower a bit kept fall off and then on trying to use the sink tap it turned fully round on itself everytime it was turned on or off. Compared to some B&Bs we have stayed in the standard of the room was not even on a par with the £50.00£60.00 a night rooms we have booked in the past. On trying to add a positive note, I would say that the lounge/bar area was nice and I was impressed by the choice of drinks and cocktails. On settling our bill we were asked if we enjoyed our stay and we were both honest about being disappointed about the standard of the room and that it did not live up to the expectations of the website. The young girl on reception didn't seem overly bothered by our concerns and just smiled inanely. Overall, I would say beware when booking any of the standard rooms - on skimming the reviews, those who have stayed and given good reviews obviously didn't stay in our room!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cleethorpes hotels

London England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

One night stay with a late check in so not able to review the restaurant. Dovedale has a pretty front seating area full of flowers with tables, chairs and parasols.The staff were courteous at reception and at breakfast which was served quickly and efficiently.

Public areas are attractively decorated, however my room was a disappointment - on the ground floor, accessed from a dingy back alley behind the hotel and next to the kitchen. I was concerned that it might be noisy but no problems here - although it was a Monday night. Inside the room it was rather dark but the bed was confortable, everything was clean and tidy and the large flat screen TV was a bonus. Paint was peeling off the walls in places and the bathroom needs a refurb.

Reading other reviews I'd be asking for a room in the hotel if I stayed again.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building - not a downstairs/outside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geebee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were unexpectedly charmed by Cleethorpes. It's a lovely old fashioned seaside resort - well tended gardens, donkeys on the beach, deckcharirs, a pier and fish and chips. It was just like resorts used to be, and we were immensely pleased with the whole place. So given our good first impressions of the town, our first impressions of the Dovedale Hotel were not so good. Clearly they can't help the demolition of a neighbouring property, nor the boarded up building on the other side, but it really does make the whole street look run down and neglected. Please don't let this put you off because inside it was lovely. We asked for a quiet room, and were placed on the first floor at the back overlooking the car park. The room was small but adequate. Large towels, a large modern TV, white bed linen, pale walls and plenty of tea, coffee and milk supplies. We had a shower room, but if there was a way to make the fan work we never managed to fathom it out. The bed was comfortable and the mattress new. It provided everything we needed for a good nights sleep.
We had a full breakfast the next morning, and we had no problems in getting the extras we asked for, We managed to squeeze our car into the small car park at the back, but parking may be a problem for late arrivals on busy nights. I thoroughly recommend this hotel and hope that we may one day be able to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tranquilnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We would highly recommend The Dovedale Hotel after my husband, sister,brother-in-law and myself were in Cleethorpes for a family christening and the hotel we had booked over the phone had been a real let down and we had to look for alternative accommadation quickly. Fortunately, we were told about The Dovedale Hotel and we went straight there and luckliy they had two rooms available for that night (Friday).
The rooms were excellent. Bright and modern. Bed and linen really clean and comfortable, bathroom clean and modern. The staff were lovely, really helpful and friendly. We got chatting to the chap at reception and asked him if they could cater for a buffet lunch for 35 people on the Saturday. He checked with the kitchen and they said that would be fine and helped us plan the food etc. Incredible at such short notice.
We ate at the famous Steeles Fish&Chip Restaurant that night, which was really pleasant. The Saturday morning, breakfast was a traditional Full English, with plenty of choice of cereals,fresh fruit & yoghurt. The waitress was really attentive with a natural friendliness that made us feel really welcome. Unfortunately for us the hotel only had one room available on the Saturday night, so my husband and I went to a hotel nearby which was fine. That afternoon friends and family arrived at The Dovedale for lunch and we were really happy with the food and the service.Even the weather was on our side and we were able to sit outside which was really attractive place to relax.After a very full day,the four of us decided to eat at the Hotel on the Saturday night. Again,The food was very good and even though there was a large private party going on in the other room the service was excellent with the bar and waiting staff doing a grand job. Thank you Dovedale Hotel in restoring our faith in Cleethorpes Hotels xxx

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oratory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#4 of 7 in Cleethorpes
268 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grimsby
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ginnie's
Ginnie's
#5 of 7 in Cleethorpes
77 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 12-18 Albert Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique hotel, in the heart of the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. Close to all amenities. Category winners of restaurant of the year 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovedale Hotel Cleethorpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing