We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Having been to the Dovedale on several occasions before, we decided to book out the private room for our wedding reception which was only a small affair, the food was outstanding as usual and everything went brilliantly nothing was too much trouble for the staff and we enjoyed the hotel for the most part of the day. We stayed the evening in a lovely superior room which if I had to be critical it was toooo hot but that was probably due to the fact we were having an indian summer at this time. All in all this hotel is a place I like to visit time and time again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2011

Searching for a 'dog friendly' hotel in Cleethorpes we booked The Dovedale for an overnight stay, wise decision! Yes, we did get an outside room which was ideal for popping in and out with the dog and also handy for easy access to the car. Yes, smokers did use the car park but did not disturb us thanks to the double glazing.
It is usual not to get the best rooms when bringing a dog but our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Everything you could possibly need had been provided even a corkscrew! and every member of staff we spoke to was friendly and helpful.
Dinner and breakfast were both excellent and we will be returning to this hotel next time we are in the area.
Two sisters and a collie!

Room Tip: We would recommend this hotel to dog owners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sylvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

rooms very clean, but we had no toileteries until the last night,
had to ask twice for a sweet menu, then it arrived late and was cold, did not complain as the whole stay was lovely, 4 poster and jacuzzi, heaven. the restaurant provided good food, service was a bit slow.

Nice staff though, friendly. Outside area is small but really cosy, espeically the covered seating area with little lights and cosy heater

Room Tip: very quiet location, on a side street, good location for pubs/restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WrexhamLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We recently stayed at the hotel and were placed in room 28. We had high hopes following the information and picture display at the reception, however after paying £85 for one night it was much a disappointment.

The room itself was a good size with a large television but the negatives soon out-weighed the positives. The hotel should please note the areas requiring upgrading:

Shower room:
~The wet floor shower does not drain adeqautely and soaks the whole room.
~The shower room (and main door) have both been affected by damp and are unsightly.
~Light bulb needs replaced.
~Would benefit from a good clean (walking bare foot left black marks on feet).

Bedroom:
~Cups and saucers were covered in dust and stained
~The kettle switch is broken and cover missing
~Double bed head-board hits off the wall so ever time you move it bangs (moving bed did not resolve this so had to put a pillow behind it).
~Single bed has a noisy waterproof cover in place.
~Room dusty and curtains stained.

Breakfast was good and staff friendly but unfortunately our over-all experience was poor. Maybe the other rooms in the hotel are better than the one we had? (The room is accessed outdoors at side of hotel which during the night appeared to be the main walkway for diners/ other guests and was noisy).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daisy-bell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Only stayed 1 night, room was small but ok, bed was small double so didnt sleep too well, shower in bathroom was dangerous as it was difficult to control the hot water. Breakfast average. Probably wouldnt stay in Cleethorpes again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We found it hard to find an available B&B in Cleethorpes over the Bank Holiday weekend, so instead we booked at The Dovedale, despite their higher room prices. Their website gives the impression of a top quality hotel, so we decided it might be worth paying a little more for a comfortable stay. I had also been informed by a local that it is considered (not necessarily by her) 'The poshest hotel in Cleethorpes'. I have to say, I strongly disagree with the latter description.

Staff were friendly-ish on arrival; not overly welcoming though. The reception area is smart/attractive, as per their photos.

Our standard room was disappointing for the price (£90 per night inc. breakfast). It was smaller than we'd hoped with nowhere to put your suitcase. The TV didn't work straight away; this was fixed, however I was awoken both mornings at 7am by a 'snowstorm' TV screen. Perhaps the previous guests had put a timer on it, so not necessarily the hotels fault and I only reported it on checking-out. One of the wall sockets made a disturbing electrical crackling noise on plugging in. We mentioned it to reception, who said they'd look into it, however we decided to avoid using it for the duration of our stay as no-one informed us it had been fixed.

The ensuite was very basic with a noisy fan on an outside wall, which made the bathroom feel cold in the morning. The mirror had rusty edges (not an intentional design feature), the shower quite poor pressure-wise and the radiator dusty along the top. There were no added-extras such as miniature shampoos etc. which I normally rely on when I am only staying for a couple of nights.

On the plus-side, the TV was a decent size and the bed was comfortable, so we slept well both nights (despite being woken up by the telly!). Cleanliness in general was also good in the room and the bathroom. All other facilities you'd expect were good such as kettle, iron/board and hairdryer.

Breakfast was also good, although I have had better for the price. I have an allergy to dairy and this was dealt with confidently by the friendly waitress, who remembered me on the 2nd morning so I didn't have to repeat myself, which was helpful.

All in all, our stay was good however the standard does not reflect the price. In my opinion, they either need to lower their price or up their game to get better reviews on here. Unfortunately, I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rach D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at the Dovedale for a couple of nights and thought it was a fantastic hotel.
The room we had was a family room which was very clean and a very good size.
The Staff at the hotel were very nice and made you feel very welcome.
The breakfast in the morning was very nice, if anything it was too much,(not a bad thing)
The location the hotel was situated was great, close to everything.
I read on previous reviews regarding the parking but we found no problems at all regarding this, we were out in our car on a few occasions and found no problem each time in parking our car in their private car park at the rear of the hotel.
With our travelling down from Scotland we were very happy with the hotel after the long drive and would highly recommend this hotel. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#4 of 7 in Cleethorpes
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ginnie's
Ginnie's
#5 of 7 in Cleethorpes
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
3.7 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 12-18 Albert Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Price Range: £58 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique hotel, in the heart of the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. Close to all amenities. Category winners of restaurant of the year 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovedale Hotel Cleethorpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing