We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely from the outside but rooms dated, breakfast disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely from the outside but rooms dated, breakfast disappointing”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The hotel looks lovely on first impressions - reception and bar very light and modern. My room was tired and breakfast was basic and disappointing.
also reception not manned at night and i was there when a large group of men stayed and returned at about 11.30pm then continued to make very loud noise until the early hours - they were obviously having fun!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_picky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    98
    73
    35
    41
See reviews for
76
157
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here twice and quite like it, a good family run feel to it and close to the amenities.

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jayjitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very nice room on ground floor with wetroom, however no hand rails and bathroom was very tight. restaurant and service very good indded

Room Tip: For a wheelchair user needs hand rails fiited and thats the only fault, thoroughly enjoyed the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidsgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was our second stay and we took the family with us this time as we knew they would like it as much as we do.

Room Tip: All rooms seem ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne12911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My son and fiance treated my husband and I to an early Mothers Day meal here on 15th March. Absolutely lovely, spotlessly clean and classy bar area and restaurant. Very impressive.

The outside area is also very clean, attractive and fresh...............even the smoking units were covered so this did not affect other customers.

It was very quiet, so maybe could have done with a few more people to create a better atmosphere but the service was amazing from the second we walked into the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and everything on the menu we enquired about was explained.

The food was lovely and well presented and the chaps could definatley recommend the T-Bone steaks. Quantity was very good other than the venison which was quite a meagre portion.

The starters and puddings were lovely but a little too expensive.

If I had one little complaint I would have to say i would like my food too have been much, much hotter.

Other than that it was lovely to find such a classy place for a very relaxing and enjoyable Mothers Day treat. Thanks you two!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couplelincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My partner and I came here at lunch time on valentine’s day this year. We turned up at 1300 and we were the only customers throughout the whole meal. We weren’t sure if this was usual or just because it was Valentine ’s Day at lunch time.

We chose off the set 3 course meal menus. There was plenty of choice to choose from and at an amazing price.

The food was amazing! I had the beer battered fish and it was the best tasting batter ive ever tasted. It just seemed so fresh. Even the mushy peas were nice and I usually don’t like them. My partner had the sea bass and that was lovely too!

Maybe because we were the only people in the place but there was no atmosphere that you usually get in a nice restaurant which was a shame.

We found the staff abit lacking, like not knowing

the soup of the day and little things like that, but we put that down to it being quiet.

Things I didn’t like:-
1) A Sarasons empty vinegar bottle on the table, if you’re going to have vinegar on the table at least poor in in a nice bottle rather than a shop bought one.
2) Having radio1 on quite loud ruined the atmosphere for us. Especially me because I can’t stand the radio station.

But the food talked for itself and we would come back just because of that ! but next time ill have the T-Bone !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Si-Laura11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed their for just one evening and prepared for a meeting the next day. The reception area is very clean and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. The room was comfortable and warm. I was on the top floor and it was quiet in the morning. The room was large and very clean, i had a good nights sleep anbd enjoyed the large wall mounted TV.

The restaurant has good food but my colleagues steak was over cooked. The staff were very apologetic and changed it immediately so very good and friendly service.

Reasonable value for money and a good stay!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam1111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#4 of 7 in Cleethorpes
271 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ginnie's
Ginnie's
#5 of 7 in Cleethorpes
77 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 12-18 Albert Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique hotel, in the heart of the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. Close to all amenities. Category winners of restaurant of the year 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovedale Hotel Cleethorpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing