We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

this hotel is very nice compared to the outdated B & B's in the area. my room had a 4 posted bed with a jacuuzi in the bathroom.
i had excellent service the bar serves cocktails which is always a plus :) in the morning you get a lovely breakfast included in room price.
it is very close to the seafront with good access to nearby chinese restaurant Asian Kitchen.
Room prices were very reasonable as Kingsway hotel over charges for old outdated rooms.

Definitely recommend im sure the couple below are were just unlucky as ive stayed here many times and had no such problem. i will definitely be back here

Room Tip: Balcony room and Jacuzzi rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodLoverFoodEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2012

this was our wedding and my birthday. We stayed the night before the wedding and the wedding night. the room was nice but not luxurious. The jacuzzi was a nice touch.We returned at about 10 pm after the wedding to find our room hadn't been serviced. That was sooo upsetting for my wife. We went downstairs to find someone to complain to, after 10 mins we caught the attention of one of the workers, who didn't think it was such a problem. no apology no anything. we waited downstairs for a bout 30 mins until the room was prepared. I thought they might had presented us with a bottle of wine or something as a token gesture. NOT one word of apology.Disgraceful AND I WOULD URGE ANYONE NOT TO STAY THERE.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MARTY777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I spent a night at this hotel.

The room was extremely comfortable and I think we may have been given a free upgrade but this wasn't mentioned at check in. I don't think I can fault the room at all and, for the price, it was one best value hotel stays I've had.

The hotel itself was comfortable and had a well-stocked bar. I've rarely found British hotels stock Johnnie Walker Blue Label but this one does. The price is a rip off but less of a rip off than I've seen elsewhere.

Breakfast was excellent and included in the price.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

A weekend trip to Cleethorpes. Good hotel, good food , and within walking distance to all the bars. Very enjoyable for myself and my wife. Will return soon with friends. Would recommend for a night stay in Cleethorpes.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lincolnshiretwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

we stayed in the bridal suite which was well worth the money 109 pound the room was lovely decorated with th en suite having a jaquissi was the highlight and the balcony as we both smoke the bed was really comfy with lots of fluffy pillows and we had a widescreen tv on the wall the food was excellent my husband organised us to have our meal outside and it was heavily raining outside the beach hut was stunning the table was set lovely with fairy lights all around us i would put the beach hut on the site as i didnt no it was was there i would defently stay there again i have only one downside to staying there not all the staff made u feel welcome when we had the most expensive room some were treating other people staying there who were staying in single rooms different they couldny do more for them took us ten minutes to find a barman

Room Tip: room 24 for a special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccaburnswawest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We arrived early, and got checked in straight away. Local Cleethorpes staff, all very pleasant. We had two partly disabled people with us, and asked for a ground floor room for them. Reception said, that only room 28 was available, so having read the reports about this room on this site, we opted to climb the stairs! (Rooms 28 and 29 are basically on a outside corridor to the car park, and could be mistaken for staff overnight accomodation)
This hotel is a Victorian/Edwardian built property, once upon a time it would of been four or five large family homes, nowadays converted into a hotel. The stairways are very narrow, and the stairs are steep, but they were built this way and not being an expert, i doubt the hotel can do much about this. There is no lift, again i doubt if one could ever be installed.
Porterage is not offered, but is available on request.
Our Executive room was lovely, on the small side, but very nice balcony overlooking the front of the hotel, nice jacuzzi, good heating, very clean, lovely bed, big TV, free wi fi, ample coffee/tea in room, at £94 per night not bad including a very good breakfast.
The Standard rooms though, at £85 per night including the same breakfast, were alot smaller and by a big margin inferior and without any kind of view.
Bar was very good, nice choices, £3.80 for a pint of Kronenbourg, some may say dear, but i have paid more in a London pub!
Restaurant, evening meals. Good choice, always a wait, but it tends to get busy! Very good quality food, good service , but slow.
Generally an ok hotel. Cleethorpes is not over commercialised, its a genuine very nice English seaside town, so no big fast food places, or any Premier Inns or Travelodges.
In my opinion the room rates would be cheaper, if there were competition. Lovely town, lovely beach, possibly a 1970s era town that has not moved on, but for the better!
Probably a hotel that would of got 4 stars thirty years ago.
Overall, a very nice weekend away, and yes we would stay at the Dovedale Hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrandonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

when we arrived the lobby and dinning room were nice and like the photos on the website, when we got our room key we had to go frew this old black door that led to our room.the corridore absolutly stunk of 'oldness' mussy and just not nice! when i opened our room door it was COMPLETELY different to what the photos showed on the website,i was very disappointed and it was deffinatly was not worth £85 for a standard room!! reason of booking this hotel was how nice it looked on the website and it certainly didnt look like it!! the only good thing about it was that the bed was really comfy! the shower was poor amd bathroom was old fassiond! will not be going again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annominus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cleethorpes Hotel
0.5 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#4 of 7 in Cleethorpes
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ginnie's
Ginnie's
#5 of 7 in Cleethorpes
79 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
201 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 12-18 Albert Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Price Range: £55 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique hotel, in the heart of the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. Close to all amenities. Category winners of restaurant of the year 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovedale Hotel Cleethorpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing