We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but overpriced ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for one night on the Friday and having paid 149 pound was expecting a lot the hotel reception/bar was very nice as where the rooms we stayed in an executive room which has a spa bath and four poster bed the two downfalls for me was firstly the price I think it was overpriced maybe more around the 100 pound mark would be more suitable and secondly half of the staff we interacted with were miserable to say the least on arrival the girl that checked us in wasn't very helpful or welcoming I mean a smile costs nothing but all in all it was a pleasant stay but I don't think I personally would stay here again

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

I visited dovedale restaurant with a group of work colleagues. My food was very nice and the cocktails were also very nice. Waiting service was very good and the staff were knowledgeable of food allergies as I had asked if my preferred dish was gluten free and they told me straight away that it was which is always nice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Tasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Last night we went for a meal with all of our staff, only one word to describe the experience, fantastic, we where given the side room for our meal which was lovely, we we're treat to outstanding service by all waiting staff, and bar staff and the meal was beautiful, thanks to everyone at the dovedale who made are evening so special

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennygilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I went for a business trip in july. It is a quiet room but the room is smell. It was hot in july. Took the Fan in the room out and found the fan is dirty. Took a shower, the water pressure is very low and Shower room outlet is block. High price and low in standard. Will try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alvin1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We’d recently had an excellent short break at the Dovedale, so when we needed to organize a family celebration the Dovedale seemed the perfect choice. Sadly the hotel has gone downhill and we were wrong… I booked a double room (for us) and a twin room (for two spritely pensioners) nearly a month in advance by phone directly with the hotel. When we arrived our room was slightly shabby, but clean, but the room for our relatives was so poor that they would rather go home than stay in it. With hindsight that is what we should have done. Instead I asked for a replacement room – which the hotel could/would not do – and although the receptionist volunteered her opinion that the room was dark and dingy, she didn’t care. Instead we swapped into the “twin room” while our same sex relatives would rather share a bed than stay in the “dungeon”.
The room smelt, possibly due to the damp towels from the previous residents hanging on the bathroom door. The bathroom tiled floor was grubby. The room was also so dark you could not read even with lights on (the scuffed maroon walls with grey paint didn’t help). The room was also outside the hotel in a corridor to the car park, so having curtains open was difficult. The doormat was fixed to the floor by duct tape. Basically awful….
Breakfast on the 2nd day was barely better. At 8:45am most of the cereals and fruit juice was gone. We waited over ten minutes before we asked the young girl to take our order (there was only one other table occupied). Then another ten minutes before we asked if we could have the tea/coffee we ordered 10 minutes ago.
To top the trip off, although I was told that the room charges were lower than shown on the hotel’s web site I was charged full price. The hotel ruined our trip and we’ll never go back again…. So I'd recommend you avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top of the hotel - the top floor double room we had was nice. The rooms I'...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here as two couples. Only for one night so not in the hotel much but the hotel was lovely. Nice size rooms and room and bathroom all nice and clean and comfy. Personally, have got to say we found all the staff - from the lady on reception to the bar man and from the cleaner to the ladies serving in reception to all be really pleasant and helpful - plus another bonus was the location really conveniently situated. Thanks for a great weekend - if staying in Cleethorpes again will definitely book here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

For the price, expectations may be high, and sadly, are not met. This is a very pleasant Bed and Breakfast, with satisfactory rooms, but nothing special, and certainly no justification for the price. The room was ok, but nowhere near as good quality as even a Travelodge, which would cost at least half the price. Breakfast was functional, with orders taken, rather than a buffet, which means you may be disappointed if you (like me) have a good appetite. The reception and bar staff are however very friendly and helpful, but the overall impression is of a B&B charging way over what should be expected, and that in itself leaves a bit of a sour taste. A significant price drop would make this a much more realistic proposition, and unfortunately, at the current prices, despite having family in the area, I would choose to stay elswhere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge-Valentino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#4 of 7 in Cleethorpes
274 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
0.5 mi away
Ginnie's
Ginnie's
#5 of 7 in Cleethorpes
77 reviews
2.6 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 12-18 Albert Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Price Range: £74 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique hotel, in the heart of the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. Close to all amenities. Category winners of restaurant of the year 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovedale Hotel Cleethorpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing