We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
uk
1 review
“Pet friendly”
Reviewed 26 January 2009

A friendly hotel that we picked because they let our dog stay with us. We stopped just one night in a family room while visiting relatives .The room was comfortable, if not a little expensive for out of season bookings. The breakfast was nice enough, I had the veggie cooked breakfast, basically omitt sausage and bacon and add an extra egg. We checked out and booked a table for ourselves and some guests for Sunday lunch, I was disappointed to find they had no baby changing area and was offered the floor in the disabled loo and a towel ! The lunch however was lovely and the puddings to die for!! We will probably stay there again, overall it was a friendly, comfortable hotel with good food.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — No baby changing area
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    95
    71
    35
    41
See reviews for
74
153
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2009

After deciding to go home this year to celebrate christmas with the family, I realised I needed a base (escape) from the old folks and where better than the hip and modern dovedale hotel.

From the moment I arrived I felt at home. The staff are friendly, funny and very welcoming. The restaurant was light, warm and had an exceptional menu at very reasonable prices.

The rooms are en-suite with jacuzzis, and flat screen tvs with freeview, giving you more reasons not to leave.

I found the hotel to be ideally placed in close proximity to the train station, the sea front, several local bars and pubs, and the local shops.

Would I go back? I've already booked my next trip....

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sidekickmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2008

The downstairs lobby is very impressive but I'm afraid thats where it stops!

First of all, don't book your room online as it will result in disaster!

My partner and I booked to stay at the Dovedale Hotel in Cleethorpes on the 29th October almost two months before we were due to stay. When we arrived at the hotel we were not so delighted to find that our booking had not been concluded correctly, and they had infact given the room we booked away to somebody else. They were apolagetic and instead offered us a standard room when we infact booked the executive room. When we had a look at this room we found the door numbers to be sheets of paper with the numbers written on and merely stuck to the doors with tape and inside to have bunk beds! this in my opinion is not very appropriate for a young couple.

When we complained about the situation after we looked at the standard room the staff seemed to be quite rude and at times arrogant. They said sorry bt there was nothing they could do so instead we had to go back to london the same day we arrived.

Alot of money was wasted that day and it was a frustrating experience which my partner nor I wish to go through again!

  • Disliked — Incompetant attitude
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 954142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cleethorpes hotels

leicester
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Found a gem in cleethorpes.Stayed in and around cleethorpes often first visit to this hotel.Such a warm welcome from arriving was going out but dined in their lovely restaurant and didn't want to move after.I thought the hotel was great and the staff fantastic.

  • Liked — surrouings and helpful staff
  • Disliked — weather
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterDan517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We've stayed in Cleethorpes 3 "Top" hotels now, The Kingsway, Clee Park and now Dovedale. None of them deserve a single star.

We booked the "Executive" room with balcony and jacuzzi. Arrived at 6pm, went out for dinner at 8pm. What stood out, no hot water at all, grotty towels, tacky bathroom products, a hole on a pillow case. You get the feel!

Weekend breakfast service stops at 9am!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Knew of the Dovedale Hotel, as a frequent visitor to my home town of Cleethorpes. Visited w/e 26/27 Sept for a family wedding.
Initial impression - strange - first visible view when entering was an open door showing the "laundry room" with dirtly linen on the floor and all machines in full action. There were a few people lounging in the very nice reception area [but I think they were actually staff] - Reception helpful gave us our key but omitted to say how to find the room ....

Walked through the restaurant to the door and up the stairs to our room - carpet on the narrow stairs not fixed and could have caused an accident - There was also a large piece of carpet just wedged against the wall - but have been newly fitted.

Room very nice - clean, tidy, light and airy - although the 4 poster bed did overpower the room a bit - large bay window with 2 seats.
Bathroom, well appointed and nicely tiled. brass taps looked a bit dingy though and the jacuzzi bath had fluff/hair in it - but lets not get to nit picky !!!

The hot tap on the sink did not work at all - no water coming out.
but the shower and jacuzzi were a nice treat. Towels seemed a bit old and on the worn side - for the price paid it would have been nice to have seem decent sized nice fluffy towels.

Bed linen, white, clean and nice - pillows again seemed poor quality and no others were avaialble. Having said that we did have a very comfortable nights sleep without any disturbance.

Breakfast - nicely cooked and presented - restaurant area nice clean and bright.

Its nice having the option for a jacuzzi but a bit different when the neighbouring room is using their's at 7 in the morning - it was like having a lie in with a road drill. Thankfully it only lasted about 10-15 mins.

Overall a very nice hotel to stay in - excellent location. It just needs to keep on top of things and make sure it has lots of TLC. otherwise reports might be slightly different.

I would deffo recommend to friends and family.

  • Liked — Overall decor
  • Disliked — Poor quaity towels and pillows. Room to hot
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Purplemeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, West Yorks
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Wanting a single night in a family room in Cleethorpes, we were pleased to find the Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant. It is close to the railway station and sea-front and looked pleasant enough from the website and reviews on here.

We had some problems doing an online booking through the website so I booked by phone. The price was about £10 more than the online price said but the website had been a little unclear about whether everything was included. The price was relatively expensive, on a par with some budget chain hotels in London. I was therefore expecting much more than a B&B.

The hotel is easy to find, it is even sign-posted off the main road. There are a number of other hotels/B&Bs on the same street but the Dovedale is the most impressive looking of them all. There is a nice terrace to the front of the hotel which seemed unfortunately popular with the smokers. There is a ramp to the entrance.

Inside, the decor is modern and looks in good condition. Slightly off-putting, the ornaments and decorations all have very visible price tags hanging on them. A more subtle approach might have looked a little more classy.

There is a bar area and a small well-signed reception. Although we arrived well before check-in we were able to get our key and access the room. Our family room was right at the top of the building and there is no lift. This wasn't an issue for us but may have been for others.

The room had a double and two single beds. The furniture and decor looked in good condition, although there was an obvious damp area under the window frame. The window also appeared to be stuck/damaged and we were unable to open it. The hotel was overly warm and we couldn't find a means to reduce the temperature in the room. We eventually slept with the bathroom door open and the bathroom window open to cool the room. We didn't think these things were important enough to refer to the hotel.

The bathroom was quite small, there was no bath but a shower cubicle. The decor was OK but looking in need of a little TLC in places, for example there was no toilet roll holder (though obvious holes in the tiles for the fittings). The bathroom was clean and fresh smelling.

There were plenty of towels provided, plus individual soaps, sachets of shampoo, shower gel, etc. The bed linen was clean and fresh and the double-bed duvet cover had pretty embroidery rather than the usual plain 'corporate' approach.

The room had plenty of facilities (wall-mounted plasma TV, tea/coffee facilities including well-known branded provisions, iron and ironing board, high quality hairdryer). There was free wi-fi in the room (ask for the numerical key at Reception) but performance was somewhat flaky.

The room faced the street and there was some noise at closing time. It was relatively quiet other than that, although a crying baby in the next room did wake us up at about 0500.

We were pleased with the hotel overall. However, we were surprised and disappointed by the restaurant, particularly as it had apparently won local awards. We had decided to eat dinner at the hotel for convenience. Having not made a booking, we asked whether they could fit us in. We were advised that Saturday night tends to be busy but that we should be OK if we went straight in (around 1900). However, the entire service seemed poorly organised and even those with reservations were left waiting an undue amount of time to eat.

Curiously, the approach was to place diners in the bar, give them menus, take their order and leave them there some considerable time before taking them into the dining room. This had the effect of filling up the somewhat small bar area quickly whilst the dining room was largely empty. We waited almost an hour for our food to arrive, and a party with a prior reservation had a similar or slightly longer wait. The hotel was lucky that a couple of groups didn't leave - one group had its order taken twice, the other didn't have its order taken at all. People looked annoyed and fed up, which isn't the experience I guess the restaurant is looking to provide.

Once in the dining room, we were placed at the far end of the room, next to the kitchen doors despite there being many vacant tables elsewhere. Perhaps we had inadvertently offended one of the staff. It did provide us with a view of the kitchen, the performance of the chefs and snatched bits of conversations that were probably best not shared with paying patrons.
Having given our order over 30 minutes before, one of our party was asked how he would like his steak cooked. We were advised that his choice - well done - would take some time, so he changed it to medium!

When our food arrived, it looked well presented (the menu looks good and there was a reasonable range of dishes, including several vegetarian options). However, it wasn't quite as ordered, mixing up salad and vegetable sides, but that was relatively unimportant. The quality was variable. The vegetables were over-cooked, the sea bass full of bones, the vegetable open lasagne watery and lacking in flavour. However, the pepper sauce for the fish was excellent and the herby potatoes went down well. The blue cheese stuffed mushrooms (actually a large flat mushroom with crumbled cheese on top) was nice enough but not as expected.

Once we had finished eating we had a 15 minute wait for someone to clear our plates and to offer us dessert, etc. We had planned to have dessert but given the time taken and the general quality we decided to not bother. When someone did clear our plates, they only cleared half. When the other half was eventually cleared we were asked whether anyone "had asked whether you want anything else". She didn't look particularly surprised when we said we didn't.

We paid the bill but exceptionally left no tip as the service was amongst the poorest I've ever experienced anywhere. There were plenty of staff waiting on, but only one who appeared competent or motivated. We regularly saw members of staff 'shadowing' each other to carry out tasks requiring just one person. Perhaps this was training for someone, but surely Saturday night isn't the time for elementary training?

Having had the experience of dinner the evening before, it was with some trepidation that we went down for breakfast the following morning. (Given the slowness of service, we actually deliberately got up 30 minutes early.). Breakfast was included in the room rate and I was looking forward to the much-vaunted Vegetarian breakfast.

Service was efficient and pleasant, although there appeared to only be one person waiting on. Cereal and juice is self-service but breakfast is from the menu delivered to table. Disappointingly, the Vegetarian breakfast was simply the normal Full English minus the meat. This isn't any worse than many (most) other hotels but I'd hoped for more given the prominence of it in their advertising. The hotel might want to consider whether the cost of a couple of Quorn sausages is really that big a deal and it really would set them apart then.

Breakfast quality was good, the food was well cooked and tasty. Portions were quite mean perhaps, with an undue share of the plate for beans. However, it was one of the better hotel breakfasts I've experienced, possibly as it was cooked to order rather than en masse and drying out under lights.

Overall, I think the hotel is expensive for what it is and where it is. I would however recommend it to others wanting to stay in Cleethorpes. I wouldn't recommend the restaurant for other than breakfast though. I would also advise any potential guests with mobility needs to check accessibility before making any bookings.

  • Liked — Location - nice and central, easy to find
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Haysie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
#4 of 7 in Cleethorpes
263 reviews
11.4 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
2.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ginnie's
Ginnie's
#5 of 7 in Cleethorpes
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant

Property: The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 12-18 Albert Road, Cleethorpes DN35 8LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique hotel, in the heart of the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. Close to all amenities. Category winners of restaurant of the year 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dovedale Hotel Cleethorpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing