We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel on seafront”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Certificate of Excellence
Nr Swindon, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel on seafront”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

A much more individual experience than the norm, apparently this hotel has been family owned and run for a long time. The rooms are comfortable and a good size (I have now stayed in a couple of the double rooms and a single) the decor in the single had been refreshed a bit more recently than the doubles - and it had a better desk for working. Room decor is a bit 60's but the rooms are clean and warm with comfortable beds and good showers.
Have tried the restaurant for dinner once and it was good - but top end of the price range - and only one veggie choice. Breakfast is huge and good - no options like veggie sausages - but that doesn't matter so much with the size of the portions.
It's also within walking distance of most of the other restaurants in Cleethorpes - so it's easy to get a bit of variety if you are there for a few nights
Paying a corporate rate - so about the same as Premier Inn - and a completely different, and in my opinion, better experience. Helpful staff

Room Tip: If you can get a sea view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purton_Stoke_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    87
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
59
93
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Just before Christmas my family went for our Christmas annual treat to the Kingsway for lunch. It was very busy and when we got there at 12pm, even though we were not booked in until 12.30pm, there was only seating in the bar. The menu's were brought to us quickly and it was not long before we were escorted to our table.
Our starters were brought out quickly and they were two melon starters, a prawn cocktail and a pate with toast. Everybody was satisfied with the starter and then onto the main course of Turkey. I feel it would be better to leave the tureens on the table but instead you are served the vegetables, so no changing your mind!!
The desserts were lovely. I had a white chocolate cheescake which was divine and I definately would recommend.
Luckily there was now room in the lounge for coffee. The bill for four people, with three courses and coffees, came to over £100.
The Kingsway has an old fashioned feel with old fashioned values.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettblushes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I stayed here for the weekend to work and its the most relaxed 2 days I've had in a long time! It didn't feel like I was working.... I loved the decor, nooks and crannies, comfortable seating areas (non of that hard ultra modern ' trendy' furnishings!). it's quaint, warm and friendly and the staff are lovely. If you're looking for ultra modern soulless hotels then go somewhere else, If you want some peace and quiet away from city life and you're in this neck of the woods I'd advise you to come.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lainy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I have rarely experienced such a decline in standards. There was once a time when this hotel could boast one of the finest restaurants in the area. However, we paid a visit at lunch time to be most disappointed. Service at the bar was non-existant, even though people were arriving for a pre-lunch drink. The table d'hote menu was limited but acceptable. The pasta starter selected would have been fairly tasteless if it had not been for the salt added. Main course options did not include anything that could be described as 'healthy eating'. The chicken dish selected was over-cooked and the vegetables were anything but healthy. Roast potatoes were greasy, boiled new potatoes had been saturated in butter/fat and the courgettes mixed with mushrooms appear to have been pan-fried and greasy. Dessert options were a lot better but the apple flan was disappointing. No cappuchino is available. With a drink and coffee, the bill came to approximately £30 per head. Well over-priced for this quality of food.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Braving the deep snow and the horrendous driving conditions i arrived on a cold and snowy Monday night to this sea front hotel a pleasant smile from the receptionist and I booked into my room, a very clean, warm and well decorated single.
I decided to take dinner at the hotel, the prices are at the top end but well worth it one of the nicest meals i have had for a long time and the service was pleasant.
Day 2 breakfast again first class and served with a smile
I would not hesitate to recommend this warm and friendly hotel i am looking forward to the rest of my stay and i will return again, Well done!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funnyian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleethorpes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

31 Dec 12 ; when with a party of 8 for new years meal service was rushed food at 55 pounds a head was very much a let down soggy veg like baby sick , it was such a let down so many staff surrounding your table didn't have chance to enjoy the night so much a let down and waste of good money was home by 11 pm on new years eve !!! never again this place needs to move with the times and get a new chef

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gasmancleethorpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Return visit for an overnight stay whilst visiting friends in the area. Charming traditional family owned hotel overlooking the Humber Estuary and Spurn Point on the Yorkshire coast. On this occasion had room 259 a superior sea view room on the second floor. Nicely decorated, and furnished to a good standard in keeping with the character of the hotel. Well fitted en suite with all the usual facilities including seperate bath and shower.

Breakfast is served in the restaurant with panoramic views over the River Humber to the Yorkshire coast beyond. Breakfast as usual was excellent with a well stocked buffet table and and hot dishes freshly cooked and served to order.

Very good on site parking facilities, both covered (£1.50 per night) and in the open.

A very pleasant stay in this charming hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth the upcharge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.5 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ginnie's
Ginnie's
#5 of 7 in Cleethorpes
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
2.8 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
128 reviews
2.9 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes

Property: Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Address: Kingsway, Cleethorpes DN35 0AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleethorpes Kingsway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing