We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Old but elegant”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband grew up in Cleethorpes and said that he and his brother would walk past the Kingsway and wonder if they would ever stay there. His wish came true as we have now stayed in the Kingsway twice and this time had a room with a view of the Humber estuary which we enjoyed. Although the entrance is a little dated, the rooms are modern , clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are modern, spacious and very clean with great big fluffy towels. The breakfasts are very English and plentiful. The staff are great and when we had to leave early with no time for breakfast, they made us sandwiches to take on the train which we enjoyed very much. We will certainly stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suki07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    87
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
59
93
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. A tad dated in the reception area but the room was modern, comfortable and pristine! We had to leave early so no time for breakfast but the staff made sure cereals, tea and coffee were there. Nothing seemed too much trouble!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Cleethorpes doesn't seem awash with quality hotels and so the Kingsway appears to be the default choice. That is by no means a bad thing, although on arrival the initial impression is that this is a dated establishment. However, if you can see past the chintz carpet and panelling in the lobby then the Kingsway is a pleasant surprise. On both of the occasions I have stayed here I have had a recently decorated room with comfortable furnishings, generously lined curtains and a modern bathroom. The dining room has interesting views across the mouth of the Humber towards Spurn Head which on a sunny June morning reclines like an island in the Aegean.

For me, however, the Kingsway's staff are the icing on the cake. The two ladies on duty at breakfast were a lovely introduction to another day of drudgery - they were effortlessly cheery and keen to assist. This was reinforced at checking-out when the lady on reception seemed to take a genuine interest in my (positive) comments. To me, there is no need whatsoever to stay in a formulaic, anonymous chain hotel when you can enjoy such service!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flipper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent a Saturday night at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a lovely sea view, the food was delicious and not that expensive (best to book a table as restaurant is very popular) and the staff could not do enough for us. We will certainly go back again and again and again............

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view as there is no problem with traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAN686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I would like to thank the Managers and staff of this wonderful hotel for a very good stay. Five of us came down from the English borders for a night away. The room was very clean and in good condition. The food excellent, very good quality ingredients. But my highest praise is for the staff, I could not fault one of them, I can only think it must be a very good place to work. I can honestly say one of the best hotels I have ever been in.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miketob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
1,818 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 742 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location. Some say a little 'dated' - probably is, bit it has yesteryear standard of quality and customer service attention that leaves others in the shade! a great cusp et experience and well worth visiting.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulsmithcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We visited the kingsway for a meal on valentines night.the food and service were outstanding,the food was of the highest quality,packed full of flavour all our courses were delicious.the silver service made our evening and I definitely felt spoilt.the kingsway has a traditional charm and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.5 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
288 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ginnie's
Ginnie's
#5 of 7 in Cleethorpes
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
2.8 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grimsby
125 reviews
2.9 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes

Property: Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes
Address: Kingsway, Cleethorpes DN35 0AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cleethorpes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kingsway Hotel Cleethorpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleethorpes Kingsway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing