We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definetly not as good as it once was.”

Ranked #37 of 141 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Definetly not as good as it once was.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

At least once every year i visit Cleethorpes with my family and we always visit this fish and chip shop, i was really looking forward to going this year yet when we i got my fish and chips i have to say i was very disappointed, the fish wasn't how i remembered it, it was alot smaller and in a rectangle shape, the chips were also not like normal fish and chip shops are they were big chunky rectangles definetly not what you think of when you think of chip shop chips. To add to my disoppointment, as i walked further down the road i saw some people with fish and chips that looked so much better than what i had eaten and it was only £4.00, when ours had cost £5.20!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelli010987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We had lunch at the Cleethorpes Mermaid as part of a family day trip to the seaside. The building is a nice example of Victorian architecture, next to the railway station. The food was great, the chips were nice and thick and the fish was excellent, chunky cod with a light, crispy batter and at £5.20 for an adult portion, good value. There aren't too many seats inside but we didn't have to wait too long for a table to become available. I would definitely recommend this chip shop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_Tomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Fantasticly battered and cooked cod, nicely cooked chips and at a not over the top price, highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank becd1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“great place”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

i went to your.cafe with agroup of adults with learning disabilities what pleasent staff great food value for money recommend it to anyone everyone commented how good it was and how they enjoyed it .

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

i went with a group of adults with learning disabilities. the staff were fantastic didn't talk down to my clients or talk to me. lunch time deal was perfect for them and fish was cooked fresh for us. recommended it to another colleague but was always full and couldn't get it

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cleethorpes Mermaid Fish and Chips also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Cleethorpes Mermaid Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing