We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay for food before finished eating”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Harveys

Harveys
Ranked #88 of 139 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Price range: US$4 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pay for food before finished eating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Called in on the off chance of getting something to eat, went in at 530 was told most of the tables where reserved and if we sat on some of them we would have to move within a set time. Decided to sit at a low table that wasn't reserved, purchased 4 drinks and had them put on a tab by this time it was nearly 6pm so the second round was cocktail time good for us as not to many people in the bar, asked who was cooking in the kitchen as we happen to no a couple of the chefs. Was told it was a 5* chef on tonight who was new and commented hope he's as good as the chef they origanaly opened up with, ordered a starter nachos with sour cream and chilli, chilli only Luke warm but put up with that, second course platter which was really huge and tasty, meat pizza again big and tasty, steak sandwich medium rare was more medium than rare with quite a lot of fat on it but plenty of it. And another main which was also ok. Came to ask if all was ok mentioned the steak and said they would feed the comment back, couldn't ask for more or that's what we thought, they took away the plates apart from the platter of which was still been eaten, partners got up to order more drinks and while they where at the bar the waitress came to ask if we want to pay the bill, we said no as we where still eating and where ordering more drinks she said cos we had ordered and eaten we couldn't have any more drinks on the tab and had to pay. She went of to get the supervisor who said we could have those drinks that they where ordering but would have to pay the bill, with that she picked up the unfinished platter and walked away, they also told our partners at the bar that there was no more cocktails been served after 8 pm where it states clearly outside they are served till 9. We payed the bill £80 finished our drinks and left. Never felt so unwelcome doubt if we will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat235062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    18
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cannot believe the reserved table .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Been quite a few times and have enjoyed the food ,called in yesterday to have some thing to eat ,most tables at the top empty but reserved the waitress said we could sit there but had to move 15 mins before the reserved for people were due.How do you know how long it is going to take to get served ,eat it and then have to move if you have'nt finished.We decided not to bother.I cannot understand all this reserving in a pub, it is not a proper restaurant Coachhouse is the same.If you are eating or drinking the table should be yours for has long has you want.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshireangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“take your life in your hands”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

went to harveys with some friends on sat afternoon first visit pleasant staff and drink prices reasonable but my god a disaster waiting to happen there is a raised step with no warning and I went flying damaging my arm elbow and hip an older person could have easily broken limbs the staff were attentive but said they have spoken to the management about this step which is high and a few patrons keep stumbling or tripping over but the bosses say it meets regulations .I have raised the issues with the relevant authorites and hope other customers have the same expierence as me

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank taffythomas330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LISA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Poorly organised booking system, rude staff, childish staff!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I really wanted to eat her people for my birthday, take advantage of the 6-8 half price cocktails, was told I could book a table 5-7 but then had to leave.
Decided to just come in and have cocktails.

Sat at table ( had been told too busy, that's why could only have table 5-7)
Bar abs restaurant empty!
Later we were told if we ordered food we were welcome to the table until 10pm ( thought you were full) was told that 2 party's if 8 had cancelled.

Said we could keep the table until someone wanted it to order food ( we were at a priority table) what a joke!
We spent more on cocktails than most on food, this system makes no sense.
Yet the table next to us we're told not that busy your more than welcome to keep the table until 10pm!!!!

We had the table from 6-740pm so much for being fully booked!
We were offered drinks by table service, we were served one round of drinks, when the arrived the waitress said sorry it's getting a bit busy , can't do table service, we didn't ask for it it was offered, again makes no sense!!

As it was my birthday we took a few photos which the staff thought was hilarious to photo bomb us!!
Yet no time for table service!!! But time to photo bomb!!! Very appalling service indeed.

Stood at a table, rude glass collector walked up, interrupted these glasses dine with, I said ill just check, she said we've run out of cocktail glasses.
I said that's a bit rubbish, just being jovial to which she nastily replied " we'll not really, must be 300 glasses out on the floor, not all being used" then walked off!!
Seriously sort your start out their attitudes are appalling, they are lazy.
The cocktail glasses are half pint glasses not even cocktail glasses as advertised in the menu.

All in all very disappointed, and disgusted with the staff, the crazy booking system, and the cocktails in non costa glasses.
If you sorted these few things out, you will have nailed it, bug please start with the staff!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LISAB086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I visited Harvey's on a Thursday evening with a group of ten friends. The bar was busy and there was a great atmosphere in the place from the minute we entered. The staff were friendly and accommodating and we were served immediately. As soon as we were ready to order food, the waitress was there ready to take our order. She offered great service and was very accommodating when it came to dietary requirements and preferences! Our food took just enough time to be prepared and when it arrived, it was worth the wait! The portion sizes were huge, though this did not effect the quality! Every person around the table had ordered different things and each agreed the food was absolutely delilicious! Having time to breathe and a few relaxing drinks, we ordered pudding, which again was absolutely to die for! Not only does Harvey's offer great service and food, it offers such great value with the meals being very cheap! I have been very impressed with my experience at Harvey's and would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luannawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harveys also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Harveys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing