We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The facilities were great, but the publicity really wants sorting out.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cleethorpes Leisure Centre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The facilities were great, but the publicity really wants sorting out.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Finding out whether the swimming pool is open is a nightmare. No one answers the phone (don't think they have heard of an answerphone with a message on it), the web site is still dated 2013 - a year ago, and although we had a swim, another of their website pages proclaimed that the pool was closed for another month. Even the council switchboard couldn't help. So we went on chance. However the pool, facilities and staff were excellent. Although very quiet for the middle of the summer hols. Probably because it was supposed to be closed or open or something. Very Very safety conscious and very well controlled, although a shame the wave machine was broken. Good Car parking, although expensive. Overall the facilities were great, but the publicity really wants sorting out, must be loosing them big money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MalsHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    5
    7
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I visited the pool with my partner, 6 month old son and 2 friends with their 11 month old. We overall had a horrendous experience. The family changing rooms were locked and out of use but the staff could not give us a reason as to why. The separate changing rooms were dirty and looked outdated. The locker room smelt strongly of urine and faeces. The pool was dirty, smelly and made my eyes sting (too much chlorine?) I was very worried about my child swallowing any of the dirty water. I would never visit again and would discourage anyone from using this pool

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“awful”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

dirty and unclean , plates are left on tables , bins are overflowing , the work place look dirty, staff seem moody and unapproachable!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Not quite there yet”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Cleethorpes Leisure Centre has recently had a multi-million pound refurbishment and looks great from the outside, well done, however inside is a different story. The changing village has been brought up to date with cubicles for everyone and some larger ones for families, which unfortunately needed cleaning. When this has been pointed out on previous visits we have be directed to a mop and bucket and told to “get on with it”!
The water temperature is quite low when compared with other local pools and on our visit the wave machine was not in operation, which is very limited during School Term Time (apparently we should have checked on-line to see what session was in operation). There is no cafe, only vending machines (recommend Kiosk Café opposite). A some what disappointing visit, we recommend Meridian Leisure Centre Louth, especially for the under 5’s.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooper-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Clean but Cold”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Visited today with husband and 11 yr old son. I would like to congratulate the centre on the newly refurished changing/toilet/ shower area which looks clean and well maintained - please don't let these high standards slip! Just a couple of negatives: very cold pool & slide not in use. On arrival we could see through the windows that kids were using the slide but by the time we had changed and entered the pool they had closed it. Would have been nice to have seen a sign up on reception or been told by receptionist that slide closed as we may have chosen to come back on a different day - son a bit dissapointed! Other than that good value for money and a pleasant swim.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshallsDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cleethorpes Leisure Centre also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Cleethorpes Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing