We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I suggest you read this...”
Review of Sugar Sugar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Sugar
Ranked #24 of 25 Cleethorpes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2013

On our arrival we were greeted by a polite lady who showed us to our room and both me and my fiancée were pleased we had got the Warhol Suite which is the one we had wanted. The interior was decorated brilliantly and the idea of having all different themes is awesome. The round bed was the main focus of this room, not only was it comfy but it had furry and silky sheets on it (and its also makes a change to the same old four sides). We stayed on a friday night so were expecting to be up til late in the bar anyway, at around 2am after a great night around cleethorpes it was nice to just stumble through a door and up the stairs to bed...where the pro's of the circle bed really kicked in haha. There was still slight noise from the bar downstairs but not unbearable or making your ears bleed as people are making out. We took a chance on this hotel after reading reviews and were pleasantly surprised, so much so that were booked in again in April this time in the Victoria suite. My only advice is that you dont stay here if:
1. You're on business
2. You're miserable

And finally 3. If you're just not that into people shouting 'TEN POUND OF BANANAS NAAA FIFTY PEA!'

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotty182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

If you read the many negative reviews, believe them.
The concept of a themed hotel above a bar may appear to be chic and sexy, in reality it's an utter disaster.
You cannot get to sleep until after 3am due to the music from the bar.
The room standard is fine but the noise level is deafening.
We really cannot see how anyone(even party animals) can relish a stay at this establishment. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Smartluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed there in 2008 and was very suprised to find that the hotel still exists. Paid £100 for 1 night and never went back to Cleethorpes ever again because the stay was so awful. Noise from the pub downstairs til 3am then street cleaning trucks came at 6am, tacky rooms, no complimentary toiletries, towels or tea & coffee. The reception guy did not give eye contact when we checked in and out. Go elsewhere if you want value for money and a decent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the white room, its defiantly in need of a refurbishment! Stains all over cushions on bed, on the sofa and rugs! Stains on the walls too!! Its just really cheap and shabby! Couldn't get much sleep due to the so called bar downstairs which sounds more like a night club!! We go woke up at 7 o' clock due to noise in the corridor. No parking at all, so you have to pay to stay in another car park and be up by 8am to go and put more money in machine so your car doesnt get clamped! Location is good and close to the centre but wouldn't go again unless I planned on staying up all night and partying.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndsey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

hiya me and the girlfriend went for the weekend and didn't get any sleep at all we were staying for 2 nights and ended up coming home after 1 night because we couldn't sleep!. There is a Bar which becomes a NIGHT CLUB!!!! underneath the hotel and it goes on till 4am in the morning which is not good at all and then at 6-30am in the morning when you can get some sleep you get the market going on!!. Really nice room and staff are top draw, but no parking at all so don't go unless you want to party all night!!. They said they were going 2 give us a full refund but they have said vouchers giving us a 1 night break in the week as the club shuts at 11pm from Steve and Sarah from Leicester, enjoy if u go!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The worst experience ever!!!! Room very dirty, loud and uncomfortable bed. Couldn't get any sleep. I been informed on my arrival that i can park outside the hotel until 8am. At 6am i could hear some noises, when looked outside my car was surrounded with the flower market!!!!!! I find £80.00 parking ticket.... lucky my car wasn't removed!!!No breakfast!!!Shower didn't work and when i decide to have bath it was only cold water!! Is just unbelievable that absolutely everything in that place was wrong! I m traveling very often for a business so i stay in different hotels.I have never experience anything like that before!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank izabela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I'm coming to the end of a short 2 night stay having been on business in the area. I only wish I had read the reviews of other guests before booking - the clue to my dissatisfaction is the fact that the hotel is above a lively bar. unfortunately for me, despite my room being located on the top floor, the thumping music and loud vocals from the bar PA over the past 2 evenings have trashed my chances of getting off to an early sleep after 2 very long working days. Last night (Thursday) was karaoke night. I really did want to get my head down by about 10pm but in the end resorted to staying up late and watching programmes on BBC I Player whilst wearing my noise cancelling headphones which work brilliantly on planes but even they couldn't mask the noise from below. Finally at midnight, as the crowd joined in for 1 last song (Slades "So Here It Is Merry Christmas"!!) the night fell silent and I got some sleep. Other than this issue, the room has been fine although would have benefitted from a decent mattress on the bed and the mastic in the bathroom is mouldy and perished in places so without the nose I would have rated my stay 7:10. with the noise - sorry but a quite hotel room is a must for me and will never been achieved above a noisy bar so it's 0:10 although I do partly blame myself for not doing my research properly.

Room Tip: Read all of the reviews and only book if you are not bothered about loud musinc late into the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GARY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cleethorpes
0.1 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cleethorpes
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tudor Terrace Guest House
Tudor Terrace Guest House
#2 of 25 in Cleethorpes
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Priory Guest House
Priory Guest House
#23 of 25 in Cleethorpes
38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Studio-47
Studio-47
#9 of 25 in Cleethorpes
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Sugar

Address: 49-51 Market Street, Cleethorpes DN35 8LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Cleethorpes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cleethorpes
Price Range: £44 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Sugar 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and friendly hotel in the centre of Cleethorpes converted from a former run down period building in a lively market We have 7 individually decorated rooms all of which are super comfy with an element of fun added to the mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sugar Sugar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Sugar Hotel Cleethorpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing