We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice countryside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stallingborough Grange Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Stallingborough Grange hotel is everything you could expect from a English country side hotel. The design is not new, but the hotel is very well maintained and renovated. In the evening you can have a pint in the pub, together with your dinner. In the morning they serve a very good breakfast. The rooms are clean, well maintained and equipped . The bed was perfect for me. So overall it has been a pleasure staying there.

Room Tip: As far as I know, most rooms are away from the bar / restaurant and the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normandic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. We are so pleased you had a very pleasant stay with us and everything was to your expectation. We are in a lovely country position and I hope you will come back and enjoy our services again in the future.
The management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

As the local daily newspaper was running a two for one voucher promotion, we decided to give Stallingborough Grange a visit. After getting drinks we made our choice from the menu & proferred the voucher. This was initially refused as the lady behind the bar claimed that it was for the evening menu & we were there at lunchtime with the lunchtime menu in operation. It had to be pointed out that the terms on the voucher stated either lunch or evening meal and this was then accepted - without an apology.
The food arrived before the cutlery - and we were not asked whether we would like any sauces or condiments. The food was nicely presented, my wife having a ham hock & leeks with pasta and was thoroughly enjoyed. I had the gammon with caramelised pineapple, egg and potato wedges. The wedges were slightly overdone but otherwise the food was delicious.
In most other similar establishments it is the normal practice for the customer to be approached during the meal by a member of staff and asked whether "everything was alright?". In this case this touch was not evident.
Overall the food was good but the service & attitude of the staff could do with a little more attention to the needs of the customer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our restaurant recently. I was sorry to read that the service you encountered wasn't upto scratch. This is not our usual standard and it would have been an oversight if your table was not checked on. We do have many special offers running in various different publications so my apologies if the member of staff hadn't realised it was a lunchtime promotion also. I am however delighted you did enjoy your food and hope you will come and visit us again to demostrate that we do offer a high standard of service. Your comments are very valued to help us improve.

Heather Dutton - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

As a traveling salesman I stay in a lot of hotels and the Stallingborough Grange is absolutely first class.Everything was of the highest quality, from the professionalism and friendliness of the staff to the fantastic food to the quality of the beds.I am already looking forward to my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 800Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. Our staff work extremely hard to ensure you have a very enjoyable stay and your comments are very valued. We do hope you visit us again in the very near future and we look forward to seeing you.

Heather Dutton - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The food is a little pretentious but not expensive I had a very good steak
My first room was very close to the function room it was Friday and someones birthday party, I had been up since very early that morning
The noise was unbearable, on visiting reception The receptionist could not of been more apologetic and helpful.
I changed rooms and managed to get a very good nights sleep The rooms are clean model
and the beds comfortable
I have stayed there a few times and will return

Room Tip: If you are not there to party tell the receptionist when you arrive :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. My sincere apologies regarding your room and the party. This is an oversight on our behalf and am pleased it was resolved quickly and efficiently. I am pleased you have enjoyed your meals with us and we do hope you come and visit us again in the very near future. Your comments are very valued to us.

Heather Dutton - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed for the evening and had dinner in the restaurant, staff are always friendly. Good choice of food for dinner although was disappointed in the poached egg that was requested in the morning was more hard boiled! still nice and comfy rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_Staniforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit and our staff made you feel welcome. I will personally give our breakfast chef some poached egg training as the perfect poached egg is essential. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Heather Dutton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel but I visited the restaurant on Friday 26th April with my brother for my Mums 83rd birthday. Despite living in the Grimsby area all my life I had never been before but it had been recommended to me and was delighted with the quality of food and service.

We all had a 3 course meal, all three main dishes (duo of salmon, pork tenderloin and lamb liver) were superb and portion size very good (unlike some restaurants). It was also a nice touch by the staff (who had picked up on our conversation) to bring out my mother desert with a candle in it, surrounded by chocolates, singing happy birthday. I had the cheeseboard which was the best cheeseboard I have ever had in a restaurant.

The bill also came as a surprise as for 3 three course meals, a bottle of wine, a pint of cider and two soft drinks came to less than £90. Very glad I took up the recommendation and we will definitely be back in the future. The evening made my mothers birthday very special so a big thank you to The Stallingborough Grange staff. I cannot recommend the place highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Les_Gtfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding you visit to our restaurant. We are delighted you enjoyed your meals and our hospitality and we always love a good birthday party. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the near future.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel in January, during those snowy cold days.

The hotel doesn't have a lift so had to carry my bag and stuff to the first floor.
Whilst staying at this hotel, I've discovered that the heating was automatically turned off after midnight, despite the cold weather.
Another huge surprise, was when I came back to my room in the evening one day, discovering my room wasn't cleaned..!
Service at breakfast and dinner was average.. Not staying again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aria_o_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
1.7 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
310 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
3.8 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
201 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
5.0 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stallingborough Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stallingborough Grange Hotel

Address: Riby Road | North East Lincolnshire, Grimsby DN41 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: £73 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stallingborough Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds, Stallingborough Grange Hotel is set in beautiful gardens. This former 18th century country house has been extensively modernised, yet retains its old world charm and features. With all the amenities the discerning traveller requires including free Wifi throughout the hotel. Ideally located for the businesses of Grimsby and Immingham, and the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. The historical cities of Hull and Lincoln are also only a short drive away. Enjoy a delicious meal in our Thatchers Restaurant or light bites in our lounge bar. A superb selection of wines and real ales are also available. Enjoy a drink in our beer garden set amongst our beautiful gardens. Conference and banqueting facilities are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stallingborough Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing