We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Lunch!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stallingborough Grange Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quick Lunch!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Enjoyed a quick pint and a sandwich with a friend yesterday lunch time. Welcoming, helpful and friendly staff - food was good value for money - IPA beer not so tasty - disappointed the Aspell Cider was off.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oilcanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
I am pleased you had a very enjoble lunch with us. My apologies for the Aspells we had a cellar technical problem which was out of our hands but is all now up and running so come along soon to see us and enjoy a pint in the lovely sunshine.

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    69
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
25
72
6
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble. The Hotel and rooms were stopless, the decoration was of a very high standard. The food was very good and not at all expensive, however the menu was a little limited with no daily specials.

There were plenty car parking spaces, the external grounds were neat and tidy with a lovely Beer Garden

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are delighted you had a very enjoyable stay and that you rated our food and service to a high standard. We hope it isn't too long before you come and visit again soon.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Staff were all friendly, and helpful when at first my key-card wouldn't work, and the food was pretty good and really not expensive. The walls were rather thin so I could hear everything the other guests said and did, but I had a good night's sleep nevertheless. Bathroom and shower were fine. This was a business trip: sadly not much desk space for working, and the internet connection is almost useless in the room I stayed in (17). Nice view of the old windmill and countryside, and the carpark's pretty secure as it's out of the town. Altogether it was worth the money (because my double room was discounted as a late booking to £70/night). I'd come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJG111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your overnight stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments are very valued to us to improve our service. We are aware our wifi isn't always very strong however we are addressing this and hopefully in the near future this will be addressed. We do hope to see you again on your travels.

Heather Dutton - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen
Level Contributor
391 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The Stallingborough Grange hotel is everything you could expect from a English country side hotel. The design is not new, but the hotel is very well maintained and renovated. In the evening you can have a pint in the pub, together with your dinner. In the morning they serve a very good breakfast. The rooms are clean, well maintained and equipped . The bed was perfect for me. So overall it has been a pleasure staying there.

Room Tip: As far as I know, most rooms are away from the bar / restaurant and the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normandic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. We are so pleased you had a very pleasant stay with us and everything was to your expectation. We are in a lovely country position and I hope you will come back and enjoy our services again in the future.
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

As the local daily newspaper was running a two for one voucher promotion, we decided to give Stallingborough Grange a visit. After getting drinks we made our choice from the menu & proferred the voucher. This was initially refused as the lady behind the bar claimed that it was for the evening menu & we were there at lunchtime with the lunchtime menu in operation. It had to be pointed out that the terms on the voucher stated either lunch or evening meal and this was then accepted - without an apology.
The food arrived before the cutlery - and we were not asked whether we would like any sauces or condiments. The food was nicely presented, my wife having a ham hock & leeks with pasta and was thoroughly enjoyed. I had the gammon with caramelised pineapple, egg and potato wedges. The wedges were slightly overdone but otherwise the food was delicious.
In most other similar establishments it is the normal practice for the customer to be approached during the meal by a member of staff and asked whether "everything was alright?". In this case this touch was not evident.
Overall the food was good but the service & attitude of the staff could do with a little more attention to the needs of the customer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to our restaurant recently. I was sorry to read that the service you encountered wasn't upto scratch. This is not our usual standard and it would have been an oversight if your table was not checked on. We do have many special offers running in various different publications so my apologies if the member of staff hadn't realised it was a lunchtime promotion also. I am however delighted you did enjoy your food and hope you will come and visit us again to demostrate that we do offer a high standard of service. Your comments are very valued to help us improve.

Heather Dutton - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

As a traveling salesman I stay in a lot of hotels and the Stallingborough Grange is absolutely first class.Everything was of the highest quality, from the professionalism and friendliness of the staff to the fantastic food to the quality of the beds.I am already looking forward to my next trip to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 800Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. Our staff work extremely hard to ensure you have a very enjoyable stay and your comments are very valued. We do hope you visit us again in the very near future and we look forward to seeing you.

Heather Dutton - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salhouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The food is a little pretentious but not expensive I had a very good steak
My first room was very close to the function room it was Friday and someones birthday party, I had been up since very early that morning
The noise was unbearable, on visiting reception The receptionist could not of been more apologetic and helpful.
I changed rooms and managed to get a very good nights sleep The rooms are clean model
and the beds comfortable
I have stayed there a few times and will return

Room Tip: If you are not there to party tell the receptionist when you arrive :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. My sincere apologies regarding your room and the party. This is an oversight on our behalf and am pleased it was resolved quickly and efficiently. I am pleased you have enjoyed your meals with us and we do hope you come and visit us again in the very near future. Your comments are very valued to us.

Heather Dutton - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
3.8 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grimsby
392 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
1.6 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
5.0 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
454 reviews
4.9 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stallingborough Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stallingborough Grange Hotel

Property: Stallingborough Grange Hotel
Address: Riby Road | North East Lincolnshire, Grimsby DN41 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stallingborough Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds, Stallingborough Grange Hotel is set in beautiful gardens. This former 18th century country house has been extensively modernised, yet retains its old world charm and features. With all the amenities the discerning traveller requires including free Wifi throughout the hotel. Ideally located for the businesses of Grimsby and Immingham, and the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. The historical cities of Hull and Lincoln are also only a short drive away. Enjoy a delicious meal in our Thatchers Restaurant or light bites in our lounge bar. A superb selection of wines and real ales are also available. Enjoy a drink in our beer garden set amongst our beautiful gardens. Conference and banqueting facilities are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stallingborough Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing