We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, comfy bed but dated room & poor wifi” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stallingborough Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stallingborough Grange Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, comfy bed but dated room & poor wifi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Staff when i stayed were welcoming, I stayed in the newer part of the hotel and the bed was amazingly comfy & the food from the restaurant was cooked well and arrived quickly. Problems i found was the wifi was only just powerful enough to access facebook and wouldnt let me access the wifi on my phone at all due to the hotels login page. The only other niggles were the extractor in the bathroom was shockingly loud, infact i didnt try and run a bath in the morning for fear of waking other guests and the room i stayed in was a little dated and cramped. Because of the staff i would probably stay here again if it was a short business stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 85blacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and dining in our restaurant. I am sorry to learn our wifi hadn't been powerful enough for you, we have just had a new system installed and have not had any other complaints. The slow connectivity could be due to a lot of people on at the same time, however I thank you for pointing this out and we will look into these issues. Part of the hotel is an old building dating back to the 1800's so some of our rooms are smaller in size. We however feel this gives us a bit of character over new purpose built buildings. We do have plenty of rooms in the newer part of the building which would possibly suit you better therefore if you do come and stay again please ask for one of these rooms and we will be happy to accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    67
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
23
71
6
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Not a bad place, an old thatched building that has been recently extended, I stayed in the older part which has some charm. The bathroom had been recently redone and they struggled as I guess there were no straight walls ! , nicely done but a bit dark, good shower and bit more cleaning would have been great. Good clean comfortable bed with very little road noise. The restaurant had a good selection of either bar snacks or from the main menu, which was very good. The chef has done a good job of creating some great tasty dishes for a fair price and it was fairly busy with locals and guests. would be happy to go back and recommend to others

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaufontboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest
I was very pleased to read you had enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our head chef will be pleased to know you enjoyed his cuisine. As you said some of our rooms are in the original part of the building which dates back to the 18th century. Oliver Cromwell visited the house in these times so you can be certain you stayed in a room with lots of history!
We hope you are able to visit us again and maybe find out a little more of its history.
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

It has been some time since I have stayed in the area. The room was booked for me by somebody else, but I was pleasantly surprised as my previous stays here were very nice. It has a friendly atmosphere and the food is excellent.

Room service was fast and efficient. The meal was enjoyable and reasonably priced.

The room was very small and had twin beds rather than a double. There was no spare room and the table was nearly big enough for my laptop. The duvet was small, so my sleep was interrupted. There was an electric shower, but this was ok.

Altogether a good stay and reasonably priced

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrimps69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us and was pleased to read you enjoyed our hospitality. We pride our selves on excellent service and food. We certainly hope you come and stay again with us in the near future.

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hopton
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have just got back from a three day business trip and stayed at this hotel. We normally stay in the Humber Royal when in the area but couldnt get in so thought we would give this a try. It is a nice looking hotel with an old fashion charm in the restuarant and bar. We had booked a standard room which was small and a bit dated but was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was adequate but could have done with a more up to date shower as to turn it on you got showered with cold water until you got the setting right it was also very noisy this could definitly do with changing.

We had two meals in the hotel which where both of good quality and freshly cooked so there is a bit of a wait when ordering. Prices seemed quite reasonable for what you got too. We enjoyed the full english breakfast which was cooked to order and it was lovely and hot there was also a small choice of bread, yoghurts, cereal and pastries on offer.The service was very good and reception was friendly. I would consider staying again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoptonRedjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always nice to hear good comments from our visitors and we are pleased we was able to make your stay enjoyable. All our food is cooked to order and therefore at busy times there can be a wait, but I'm sure you will agree it is worth the wait. Breakfast is of course the most important meal to set you up for your working day and again I am pleased you enjoyed it. Being an independant hotel we get feel we give that extra personal touch and get to know our customers well. We certainly hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Visited for an evening meal and had a really good experience. We have lived 5 mins away for 10 years and don't know why we've not been before! I'd seen a 10% discount voucher in a local magazine and suggested we give it a go. Shared the pâté starter which was lovely ( although u never get enough bread/toast). I had the lambs liver with potatoes and veg and husband had steak. Really good food, fresh, tasty and nicely presented. We shared the English Cream tea cheesecake for dessert which was fantastic! A very enjoyable evening in pleasant surroundings with good staff and excellent food. We will visit again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mauritiusbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Why have you waited so long to come and visit us, living so close as well! I am so pleased you did come and try us out and enjoyed your meal so much. We have seasonal menus with our new Autumn/Winter menu coming on in October and then of course Christmas in the not to distant future. All food is locally sourced and freshly prepared to order so you can always ask for extra crostini to go with your pate. We hope to see you again very soon.
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights to visit friends in the area and the location suited us perfectly. The hotel was lovely and we instantly relaxed upon arrival, mainly due to the friendly/helpful staff and very comfortable rooms.
The food was exceptional and one of the reasons we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on your recent stay with us. Our staff very much appreciate getting such positive feedback, it really gives them a boost. We hope to see you again in the very near future.
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

we went out for my grandmas 80th birthday we were seated quickly and had a nice table, we got our menus but then had to wait 20 minutes for them to take our order, we then waited 40 mins for our starters 20 mins to clear it then 50 mins for our main which then when it finally came the waiter dropped my brothers meal down him, and 25 for desserts and as we were eating them we are asked to hurry up because other people needed the table. Afterwards we had no apolgy. my dad rang up a few days afterwards and they said they would write a letter of apolgy to my grandma. we went in march and she recieved it in june, they said they would also send a 20% discount which they didnt. terrible would not recommomed and never going back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
I was sorry to read you had such an awful experience at our restaurant. The incident you are refering to was dealt with quickly on the day when the gentleman who headed your party spoke to myself. All food and drink was deducted off the bill and he thanked me for dealing with the incident promptly. A letter of apology was sent but as you had already had everything deducted further compensation was not appropriate on this occasion. I apologise if you did have to wait as this was a very busy day and on occasions there can be a wait. All food is freshly prepared and we are not a fast food restaurant. I am sorry you were asked to leave your table, there had been some confusion with our staff and apologise that your luncheon was spoilt because of this.
The General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
3.7 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.6 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grimsby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Grimsby Hotel
5.1 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stallingborough Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stallingborough Grange Hotel

Property: Stallingborough Grange Hotel
Address: Riby Road | North East Lincolnshire, Grimsby DN41 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stallingborough Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds, Stallingborough Grange Hotel is set in beautiful gardens. This former 18th century country house has been extensively modernised, yet retains its old world charm and features. With all the amenities the discerning traveller requires including free Wifi throughout the hotel. Ideally located for the businesses of Grimsby and Immingham, and the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. The historical cities of Hull and Lincoln are also only a short drive away. Enjoy a delicious meal in our Thatchers Restaurant or light bites in our lounge bar. A superb selection of wines and real ales are also available. Enjoy a drink in our beer garden set amongst our beautiful gardens. Conference and banqueting facilities are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stallingborough Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing