We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stallingborough Grange Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My two night buisiness stay proved to be a pleasent experience. The rooms were clean and comfortable with good internet avaiability (free).
All the staff were polite and friendly. Brilliant food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you found the hotel comfortable and you found the internet good which is so important to our guests these days. Our restaurant is renowned for its good food and am pleased you was able to enjoy it. I hope its not too long before you are able to stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you.
Kind Regards
Heather Dutton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Stallingborough Grange Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Lovely big car parks. Lovely room, nice and warm on a freezing day. Very comfortable bed. Bathroom good with a shower in the bath. Clean.
The restaurant? WOW! I ate a gorgeous mushroom starter then my friend and I ordered the offer of 2 sirloin steak meals with a bottle of house white wine for £30 This was excellent.
The breakfast in the morning was delicious.
The only downside I could see could be breakfast times as breakfast is from 7am to 9am and 7.30 to 9.30 at weekends. There is also no breakfast room service. This is a shame as it is a great place to stay quite near to the airport and really would suit people flying but when a room costs £95 a night, you really do want the breakfast that goes with the room price!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresaplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review of your stay with us. Its very pleasing to read such positive comments especially that the room had been to a high expectation and you enjoyed your meal with us. A 'WOW' comment is very appreciative especially for the staff.

I am sorry to read though that you had been refused room service for breakfast, this is not usual as we do offer room service and will investigate the reasons behind this. I am however pleased that you found your breakfast to be delicious.

We very much hope you will return soon and we look forward to seeing you.
Regards
Heather Dutton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Dinner service was good and the only real positive was the food.
Room I stayed in was made up of cheap furniture some of which was broken and stained. The bathroom was in desperate need of renovation, the tiles were dirty and the bottom of the bath wobbles when you stand in it. Breakfast service was shocking, a table that came in 5 minutes after me was served their breakfast 10 minutes before me. Making me late for sore booked taxi and meeting. The waitress was dull and looked like she would rather be anywhere else than working here, easy solution is to not go to work? The hotel was expensive and massively over priced, much much better hotels in local area for same if not less. Won't be staying again in future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MysteryGuest85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your reviewing your recent stay with us. I was please to read that you had enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant and service. I was however sorry to read that your breakfast service the next morning slow and made you late for your taxi and meeting. I apologise for this and have addressed this with the staff on duty that morning and have stressed the importance of ensuring guests are attended to immediately. Your comments regarding the apprearance of our waitress are noted and I feel are personal to you. All our staff are highly trained and are all selected for there friendly personalities and appearance.

Our bedrooms are furnished to a very high standard. The room you stayed in has been inspected and any problems have been addressed immediately.
I am sorry if your feel our hotel is overpriced, It is very comparable with other hotels in the area and is rates are often cheaper in price than budget hotels in the area.
I am sorry you feel you will not stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was very happy with my stay here and will definitely stay here again when in the area. The hotel is friendly, has a good atmosphere, and the food and service was great, I recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Maximus26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We have a very good reputation for our food and service and are pleased you was able to experience this. We hope you are able to stay with us again soon and we look forward to seeing you.

Heather Dutton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed for 1 night whilst on business. Room was very clean. Comfortable bed. Didn't eat there in the evening but the breakfast was good, and freshly cooked.

The group of other residents (clearly regulars so be warned) used the foulest of language and the bar staff engaged with them and were tolerant of it, real shame. I can swear like a navvy at the best of times but it made me cringe.

The small gym is rubbish, the floor hasn't been hoovered in weeks. The running machine sticks occasionally and nearly spits you off. The cross trainer is a DIY job and the rowing machine has a strap for only one foot. There are no cameras so if you get injured and get knocked out, which on that running machine is fairly likely, I doubt any one would know for about a fortnight. Was slightly perplexed as to why a gym would also contain a heated hostess trolley, haven't seen one of those in a few years, most odd.

I paid £70 for the night, £50 would be about right in my opinion. The rack rate is comical.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Poorhorseowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was please to read that you had enjoyed the comfort of your room and the breakfast you had. I was however sorry to read that you had experienced unappropriate behaviour in our bar. Unfortunately it is always difficult to monitor bad language from guests and our staff who were on duty should have been mindful enough to have addressed this at the time. Please accept my apologies for the upset this has caused you.

I'm sorry you found our gym to not be up to standard. Our gym is a small unmanaged gym which is purely a facility for guests to enjoy. We have a lot of business/contractors who literally just want an our of keeping fit. We do not make any charges for this facility and all guests appreciate this.

Our rates are very competitive to other hotels in the area and we feel we offer a high standard of service for the rates we charge. We are always greatful of comments to ensure we keep to these standards and make improvements for the future.
We hope you will visit us again when you are in the area again.

Heather Dutton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

we first visited for valentines deal and enjoyed it.
our second visit for a quiet new year was very good, food and service was excellent would definitely recommend to friends and family.we will visit again
thankyou




  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, Guest Relations Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant on New Years Eve. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Let me start by saying how good the food was. We shared the Rustic Bread board, which was just about right for two people, nice bread, nice olives, etc. Then I had the Sirloin Steak and my partner had the Stir Fry. Both meals were well cooked and the ingredients tasted fresh. The bill came to about £60 with a bottle of wine.

The service, however, was not to our liking. On arrival the young man at the bar was a bit over familiar, using terms like 'matey' and 'bud'. Which I suppose is fine, but I'm not sure is in keeping with the image the hotel is trying to put across (wood panelling, quite formal dining area). Then when the wine arrived to accompany the main meal it was simply plonked on the table. It was open, but it wasn't shown to us or poured for us (at £18 a bottle I would expect a little better). Then on finishing our meals, I went to pay. The young lad at the bar was having an in depth conversation with the manager about making dice out of blue tack. which was continued throughout the paying process. The bill was not shown to me, nobody asked if we enjoyed the meal, and again it was all 'cheers mate', etc.

My partner took umbrage at this lack of attention and asked to see the bill. Again he was over familiar and called her 'Darl'. We brought our comments to the managers attention, who gave lip service, but didn't seem to understand what we were saying.

Later on, my partner emailed the hotel to pass on our concerns, which were basically the over familiarity, and lack of attention to us as diners. The reply we got was that we over reacted. Which was pretty much what we expected as it seemed like the manager was there for a laugh and to be matey with his staff, forgetting that not everybody is a bar regular, and not everybody is there for the craic with the staff.

All I can say is if you want a restaurant experience ((good food AND professional service) in this area of NE Lincs, go elsewhere. If you want the working men's club experience, albeit with better food, try the Stallingborough Grange.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philmark, General Manager at Stallingborough Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest

I was very dissapointed to read your recent visit to our restaurant was not to your expected standards. I was concerned to read that although you had enjoyed your meal the service you had was far from what both yourselves and the management team would expect. The member of bar staff you refer to has now left our employment, however following your comments we have implemented further training with our staff on customer service. Our restaurant is not however a very formal dining room and we take a relaxed but professional approached to service, however members of staff have to be aware that a 'too relaxed' approach is not acceptable. I apologise if your wine service also did not come upto scratch. Again training has also been implemented in this area

I sincerely hope that you will re visit us in the future and that we can prove to you that we value all our customers.

Heather Dutton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
1.6 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
296 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
3.8 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
5.0 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
466 reviews
5.0 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stallingborough Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stallingborough Grange Hotel

Address: Riby Road | North East Lincolnshire, Grimsby DN41 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: £89 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stallingborough Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds, Stallingborough Grange Hotel is set in beautiful gardens. This former 18th century country house has been extensively modernised, yet retains its old world charm and features. With all the amenities the discerning traveller requires including free Wifi throughout the hotel. Ideally located for the businesses of Grimsby and Immingham, and the seaside resort of Cleethorpes. The historical cities of Hull and Lincoln are also only a short drive away. Enjoy a delicious meal in our Thatchers Restaurant or light bites in our lounge bar. A superb selection of wines and real ales are also available. Enjoy a drink in our beer garden set amongst our beautiful gardens. Conference and banqueting facilities are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stallingborough Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing