We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I only arrived very late and then left immediately after breakfast so experience is somewhat limited. However, a few things did give cause for comment. First, the free drink on arrival was a nice touch that I was not expecting. Second, the bed was quite small. This was not too much of any issue being solo, but I would not have been comfortable sharing the small double with my wife. Third, breakfast - the same old buffet service with comedy eggs and cardboard bacon. For a single night it was fine at the price.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Izvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Hotel. I was dissapointed to read your comments and can assure you that this will be taking up with the team. In regards to the beds there are all a standard size 4.6ft double bed. The breakfast we offer is alway recommended highly by many guest so i was shocked to read that the breakfast was not up to standard. I will investigate the issues you raised.
I thank you for your comments and i hope you will visit again so that we can reassure you that this is not the nromal standard we offer.
Thank you
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Kind regards
Paul Grantley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for The St. James Hotel Grimsby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

As someone who works away frequently, I stayed at the St James for a few nights whilst working in Grimsby. I have to say that for the price, I was very impressed. It was one of the most affordable hotels I have stayed in and I had a very enjoyable stay.

The hotel was slightly dated but clean and tidy. My room was clean and spacious and the food was lovely. The team on reception were lovely and very approachable. Overall, for the price, I was very impressed and will stay again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessicat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay here at the St James Hotel. I am very pleased to read that you’ve had such a positive experience here with is, I will pass on your feedback to my team as I am sure they will be very pleased to hear of it.

Thanks again for taking the time to review us and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed at St James's hotel this week on the day of the horrendous winter storm. The hotel was booked through a Woucher deal. This included evening meal and breakfast. We found the hotel to be Value for Money. Our room was clean and everything we could wish for, the bed was comfortable. Although old fashioned in the respect that the hotel provided sheets and blankets rather than a duvet. The hotel is centrally positioned for shopping and there are a few watering holes close by. The restaurant provided a comprehensive menu and the food was enjoyable both at dinner and breakfast. All in all we had a good overnight stay at the hotel and I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of booking a stay.

Room Tip: Room 108 is at the front of the hotel overlooking St James's church.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigmac53Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the St James Hotel, I am pleased to read that you had such a positive experience even in such adverse weather conditions.
My staff will be greatly encouraged by such positive feedback about both the cleanliness of your room and your enjoyment of the meals and menu in the resataurant.
Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope to welcome you back here in the future.
Kind Regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We frequently stay in hotels with groupon etc vouchers and this was a great choice! So yes they have a problem with noise from people rolling out of the pubs in the early hours but wouldn't you expect that in a town centre! Get a room at the back and you won't hear them.
The food was lovely and the staff the same. No internet but who minds for one night. We would stay again.... Great if you are on a shopping trip... 100 yards to shopping centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spornny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guests

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the St James Hotel. It is uplifting for you to describe us as a ‘great choice’ and incredibly encouraging for my staff to be complimented, as well as our food!

Unfortunately our internet was down due to a technical issue at the suppliers end – it is thankfully rectified now.

Grimsby is a lovely town and does have many shopping outlets which are well worth a visit as I’m sure you will agree.

I thank you again for your comment and hope to welcome you back here again in the future.

Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have tried to hold back in regards to The St. James' but its possible the worst hotel I have stayed in for a very long time. It has a very dated interior which I don't have words to describe which follows through into the bedrooms. Currently the hotel has no internet, I am not sure if Grimsby has heard of the internet yet, which means contacting the outside world is a no go. To add to this the single glazed windows let all the sound in which isn't great when your being woken up at 1:30 am by Jeremy Kyle's finest rolling around outside your window. Furthering this the food isn't great - there are much nicer restaurants close to the hotel (see my other reviews). The few positives are:
- friendly staff
- central location
- cheap

Room Tip: Look somewhere else
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with your stay. I acknowledge that the hotel is somewhat dated and as stated in previous responses we are continuously investing in order to change this – it is just unfortunate that this will take time for us to get through the many different areas of the building.
Unfortunately at the time of your stay we didn’t have internet due to technical difficulties at the suppliers end. My staff did make people aware of the internet issue, and we also had signs up around the different areas, but unfortunately this was an issue that was completely out of our control. I completely understand your frustration at being ‘cut off’ from the outside world, indeed myself and the majority of my staff shared in your experience. I am pleased to say however that our supplier has rectified the problem at their end and the hotel is now connected again via free WIFI.

I thank you again for your review and wish you well.

Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Currently residing at st james and we are happy. After reading the reviews my hubby and i were dreading our stay here but we were pleasantly surprised. Its cheap, clean and perfectly fine. We have stayed in a lot worse for a lot more money!! We got a deal via wowcher for the stay a three course meal and breakfast all for £49. We are here on a little xmas shopping trip and its a stones throw away from freshney place. I think the reviews have been unfair. Yes its dated but its shouldnt be judged soley on that.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guests
Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay here at the St James Hotel. It is always uplifting to read such positive feedback. I do hope you managed to finish your Christmas shopping, and I hope I can welcome you to the hotel again in the future. Best wishes for the season.

Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

It's all been said by others. Tired beyond measure. Please don't use if you have photosensitive issues. Getting out of the lift is like walking into a virtual migraine with primary coloured carpets and garish lighting. Room would have been out of date in the seventies when I think is the last time it had a coat of paint. Car park impossible to find in the dark. The satnav reference it asks you to put in specifically for the car park tells you you have arrived when you are in the middle of the adjacent motorway one way system. I had to park up in the nearby public carpark and get directions from reception. I see countless references to a refurb. I saw no signs of such. Heading for the low end of the market which is a shame given the location. Lift noise in my room and paper thin walls. The early morning alarm call from the delivery trucks/dustbin lorries wall. A few saving graces to boost it up to two stars:

1. It was cheap.
2. All staff were cheery and helpful. No mean feat given their surroundings.
3. Despite the wear and tear it was clean. Had it not been so I would have left.
4. Central location handy if you want to eat out (Sage restaurant is five mins away and you won't regret it!)
5. Free wifi.

Won't do it again if I have any choice in the matter.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Ybabobmij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the St James Hotel, sorry to hear you felt dissatisfied with your stay.
I do appreciate that the hotel is still in need of refurbishment but I can assure you that we have done a lot of work over the years to maintain and upgrade different areas. Indeed as mentioned in previous replies the 2nd floor bedrooms and bathrooms were all done last year and we have just finished in the reception area.
I was really happy to note that you found my staff ‘cheery and helpful’, we do aim to deliver a friendly welcome and fantastic customer service.
DN31 1XZ is the postcode that will lead to our hotel car park if entered into a sat nav, it does differ from the hotels actual postcode, sorry again if this wasn’t clear to you.

I thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
1.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
198 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beeches Hotel
The Beeches Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grimsby
254 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James Hotel Grimsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: £38 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. James Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing