We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Pretty awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

First impressions driving up aren't great it looks like a 70s trusthouse forte!
Entering the hotel it doesn't get any better when you go in garish carpets brick wall corridors and actual keys for your door! No key cards!
The room was highly disappointing Woodchip paper on the walls a hideous faux leather headboard and lots of brown! The bathroom was also dated with a bright red toilet seat!!! Considering the state of the rooms the maid had tried their best and at least it was clean!! Had a huge problem with the bed everytime we turned over the mattress springs were 'pinging' away!
Breakfast was acceptable although as a vegetarian I was alarmed to see only one pair of tongs for use which were being used for bacon and hash browns. The hash browns are labelled on the menu but how can they be if they're contaminated with bacon!!!
Overall the worst hotel I have stayed in for around 5 years! Can't believe hotels are allowed to get in this state in the first place to be honest! Just gives the current owners the highest mountain to climb!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologise for the issues you experience during your stay. Your feedback is extremely important to us and the issues you experienced will certainly be addressed. Thank you once again
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    127
    102
    55
    58
See reviews for
56
92
30
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Thank you to Sue and all the staff that looked after us for the 49 rooms booked for our daughters wedding party which stayed after the reception at Laceby Manor. Also thanks to TJ coaches that provided the transport. Value for money with great service and a great breakfast. Thanks for everything

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnADelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the St James hotel. I am so please to read that everything was dealt with and Sue ensured that you was looked after.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was lucky enough, judging by the reviews, not to stay here. A couple of work colleagues did stay here and as I was staying in Cleethorpes decided to have a meal in the hotel restaurant. The table service was fine but to wait 45 minutes for fish and chips was a bit much certainly as the restaurant was half empty, and when it did arrive I was not impressed I've had more filling frozen meals. Not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologise for the service you received during your stay. I can assure you that we get very positive comment from guest dining with us, but why it fell short on this occasion is something for me to investigate. Your feedback is extremely important to us and the issues you experienced will certainly be addressed. Thank you once again
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Grimsby hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The fact this hotel is rated 5th best in Grimsby says more about the lack of a decent hotel in the Town centre than St James. It feels tired and the building is ugly. Hopefully these days it would never be allowed to built opposite the beautiful Grimsby Minister. It's just alright! The staff are ok, they had real trouble fining a pen."bring it back it's the only one we have"
The bar area is ok has the feeling your on the set of Benidorm.
Room was ok needs investment. breakfast ample though there was a hair in it. There was a nail sticking out the seat which caught my trousers. The margarine one empty and one liquid filled.
It's dry it's warm and the tea is wet but it's very much a B&B a contractors hotel!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank concernednortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
I am writing in response to your recent review on trip advisor which you sent to regarding your stay with ourselves at the St James Hotel in Grimsby. As General Manager of this hotel I am deeply saddened by your disappointment with your stay at my establishment.

Just to clarify to date 44 room have had a soft furnishing refurbishment on the second floor. There are 125 bedrooms on site and it is hoped to continue the ongoing refurbishment. Unfortunately the second floor rooms were already allocated when your reservation came through.

I was surprised to read your comment about the breakfast as usually the feedback from the guests is one of satisfaction with the service on offer.

Thank you again for your feed back.

Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Due to shortage of hotels in Grimsby, everything else was fully booked, I was unfortunate to spend the night at the St James.
My biggest disappointment is the beds / mattress' - The thinnest, cheapest, uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on . You can clearly feel the nasty springs, which resulted in the worst night's sleep of a lifetime.
The room was very hot - had the window open all night and the noise from the area was as described in previous reviews, youth, rubbish collection, bottles bashing.
All this for £78 .
It is obvious the Corus Group up keeps this hotel at the lowest possible cost and take advantage of the lack of hotels in Grimsby. Room and public areas looks to be neglected fresh paint and general maintenance for years.
I could have ignored all of this because the business pays for accommodation, I wouldn't even stay here, if you paid me .
Terrible
Needless to say I will not recommended and will nerver stay here again

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Torbenlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologise for the issues you experience during your stay. The hotel is undergoing a soft up grade to improve the image of the hotel and the beds are one of the items we are up grading. but as you can appreciate that this will take a long time because of the size of the hotel. Your feedback is extremely important to us and the issues you experienced will certainly be addressed. Thank you once again
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights , breakfast ok but on a night very hot and with it been noisy outside couldn't get to sleep with windows open . Would definitely not stay here again. Looked as if it had been just painted but was very dated.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay. I hope you can appreciate that been in the town centre make it difficult for us to control because we have not control for what happen out side the hotel. but on saying that Your feedback is extremely important to us and the issues you experienced will certainly be addressed. Thank you once again
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Room was very clean and tidy, bed really comfy didn't wanna get out.. Only downfall is our window overlooked the bins and the smell wasn't very pleasant. Food was ok and the service, would stay again ..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The St. James Hotel. I’m pleased to read that your room, bed, food & service were all satisfactory during your visit to Grimsby. I will however investigate the unpleasant odour that you mentioned as this is the first issue of its kind.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
0.1 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Grimsby Hotel
0.6 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beeches Hotel
The Beeches Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grimsby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James Hotel Grimsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Property: The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. James Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing