We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night last weekend so that we could attend our friends' son's wedding. It was the hotel chosen by the organisers for all the non-local guests. We tried to keep an open mind after reading some of the more negative reviews. True, the hotel looked rather care worn and in need of a general upgrade. Our room was clean, bathroom likewise with nice toiletries and just enough towels. There were facilities for making hot drinks. However the furnishings were very dated. The room overlooked the garden area at the front of the hotel with the church opposite. On our return later in the evening, there was no escaping the noise from inside and outside the hotel. The pathway in front of the hotel seemed to be a public shortcut. Inside the hotel there was a jazz band playing and the sound carried up through the building. The worst thing though was the bed. It was soft in a bad, worn out way and for us, made sleep very difficult. If the bed had been more substantial and the night's sleep better, then we could have forgiven all the other shortcomings of the hotel. The breakfast was fine. It was a little short on fruit options, but that's just a personal preference. I would not recommend this hotel unless you are the sort of person who can sleep on a clothesline.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid the noise from people walking along the footpath.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeeboTeebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the St James hotel.
The hotel has been established since 1972 in the heart of Grimsby and I can appreciate that the hotel does need up grading, but on saying this we are given the hotel a soft upgrade, but as you can imagine that we can only do this in stages because of the hotel been 125 bedrooms. The hotel is always busy right through the year so only doing a small section does not show the full extent of the progress we are doing.
The hotel is situated in the Town centre of Grimsby, which overlooks the Grimsby Minster, with the lovely square (Garden) which is the mean areas to the town and unfortunately does not belong to the hotel. The pathway is a direct route for all people to come and go in and out of the town centre which again is out of the hotels control.
Again thank you for your review and I hope I can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for The St. James Hotel Grimsby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Tired dated rooms but kept clean,hallways tired and dated noisy if in one of the rooms over looking the church with people going to and fro from the pubs and clubs late at night and into the Early morning , staff are disinterested in the service given And rather talk to each other than the guest's








  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malpat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologise for the service you received during your stay. Your feedback is extremely important to us and the issues you experienced will certainly be addressed. Thank you once again
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

First impressions driving up aren't great it looks like a 70s trusthouse forte!
Entering the hotel it doesn't get any better when you go in garish carpets brick wall corridors and actual keys for your door! No key cards!
The room was highly disappointing Woodchip paper on the walls a hideous faux leather headboard and lots of brown! The bathroom was also dated with a bright red toilet seat!!! Considering the state of the rooms the maid had tried their best and at least it was clean!! Had a huge problem with the bed everytime we turned over the mattress springs were 'pinging' away!
Breakfast was acceptable although as a vegetarian I was alarmed to see only one pair of tongs for use which were being used for bacon and hash browns. The hash browns are labelled on the menu but how can they be if they're contaminated with bacon!!!
Overall the worst hotel I have stayed in for around 5 years! Can't believe hotels are allowed to get in this state in the first place to be honest! Just gives the current owners the highest mountain to climb!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologise for the issues you experience during your stay. Your feedback is extremely important to us and the issues you experienced will certainly be addressed. Thank you once again
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Thank you to Sue and all the staff that looked after us for the 49 rooms booked for our daughters wedding party which stayed after the reception at Laceby Manor. Also thanks to TJ coaches that provided the transport. Value for money with great service and a great breakfast. Thanks for everything

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnADelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the St James hotel. I am so please to read that everything was dealt with and Sue ensured that you was looked after.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was lucky enough, judging by the reviews, not to stay here. A couple of work colleagues did stay here and as I was staying in Cleethorpes decided to have a meal in the hotel restaurant. The table service was fine but to wait 45 minutes for fish and chips was a bit much certainly as the restaurant was half empty, and when it did arrive I was not impressed I've had more filling frozen meals. Not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologise for the service you received during your stay. I can assure you that we get very positive comment from guest dining with us, but why it fell short on this occasion is something for me to investigate. Your feedback is extremely important to us and the issues you experienced will certainly be addressed. Thank you once again
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The fact this hotel is rated 5th best in Grimsby says more about the lack of a decent hotel in the Town centre than St James. It feels tired and the building is ugly. Hopefully these days it would never be allowed to built opposite the beautiful Grimsby Minister. It's just alright! The staff are ok, they had real trouble fining a pen."bring it back it's the only one we have"
The bar area is ok has the feeling your on the set of Benidorm.
Room was ok needs investment. breakfast ample though there was a hair in it. There was a nail sticking out the seat which caught my trousers. The margarine one empty and one liquid filled.
It's dry it's warm and the tea is wet but it's very much a B&B a contractors hotel!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank concernednortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I am writing in response to your recent review on trip advisor which you sent to regarding your stay with ourselves at the St James Hotel in Grimsby. As General Manager of this hotel I am deeply saddened by your disappointment with your stay at my establishment.

Just to clarify to date 44 room have had a soft furnishing refurbishment on the second floor. There are 125 bedrooms on site and it is hoped to continue the ongoing refurbishment. Unfortunately the second floor rooms were already allocated when your reservation came through.

I was surprised to read your comment about the breakfast as usually the feedback from the guests is one of satisfaction with the service on offer.

Thank you again for your feed back.

Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Due to shortage of hotels in Grimsby, everything else was fully booked, I was unfortunate to spend the night at the St James.
My biggest disappointment is the beds / mattress' - The thinnest, cheapest, uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on . You can clearly feel the nasty springs, which resulted in the worst night's sleep of a lifetime.
The room was very hot - had the window open all night and the noise from the area was as described in previous reviews, youth, rubbish collection, bottles bashing.
All this for £78 .
It is obvious the Corus Group up keeps this hotel at the lowest possible cost and take advantage of the lack of hotels in Grimsby. Room and public areas looks to be neglected fresh paint and general maintenance for years.
I could have ignored all of this because the business pays for accommodation, I wouldn't even stay here, if you paid me .
Terrible
Needless to say I will not recommended and will nerver stay here again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Torbenlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEG80, General Manager at The St. James Hotel Grimsby, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I would like to apologise for the issues you experience during your stay. The hotel is undergoing a soft up grade to improve the image of the hotel and the beds are one of the items we are up grading. but as you can appreciate that this will take a long time because of the size of the hotel. Your feedback is extremely important to us and the issues you experienced will certainly be addressed. Thank you once again
Kind regards
Paul Grantley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
1.3 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
198 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Beeches Hotel
The Beeches Hotel
#10 of 10 in Grimsby
254 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. James Hotel Grimsby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. James Hotel Grimsby

Address: St. James Square, Grimsby DN31 1EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: £38 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. James Hotel Grimsby 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For four decades The St. James Hotel has been in the heart of Grimsby's town centre providing accommodation, food & drink for visitors. With friendly and efficient staff who are always on hand to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. James Hotel Grimsby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St James Hotel
St James Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing