We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the Tardis better on the inside”
Review of Humber Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Humber Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I stay in Grimsby on business on a regular basis and normally stay in the souless, charmless cold chain hotels attached to even poorer pubs with awful food. When I friend recommended this hotel I jumped at the chance to try something else. Like all other reviewers I found the outside unispiring it reminded me of some of the communist hotels you find in Russia and China. Inside it has been redecorated to a high standard although some of the public areas are still to be completed the rooms were bang up to date in a modern fresh style with good quality fixtures and fittings. Great night sleep. Had dinner in the resteraunt and the quality here too was very good with excellent choice and very fresh nice wine and service very attentive. The one let down was breakfast. The staff here were pretty unfriendly and disorganised. What it needs is someone taking room numbers and assigning the guests to tables as I sat there for ages trying to attract attention to get served. Dont let this put any one off as I am sure they will get there eventually. would reccomend staying here over any of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patroclas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

Quiet location over looking golf course, plenty of car space. Very slow and old lift. The rooms have been reburbished and are quite good. The stair carpet has seen better days and certainly do reflex the standard of the rooms. The restaurant is modern. The breakfast was could be better, more fruit, juice. Still good value at £65 bb.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Stayed here for the first time on June 15th. Was very impressed. I undrstand that the hotel was recently refurbished. The room was superb, bed very comfortable. Bathroom first class with modern fittings. Great shower. Room had a walk out balcony overlooking golf course. Had dinner and breakfast, both meals excellent. Staff friendly, professional and helpful in every way. Compared with many so called modern hotels this was a ray of sunshine. Free Internet access as well. Should be in every hotel !

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

On arriving at Humber Royal I was a little concerned at the exterior appearance , however I had looked online so knew the rooms were going to be nice .

Fantastic open views across the golf course from my balcony , modern decor and free Wi Fi a brilliant bonus .

Have now eaten in the restaurant for two weeks and have never been disappointed . The food is delicious with presentation equilivant to a 5 star restaurant . Only slight complaint may be that service can at times be a little slow .
Overall excellent hotel and restaurant good for business or a weekend break

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruandsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I have been staying at this place on & off for the last 10 years, Since its refit the rooms are superb. Super beds , plenty of parking & most of all Quiet ! This was never a bad hotel, just a bit run down when it was the Hotel Elizabeth. I would definatley make this my number one choice when staying in Grimsby. I am a very light sleeper but this place is properly built with solid walls & overlooking a golf course.

Very pleasant welcome & good staff. Very good modern decor, the room was spotless. Nice big TV , in a good size room.

The breakfast was also good.

This place is now worth booking as first choice.

Free wifi !

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonathon555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your comments on to Trip Advisor following your recent visit to The Humber Royal Hotel. As someone who has been loyal to the hotel for a number of years it is always pleasing to receive feedback. As you are aware there has seen a great deal of investment over the last 15 months and internally the hotel has been totally transformed. I am very pleased that you feel it is now the first choice in the area and appreciate you flying the flag on our behalf. Looking forward to accommodating you again when you are next in the area.

Kind regards


Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Clearly a lot of work has gone into refurbishing this hotel. My room was fine, the view across the golf course is lovely and having a balcony is a nice extra.

The hotel is let down by its appearance (style = East Germany 1970s), but there's not much that the management can do about that. At the time of my stay, the lift hadn't been refurbished (it did look like it had been found in a skip!).

Superb cooked-to-order breakfast.

The real bonus here is the staff. All that I met were jolly and attentive.


Points to consider:

NOT in central Grimsby (for good or bad!).
No aircon in the room.
Beware - AMEX not accepted, very unusual in a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Disgusted17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Given the price, I was not expecting much, but I needed a place to stay as I headed north from London, and Humber Royal it was. Given this hotel is old, and the lift was from another era, I was not expecting much. But from previous reviews I knew the hotel had been refurbished so was not unexpectedly surprised when I entered my top floor room to find a rather nice hotel room. The baclony overlooking the golf course was great but the real pleasure was the bed. I was soooo tired and that night I had the most brilliant sleep in such a comfortable bed. Room service was very great value and breakfast equally as good. The main bar and lounge area is tastefully decorated, and I used the area to access wifi and do emails. What a pity that the rooms don;t have free wifi available.

Yes - despite a rather tired exterior, inside it is great - and such good value !!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AussieAbroad005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
173 reviews
1.3 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
2.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humber Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humber Royal Hotel

Address: Little Coates Road, Grimsby DN34 4LX, England (Formerly Elizabeth Hotel Grimsby)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: £47 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Humber Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Humber Royal offers free Wi-Fi and free ample private parking. The town centre is a 5-minute drive away, while the coast is only 15 minutes away.The contemporary bedrooms assure you of a restful night's sleep and a refreshing start to the day. Relax with stunning views across the fairways of Grimsby Golf Club from your own balcony.Each en suite room at Humber Royal Hotel features flat screen TV and tea/coffee. Most rooms have balconies, overlooking Grimsby's 18-hole golf course.The Brasserie serves locally sourced food cooked to order, and an extensive wine list offering the classics and some exclusive alternatives. There is a terrace area offering fabulous views.The staff are friendly and welcoming, and 24-hour room service is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Humber Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing