We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only it had a leisure club it would be close to perfect”
Review of Humber Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Humber Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed in July when I commented on how graat this hotel is so had no hesitation in booking here when needing somewhere to stay close to grimsby between Xmas and the New Year.

Nice to see the hotel Management take notice of feedback for several previous reviews made refernece to the very dated lift this hotel had, I am pleased to say this has been replaced since July for a state of the art piece of kit.

Nice touch too that this hotel actively advertises that it supports local farms and suppliers for the produce it uses.

Breakfast is still an area of weakness I feel, staff are perfectly polite and helpful but seem to struggle in keeping tables cleaned and after cleaning replenished with basics like butter and jams though they will bring them to you if you ask. The space given over to breakfast too isn't up to coping with a large number of guests and again on this occasion (despite I understood only being at around 50% occupancy) guests were having to take a seat in the adjacent open plan bar area whilst a table was cleaned for them.

As previously stated the hotel doesn't look 'all that' on your approach to it but once inside it transforms itself especially in the bedrooms which are modern, trendy & have the tranquil views of a golf course.

As the title says if this hotel had a leisure club and with a little tweaking it would be unrivalled in probably a 15 mile radius. I appreciate the cost of putting in a leisure club would be huge but given the size of the hotel car park which is way in excess of its needs the return on the space would soon be recouped me thinks.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberab, Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear Guest
Thanks for your feedback. It is always pleasing to hear when guests notice we are taking action as a result of feedback. Your comments concerning breakfast are very fair and this is an area we are working hard at improving. We do get caught out occasionally at peak times but we are determined to sort this – hopefully you’ll experience this on your next visit.
I can’t make any promises with regard to leisure facilities, but as you have noted we have totally transformed the hotel with an investment in excess of £2.5 million in the last two years, so who knows.
Like some of our closest friends and relatives, not all buildings are pretty, but as you rightly point out the interior of the hotel is well worth a visit.

Regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Humber Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel whilst visiting family. It has been many years since I was in the hotel and was astonished at the refurbishment which has taken place. We were given a warm welcome by the receptionist and checked in with no fuss. The lift is due to be refurbished/replaced during November so was tired looking. However our room was first class with a balcony over the Golf Course. Comfortable bed and clean, modern bathroom. Breakfast was a joy with a cold buffet of juices, fruit, cereal & pastries followed by a cooked to order meal. Great staff added to the experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course on 4th floor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukbyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Room was spacious clean and very modern with balcony overlooking golf course.Hotel from outside is still very 70s. Large carpark.Reception is modern . Single lift in need of refurbishment.English Breakfast was buffet style served until 10 am .

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor have balcony. Connecting rooms do not have balcony for safety.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The room I stayed in was fantastic with views over the golf course. It had a separate lounge area and a bath you could drown in. I was really very impressed by the accomodation. The reception staff were very helpful and even arranged for a heater to be delivered to my room when it was unexpectedly freezing in August! Room service equally excellent - delicious food too. Breakfast was a little disappointing as didn't match up to the rest of the stayin terms of food (rubbery eggs, empty buffet) and service (pretty much ignored). Lift a bit scary, didn't feel very safe! Would definately come again as had a lovely relaxing evening and I really did LOVE the room, they just need to improve on the breakfast a bit.

Room Tip: Top floor!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex7ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights with a few friends and family as we were celebrating an engagement of my son. When you pull up outside the hotel it does look some what of an old school or library but when you enter it is very modern and contemporary. We had a room on the 4th floor and the view of the golf course was super. The room was tastefully furnished with quality furniture.
The bathroom was modern and had a great shower over the bath everything was very clean and as l do housekeeping myself l know what l am looking for.
We had an evening meal in the Brassiere on the Friday and the meal was well presented and good. Saturday morning breakfast was very good and was cooked to order and it arrived very quickly. Unfortunately the sunday morning was not quite so good due to there being a few more guests because of a wedding in the hotel. The waitress was very slow clearing tables and providing us with clean cutlery etc, the breakfast was buffet style which was just as good as the previous day but it was just the staff that let it down. My daughter works as a waitress in a big holiday resort and she commented that the staff weren't overly friendly.
We would still recommend this hotel as for £55 a night including breakfast it was very good value. We will return when visiting family again in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoptonRedjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

From beginning to end our stay was faultless. the staff, room and service were fantastic and having had short stays in many local hotels in comparison this one was by far the best! The view from the room was breathtaking and as there was a balcony could be enjoyed to the fullest. Upon arriving we had our reservations about what our stay was going to be like as the outside decor was rather dated and worn but the rooms and resteraunt were modern, well kept and inviting. We would highly recommend this hotel for a business or leisure trip, excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights on business so wasn't expecting too much and from the outside I must admit it looked a little mediocre. But once inside it was a fantastic experience from start to finish. The check in staff were extremely polite and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was simply fantastic, you can tell the hotel has recently been refurbished as the style and decor is very impressive. I had doors out to a balcony with an amazing view of the golf course. Very relaxing at the end of a busy day!
The only down side for me was the room service selection wasn't great and food was mediocre, although the breakfast in the restaurant was truly 1st class.
A triumph all round, when in Grimsby make sure you stay here!

Room Tip: I think all rooms overlook the golf course, make sure you book one with a balcony!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily_collison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
160 reviews
1.3 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
2.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humber Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humber Royal Hotel

Address: Little Coates Road, Grimsby DN34 4LX, England (Formerly Elizabeth Hotel Grimsby)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: £46 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Humber Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Humber Royal offers free Wi-Fi and free ample private parking. The town centre is a 5-minute drive away, while the coast is only 15 minutes away.The contemporary bedrooms assure you of a restful night's sleep and a refreshing start to the day. Relax with stunning views across the fairways of Grimsby Golf Club from your own balcony.Each en suite room at Humber Royal Hotel features flat screen TV and tea/coffee. Most rooms have balconies, overlooking Grimsby's 18-hole golf course.The Brasserie serves locally sourced food cooked to order, and an extensive wine list offering the classics and some exclusive alternatives. There is a terrace area offering fabulous views.The staff are friendly and welcoming, and 24-hour room service is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Humber Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing