We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellence, super comfy and modern, beautiful food.”
Review of Humber Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Humber Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

On a recent weekend stay for a friends wedding ;
No faults here, excellent all round.
The welcome from Sandy at reception was warm, pleasant and polite and information given by her for places to see was greatfully received.
The food was beautiful, the beds comfy and the rooms super modern, clean and fresh with wifi, flat screen tv etc.
I would definatley stay again and recommend to all staying in and around Grimsby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest
It was good to read your review and to know that you would recommend us to other potential visitors to Grimsby. I’m pleased that you received a warm welcome from Sandy and experienced a good night’s sleep in our well appointed bedrooms as well as a beautiful meal. Looking forward to seeing you again when you return to Grimsby.
Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

I recently had a very pleasant stay at the Humber Royal Hotel on Littlecoates Road Grimsby. The trip to Grimsby was for business purposes and the hotel itself was a perfect location meeting all my requirements. Location is ideal as it is situated on the western edge of the north eastern town of Grimsby making the trip in and out of Grimsby very easy, yet placing me close enough to the town centre to access all amenities.
The Hotel is easily 4 star quality and its somewhat dated exterior architecture belies the bespoke quality of the interior. The hotel’s careful decor has been constructed to give an immediate impression of quality with a modern and fresh feel. Materials are earthy and rich utilising depth of colour to covey quality. The rooms are all very well appointed and offer a refreshingly calming minimalist layout. So often these day hotels either try to pack too much colour or furniture into a room that only leaves you feeling tiered or visually offended just looking at it. But the Humber Royal have crafted rooms that are comfortable and leave you feeling relaxed, through the use of rich colour and textures with a feeling of pampered comfort.
I took advantage of the hotel restaurant The Brassiere not because it was the easy option but because the menu was inviting and the reviews are excellent. I was not let down, the food was excellent and prepared to perfection but, there is one thing that made this stay stand out beyond just a good hotel providing good food. The service is the jewel in the crown of this hotel, immediately on arrival we were expected, greeted and welcomed. We were made to feel like we were probably the most important customer they were having on this day, and this feeling persisted throughout the stay. The staff at the hotel obviously work very well together as a team and get along as friends and this is conveyed to the customers in their actions, leaving the customer with a feeling of being amongst friends and in a very convivial atmosphere. It is easy to applaud or criticise a hotel, restaurant etc for their good or bad service but we are a society that easily tips bad service and does not readily shout or compliment exceptional service. So, let me shout it right now The Humber Royal is worth shouting about as a quality hotel, who provide excellence in service and food but, it is their commitment to the customer that impresses, well done to you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest
I really don’t know what to say – your review has overwhelmed me! Your comments summarise what we are about so accurately, from the quality of our product, to our locally sourced and passionately produced menus to most importantly, the team of special people who really do care about the customers we serve. It is so encouraging knowing that we’re ticking the right boxes on so many counts, comment such as yours really encourage other guests to cross our threshold – many, many thanks for shouting about it!
Best wishes

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

On arrival the hotel looks like a 60's institution......but what lies inside is modern, comfortable and very pleasing. The rooms overlook the golf course and have balconiesc where you can step out for a breath of fresh air. My only criticism would be the fire doors are VERY noisy and the breakfast wasn't very hot. Otherwise a pleasant stay at a reasonable price!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlew1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest
Thanks for seeing past our not too pretty exterior and for highlighting out product on TripAdvisor. I’ll certainly investigate your comments regarding breakfast and fire doors and make changes where possible. Good to know that you enjoyed your stay, we do aim to offer value for money.
Hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The staff here really could not have been more helpful - from early check in to breakfast before early departure at 7am they could not have done more. The food was excellent and rooms comfortable and recently refurbished. Would definitely recommend if staying overnight in Grimsby.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest
My sincere thanks to you for positing a review onto TripAdvisor. It’s always rewarding to receive feedback about the team at the hotel as it is ‘people’ who make the difference. Many thanks for your recommendation – hopefully we’ll see you again when you next visit Grimsby.
Kind regards

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We have just enjoyed a fab night at the Humber royal for their first Comedy club evening. Very well organised and ran very smoothly. Excellent comedians and the 2 course buffet was ok too. Didn't stay the night as only live 5 mins away but have stayed before for my sons wedding last year (and for my own wedding 27 years ago......much has changed since then!!) so know that the rooms and breakfast are very nice x

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOJOCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest
It’s great to hear that you attended the launch of our Comedy Club last week and appear to have really enjoyed the event. This is something new that we thought we’d bring to Grimsby on a Thursday night, so many thanks for helping to spread the word. I really appreciate your comments about the hotel in general and hope to see you in the future at other such events.
Best wishes

Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Attended a wedding few week ago, it was nicely done for the couple for the whole event & the wedding coordinator was trying to do his best to ensure all going well on the day as we can see he was running around coordinates everything. the outside building really not a pretty site, quite a put off if you dont go inside. as soon as you enter, there're completely different. modern deco & trendy, bedroom was very comfortable & nice decorated including the bathroom was quite nice.

Breakfast was good selection despite hot foods run out during rush hours, but was refilled very quickly & overall service was very good.

only let down is the bar service staff, service not only slow but few time we been told not able to get a drink at main bar because we were with the wedding group. and our friend been told to go to the banquet bar to order her drink, only been told it is close that she is not being serve that have to go back to main bar!! and my partner have to insist being serve at main bar because we dont want to go to the banquet area, yet.

Room Tip: higher floor away from banquet room if you want a good night sleep especially at weekend as hotel he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear guest
Many thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor – good to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your time with us. Many thanks for your feedback concerning the confusion you encountered with regard to Brasserie and Function bar service times – I’ll certainly share your comments with my Food & Beverage Manager to ensure we always make it easy for guests to receive service and purchase drinks from us.

Kind regards
Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Would like to thank Darron very much for the way that the wedding of Nikki and Mark went this weekend. Father of the bride and I had a fantastic time, the service for the wedding party was excellent, and would recommend to anyone who is getting married. Food was excellent both at the wedding and also breakfast and dinner in the brassiere.

Best wishes and thank you Darron once again for making the wedding of Nikki and Mark a special day.

April & Malcolm Scales

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humberab, General Manager at Humber Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear guest
I was thrilled to read your review, as were the rest of the team, particularly Darron, our Food and Beverage Manager. He really cares about each individual wedding and takes ownership for ensuring all goes to plan on the day. It sounds like you had a wonderful wedding from start to finish – thank you so much for putting your recommendations onto TripAdvisor, the comments of our valued customers really do help drive our business forward. I trust we will welcome you to the hotel on future occasions.

Best wishes
Anne Bennett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
3.1 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
2.2 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
228 reviews
1.3 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
1.2 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grimsby
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humber Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humber Royal Hotel

Address: Little Coates Road, Grimsby DN34 4LX, England (Formerly Elizabeth Hotel Grimsby)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: £48 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Humber Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Humber Royal offers free Wi-Fi and free ample private parking. The town centre is a 5-minute drive away, while the coast is only 15 minutes away.The contemporary bedrooms assure you of a restful night's sleep and a refreshing start to the day. Relax with stunning views across the fairways of Grimsby Golf Club from your own balcony.Each en suite room at Humber Royal Hotel features flat screen TV and tea/coffee. Most rooms have balconies, overlooking Grimsby's 18-hole golf course.The Brasserie serves locally sourced food cooked to order, and an extensive wine list offering the classics and some exclusive alternatives. There is a terrace area offering fabulous views.The staff are friendly and welcoming, and 24-hour room service is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Humber Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing