We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Wait & Poor Food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Man Pub

The Green Man Pub
Ranked #32 of 188 Restaurants in Grimsby
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long Wait & Poor Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We heard good reviews about this place so decided to pop in Saturday lunch time on our way shopping in Grimsby. We ordered our food and have to point out were very basic choices. All day small breakfast and lasagne. After an hour and a a quarter we had to ask when these meals would arrive. We were told they were on their way.

My lasagne was stone cold in the middle, hard and brittle round the edges and absolutely tasteless. The jacket potato was soft in the middle and raw on the outside. The garlic bread was burnt and the only edible part was the salad.

The breakfast was edible but only warm. Everything on the plate was so pale and uninteresting. I have a feeling these meals had been hanging around somewhere for the lack of enough staff to serve them. We only saw 2 girls both serving behind the bar and doing waitress service and have to say did there best and were very pleasant.

We would never eat there again and it ruined the time we could have spent elsewhere having what should have been a treat. Two hours totally wasted for nothing. We were still hungry and had lost our shopping time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hollyforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    45
    24
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fair food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

If you want a place to go for average food at a decent price, then this is the place. We've been a couple of times and the second experience was not as good as the first. Service was slow and staff forgetful. But what you pay for is what you get.
Ok place if you want a quick drink and some food!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyhackLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best pub in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I travel 12 miles to use this pub.i find the meals and service second to none not only are they meals tasty but they are substantial and great value for money . The current staff are doing a great job and very professional in particular danielle real gem of a pub just wish I lived nearer

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, NE Lincs, UK
Level Contributor
164 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Pretty decent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Quite some time since we last visited The Green Man, having been regular visitors when the children were younger. On this occasion, we had two grandchildren with us so that demonstrates the passage of time! It seemed we'd done the right thing by booking a table as the place was buzzing within a short time of arriving. An extensive choice of standard pub food on the menu and although 7 of us all had something different, the time from ordering to serving was very acceptable, impressive given how busy was the place.

Marstons Pedigree was very palatable and the Pinot Grigio good. Generally good reactions from the family to the standard of food Excellent grounds for younger ones to play. The table felt a little sticky but overall pretty clean. We'd probably return on another occasion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bizarre57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Green Man Good Stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Working down here and came across this pub typical pub food tided into a set menu all pre delivered and heated up bar the steaks but good value for money in pleasant surroundings, nothing special but perfectly acceptable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterRed64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Green Man Pub also viewed

Grimsby, Lincolnshire
Keelby, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Green Man Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing