We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Beeches Restaurant

Beeches Restaurant
Ranked #143 of 193 Restaurants in Grimsby
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The setting of the restaurant was lovely. The staff were very nice and accomodating. Both the lamb and chicken dishes I had were delicious. The menu was inviting, really well put together and the food sounded great. Overall having eaten there a couple of times I wouldn't say that the food was exceptional (based on previous reviews) but rather average. Maybe I just had bad luck as the other reviews read well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DollDiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    14
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We visited The Beeches Brasserie as a party of four for a celebration meal. We were surprised to find that on a Saturday night we were the only people in the restaurant, which unfortunately meant a lack of atmosphere. Whilst the food was edible, it certainly wasn't good and there were some strange combinations amongst the veg offerings. Despite the fact that we were on a 2:1 ratio with the waiting staff, our food had clearly been left on the pass for quite some time before it arrived at our table as it was cool and a skin had formed on all of our sauces. We ordered wine in the bar area before going through to the table and it didn't arrive at the table until after we finished our starters.
Overall, we felt disappointed after the great things that we had heard about the Brasserie and the celebrations were dampened by our experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MortimerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic food at a good price”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The food was surprisingly good - in fact the standard was exceptional for the price. Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ruby Wedding Anniversary Celebration Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Excellent food and service by friendly and helpful staff. 25 guests and everything organised to perfection from welcoming aperitifs to cutting and serving of cake and champagne following meal.
Lovely table decorations and having the dining room to ourselves made it so special; nothing too much trouble for the staff. The Beeches made it a really special anniversary lunch and a day to remember.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DDavies47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bravo”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

(put review up for hotel side but wanted to write a seperate one regarding food)
Firstly What an amazing menu so thoughtfully put together it covered everyone's preferences aswell.
The food was clearly high quality and beautifully prepared. at £24.95 for three courses the value was great. we ate the terrine and duck starters and followed it up by chicken and pork fillet.
5* without a shadow of a doubt i wish i had more time to sample the rest of the menu :(.
The waiter offered us desert menus which we wasn't sure on as we was full but he sold us the dream of a perfect homemade Banoffee Pie! so were ordered two and it met all expectations.
wen we stop at the hotel again we shall defiantly be booking a table!!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beeches Restaurant also viewed

Grimsby, Lincolnshire
Grimsby, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Beeches Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing