We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasently surprised”
Review of The Beeches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beeches Hotel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“pleasently surprised”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed here with family for a funeral wake, Hotel is lovely the room was large and clean. The buffet food was delicious and plenty of it. Breakfast in the morning was lovely there was a lot of choice with fresh juice, cereal and fruit and then a choice of cooked breakfasts. The staff were very welcoming and nothing was ever to much trouble. Would stay here again when visiting family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princesssascha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    68
    36
    29
    31
See reviews for
64
75
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We paid £90 a nite for a large double room, 2 adults, 2 Kids.

Food was GREAT (service was awful on the last nite.... took an hour for desserts)

However apart from that the place is about the best you will get in Grimsby!

Many thanks, Great Mgr and bar man!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank hpw2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We had a double room that was well equipped but not as large as it could have been. On a cold day, heating came on about 4.30 pm. The evening meal in the brasserie was very good with a wide choice of meat and fish dishes and a reasonable level of service for freshly cooked food. There is a small bar but it has no real ale. The lounge area where drinks are taken is well furnished and comfortable. Breakfast is served in the conservatory and was standard fare but well presented and very acceptable. The buiding was once a hospice and was converted to a hotel a few years ago. In a town with few good hotels, this one, in a suburb a couple of miles from the town centre, is a welcome addition to available accommodation for business and pleasure trips. The overall cost was reasonable but certainly not cheap. If anything, the cost of the food was more reasonable than that of the room.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are possibly larger than those upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iffley094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were greeted with a pleasant smile at Reception and directed to where we needed to go where a lovely young lady invited us to take a seat or go directly through to the table, she was extremely pleasant and welcoming and throughout did an excellent job!

The tables are in a conservatory overlooking an outdoor seating area with lots of lovely shrubs and mirrors on the surrounding walls, this was in the process of getting a much needed tidy up and was looking lovely by the time we left.

We received our double-stand plate of food which included six finger sandwiches, 4 fingers of cake and two scones with cream and a pot of jam. There were two wholemeal and four white bread sandwiches which were fresh and each had a different filling. I found the prawn one lacked flavour and needed some salt and pepper to perk it up and most of the ham one I received was gristly, the bit of ham that was edible was lovely so that was a shame.

The cakes were delicious, two were fresh cream Victoria sandwich and two carrot cake and no complaints there. As we drink different varieties we each received a nice pot of tea and fresh boiled water was readily supplied to add to this. We took the scones home to enjoy for supper but unfortunately they were past there best, very dry and discarded.

We had received a Groupon voucher as a gift which cost £10 for two of us which I think was a fair price for what was provided I would not have been at all happy with the stated £25 which one would normally have had to pay! One other point was the teacups which were of the large round coffee cup variety and really not the best for the meal provided and the dishwasher is not leaving them as sparkling as it might.

One the whole we enjoyed our visit and have to say that the staff and the surroundings could not be faulted. However having enjoyed Afternoon Tea at other establishments and with the small lacks as stated I feel that this experience, with just some small adjustments, could have been better.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeeGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Rooms were clean and had recently been refurbished. The only problem was that the walls were very thin and you could hear everything from rooms next door - including a 3 hour telephone call late at night!
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was well presented and very enjoyable. There were a good range of options on the menu and dietry requirements didn't seem to be a problem.
Don't be put off by the entrance to the hotel. It is small and not as well presented as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I arrived at the hotel to look after my wife who had been taken ill. The staff we incredibly supportive - making breakfast out of hours for us. Offering advice and directing us to local resources.
There was no fuss - just practical care.
The room was brght, modern and scrupulously clean. There's not much noise from the roads nearby, and there are shops very close for convenience.
Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

After visiting The Beeches for afternoon tea, i would like to say what a lovely experince it was . What a delightful way to spend an afternoon. Our food and drinks were perfect and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We would recommend the experience and will definately do it again .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
1.9 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grimsby
391 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
88 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
3.1 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Hotel

Property: The Beeches Hotel
Address: 42 Waltham Road | Scartho, Grimsby DN33 2LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beeches Hotel is an 18 bedroom hotel with a contemporary bar & bistro. All 18 bedrooms are en-suite, comfortable & cleaned to a high standard. The 18 bedrooms consist of doubles & twins and a further option of z-beds or travel cots are available on request & we have rooms on ground floor. We have a warm, welcoming and comfortable bar & lounge area where you can enjoy a variety of food & drinks prepared in our bar & kitchen. Our restaurant & bar is decorated with fresh flowers & has a real fire. For 2014 we have a new exciting & fresh menu. We are open for lunches & afternoon teas made up of cakes made in house & fresh sandwiches. We also have a conservatory which is available for conference & banqueting events & has an excellent outside patio which has the sun all day. New for 2014 we also offer golf packages so if you are looking for a value for money golf weekend we will organise all of this for you. The Beeches Hotel will fulfill the requests of any of our guest so please ask. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Hotel Grimsby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing