We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel rubbish service”
Review of Millfields Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Millfields Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel rubbish service”
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

Great hotel but phoned Reception on 1st night to order breakfast in room and was told they were short staffed so if We wanted breakfast in our room we would have to come and get it ourself ! Not good when you have a special occasion !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiffgir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    63
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
43
45
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Visited the bar restaurant at Millfields for an early evening meal. Although the venue appeared busy we found a table before ordering drinks & food from the bar with our table number.
The bar stocked a good choice of real ale and the food menu was varied.
The food itself was of good quality but we waited a little too long for the food to arrive. We can generally allow for this though for we would rather have better quality than quick microwave produced service.

Once we finished our main course food we sat with our empty plates for some considerable time before a waitress took them away. We weren't asked if we would like to see a desert menu which we were expecting at that point. In eager anticipation we waited for a good while longer...

By now we had also now finished our drinks. Still no sign of a desert choice so we gave up, paid our bill at the bar and left. Somewhat perplexed as some other diner's were given desert choice! Obviously dissapointed as we expected a higher level of customer service at this particular venue. One waitress on duty for a busy Friday evening was perhaps an underlying cause to the poor service but no excuse.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This review pertains to the restaurant rather than the hotel. The food was excellent with lovely and original vegetarian options. The service was also excellent, with our host being very friendly, helpful and humorous. A good selction of real ales also helped the evening along nicely (well, for me anyway, my friends weren't drinking alcohol). A lovely restaurant to dine in, and great value for money with various offers to choose from.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SirMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood uk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

One nights stay at the Millfields was great, we could have stayed longer.
the room was comfortable, bed gave us a great nights sleep and in the morning breakfast was served in the restaurant with a waitress taking our order rather than a self serve.
We highly recomend this hotel which also has squash courts - for anyone who likes playing.

Room Tip: stayed in room 38 - slept very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chadster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night and everything was excellent. The staff were friendly and welcoming. Our room was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The beer was good as was the food and 10% discounts for guests was a nice touch we have not had elsewhere.
There was plenty of variety for breakfast of which you could have as much as you wanted: cereal, fruit, toast, Full english or scrambled eggs and smoked salmon.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joolz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel on a business trip and every member of the staff was helpful, friendly and courteous. My room was very large with ample facilities and a very comfortable bed.The food menu offered sufficient choice for all tastes and the lunches I had there were appetising and nourishing. There was plenty of opportunity to order your chosen breakfast and/or select other items from the small buffet. As I was in Grimsby, I ate mainly fish. If you are carrying a great deal of heavy luggage, there are steps and stairs to negotiate both inside and outside. This hotel was more than adequate for the days I spent in Grimsby, and I would happily return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella-Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2012

To be fair the staff were very polite and friendly and the rooms were deserving of a 3 star rating. The breakfast was enjoyable and very quickly served, my only faults with the hotel was the stench of fish was unbearable and the atmosphere of the bar could be cut with a knife. This is a good place to stay go straight to sleep and get up for breakfast and go. For atmosphere, entertaining or for a functions I'd personally be very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starko152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
1.2 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grimsby
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
127 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
3.3 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millfields Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millfields Hotel

Property: Millfields Hotel
Address: Millfields Hotel 53 Bargate, Grimsby DN34 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Millfields Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Millfields Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millfields Hotel Grimsby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing