We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch”
Review of Millfields Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Millfields Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have been here in the past for private parties and weddings but this is the first time we have been just for a meal. the food was good and the staff very pleasant. It was quite busy but we didn't have to wait to long to be seated overall a good meal at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Had a fine one-night stay in the Rafters Suite. It's in the older main building and up three flights of stairs, so a bit of a climb if you're getting on a bit. The suite is well appointed, a little lacking in natural light (as it's in the roof-space, effectively) but very comfortable with excellent facilities. There's a little banging from the doors one level down.

The kitchens were undergoing refurbishment, so there was only a limited meals menu. The breakfast was fine and the bar snack very hot (if a little on the dear side). Service was OK. Reception friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrMartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My Son and I stayed over last Tuesday night. We had a lovely welcome after a long drive from London. The food was lovely, it was curry night and they had run out of some of the side dishes but bearing in mind it was near 9 in the evening was not surprising, however the food was lovely. The room was a bit warm but once we turned the heating done was fine. Breakfast was great and when I asked for an extension on checking out they assisted with no problems would stay again. staff were very friendly and helpful

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We had our Wedding on the 1st February 2014, after the Wedding upstairs in the Ceremony Room we were welcomed with drinks in the Bar before going into the Orangery for our Wedding Buffet. The service from the warm and friendly staff was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. A special mention to Luke Daines who had only taken over the job of Restaurant Manager on the 16th January ( which did worry us slightly!). He was professional with excellent listening skills and made us feel special. If there was anything to complain about it was the man behind the Bar at the end of the night he was quite rude when we asked for more service it was 12.30am and there was about eight of us!! I found out subsequently that he is the Manager.... he could take a few tips from Luke and the other members of staff for hospitality!!

Room Tip: Don't know we had the Bridal Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aligy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I own and operate three seasonal businesses in Massachusetts. Every January I come to Grimsby to recruit students to come over and work for the summer. For my past three trips I have stayed at Millfields. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant is excellent. The bar is cozy and fun. And, they have an excellent fitness room. However, the best thing Millfields has going for it is it's staff. I recognize many from previous trips. Across the board they are very friendly and will go out their way for you! I will Definately staff here in the future. PS When you are in the bar say hello to Joanne. She is a very nice young lady.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank MobyDicks33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Where to start, having attended a few weddings and christenings at this beautiful hotel I can honestly say its a home from home! Having moved away from Grimsby some 5 years ago to Manchester, it really was a no brainier as to where to have my own wedding! All the staff are more like family catering for all your needs, no request too much trouble!! Food amazing as always, even when feeding 70 hungry wedding-goers!! The setting of the main dining room is comfortable and allows you to mingle with ease! Bedrooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is the best I've had in a hotel, and I've stayed in a few Radissons!! All in all if your looking for a venue for your wedding,christening or just a long overdue family meal don't hesitate to come to Millfields!!
There is no swimming pool I just got a bit click happy! Oops,,

Room Tip: Push the boat out and go for the coach house 11!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

It was our 1st time and we had the Christmas Gala Dinner. it was very good, good quality food and good service. Plates where hot and the presentation was very good. The menu was a little limited, but still good choices to be had and suits every taste buds. The ambiance wasn't awfully good, but it was a Monday night, so we brought our own entrainment to the table with our own banter and laughs. The xmas crackers where poor quality and not worth putting on the table! So, overall a good meal, with good service and not overly priced! The toilet area is really drab and suprised that its not more of a feature!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOuchPoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grimsby hotels
1.2 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#4 of 10 in Grimsby
450 reviews
4 mi away
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#1 of 10 in Grimsby
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
0.6 mi away
The St. James Hotel Grimsby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millfields Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millfields Hotel

Address: Millfields Hotel 53 Bargate, Grimsby DN34 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millfields Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Millfields Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millfields Hotel Grimsby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing