We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is this B & B not 5-star Gold??”
Review of Oak House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horncastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak House
Ranked #8 of 8 Horncastle B&B and Inns
Kinross
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why is this B & B not 5-star Gold??”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of three nights at this fantastic establishment. The reception and welcome was heartwarming. The accommodation was immaculate, comfortable with every eventuality catered for. The decor was most tasteful without being fussy and we loved the real wood furniture which gave a sense of tradition and well-being. The breakfast was something to die for and satisfied every taste. My better half had the porridge one morning and swears that it was the best ever. The lady owner of this establishment deserves our highest recommendation for the warmth and friendliness of our welcome and making our stay so enjoyable. One of the best, if not the best B & B we have ever stayed at. Don't miss it and the pleasureable experience it will afford you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonMacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I had an excellent stay at the Oak House on Jubilee Weekend, and was very warmly received by the owner, and with a nice cup of coffee on arrival. It's a lovely place, built in a quiet community neighborhood (getting ready for a street party for the Jubliee!!). The room was spotless, and aa lovely nights sleep!!. I strongly recommend this house, and I hope I will be able to return there soon. Thank you for a lovely stay Jo!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Oak House in May. Room was very comfortable ,Jonquil is a great host with welcome scones and tea on arrival. Good knowledge of surrounding areas , lovely lady great ambassador for Horncastle. If you were not happy here you are the problem not the host.
Thanks Jo ,
Graham & Jan

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pujaut, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Hello, I had an excellent stay at the Oak House last week, very well-received by the owner. It is a lovely and typically english place, built in a quiet neighborhood close to shops and restaurants. I strongly recommend this house and I hope I will be able to return there.
Horncastle is also a nice village, located on the main road from Lincoln to the sea. It could be an excellent choice for your next holiday !
Regards. Alexandre B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed for one night last weekend what a lovely quiet place to stay. The welcoming afternoon tea and cake was lovely, the room was as comfortable and cosy as could be and breakfast - not for dieters, all in all a lovely night away from home, will go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I recently stayed at Oak House for four nights. This was my third visit and when visiting an old friend in Horncastle I would not dream of staying elsewhere. My ensuite room was very well appointed and the bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. It s lovely to come down in the morning to an excellent breakfast with home made bread. Jonquil goes out of her way to make her guests feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Only a short walk to the town centre with good bus services to Lincoln, Skegness and other towns. I look forward to my next visit.

J of Eaast Sussex

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Welcoming, Spotlessly clean and must be one of the best breakfasts around. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Des W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horncastle
0.4 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
6.0 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magpies Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Bainland Lodge Park
Bainland Lodge Park
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Oak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak House

Property: Oak House
Address: 26 Harrison Close, Horncastle LN9 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Horncastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Horncastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Oak House Horncastle, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing