We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Oak House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horncastle
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak House
Ranked #8 of 8 Horncastle B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed one night at this BnB and were made to feel very welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was made with delicious local produce. Jo went above and beyond to ensure we had a great stay for which we are very grateful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenboz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed 1 night at this excellent B&B, owner and hostess Jo was very friendly, accommodating and welcoming, tea and cake on arrival. We needed an early start the next day, no problem for Jo who cooked us a lovely breakfast with everything we wanted. Lots of nearby evening eating places within a short walk. Altogether a great B&B, would definitely recommend and use again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We only stayed for one night but from start to finish it was so 'homely'. Our hostess Jo was a true lady in every sense of the word. She was so open and friendly when we arrived; greeting us with a delicious walnut cake and pot of tea which went down a treat. Our room was wonderful and the locally sourced produce for breakfast was delicious and definitely worth waiting for. The homemade Damson and Apricot Jam were mouthwatering, and the lovely Jo sent us home with another sampling of the Damson Jam. We hope the next time we visit Horncastle we will be lucky enough to be able to stay again and we are already looking forward to it. The hospitality and the lovely Jo are truly second to none. It's really feels like 'home from home'.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASElliott290969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Like all you previous contributors I have to say this is truly great. We stayed for just two nights, but would have liked to stay longer. Jo greeted us on arrival with a welcome pot of tea and a delicious chocolate cake. We were made comfortable in the super lounge while she found out what she could do for us. She advised of all the local restaurants and checked what time we wanted breakfast and what we wanted to eat. In our bedroom which was excellent, being quite roomy, was a well stocked hospitality tray. Adjacent was the en-suite bathroom which was well stocked with towels and toiletries (liked the frog theme) and very hot water. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep in perfect quietness. Breakfast deserves a review of its own. After starting with fresh fruit and cereal, came the cooked delight. The bacon was the best I have ever tasted and really well cooked, as was the egg and tomato (all we wanted although we were offered much more). The toast was hot and fresh and Jo was disappointed we didn't want to eat more, but we had had enough to last to lunchtime. Despite being a busy lady Jo made sure we had all the assistance she could possibly provide. We intend to return if Jo can fit us in. Really good value for the price charged and fully deserves it's 5 star rating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at the Oak House and feel lucky to have found this excellent little bed and breakfast. My hostess Jo is a lovely, friendly lady who made me feel very welcome on arrival and throughout my stay. Jo provided a beautiful breakfast for me each morning and excellent service as well as a friendly smile. I would certainly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone. It's a little gem in Horncastle

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibraryJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We only stayed for one night as we were over visiting relations. Jo, our hostess, knows exactly what is needed for a pleasant stay. We Will be back when we are next over, unless she is already full, as she deserves to be. Nick and Wendy, North Wales

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoozleNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband and I have just had the pleasure of staying for two nights at this wonderful establishment. Our host jo, was a very pleasant lady, who took time out to talk when we arrived, and it was lovely to be greeted with a welcoming cuppa, and a beautiful, mouthwatering homemade Victoria sponge. After chatting to us about the fact we had come to search the local antique shops for something in particular she produced a local map, with certain shops marked where she was sure we would find what we were looking for, and true to her word when we went exploring we did indeed find exactly what we were looking for. Our bedroom was very clean, furnished with antiques, with a very large separate en suite shower room. A very comfortable bed, with beautiful cotton sheets, made our nights truly restfull.Jo is a very knowledgeable lady, who makes time for her guests, and produces the most wonderful breakfasts, which keep you going all day long. If we are ever back in this location, there is only one place I would want to stay again, Oak House!! It is a real treasure.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Avril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horncastle
0.4 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
6.0 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
936 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magpies Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak House

Property: Oak House
Address: 26 Harrison Close, Horncastle LN9 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Horncastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Horncastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Oak House Horncastle, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing