We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best sandwiches ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Blue Bell Inn

The Blue Bell Inn
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We come here fairly often and always thoroughly enjoy the whole experience, from the excellent, friendly service, to the delicious food!

If you go on a lunch time (other than Sunday), try their sandwiches. The bread is what I call proper bread (none of the sliced supermarket rubbish) and the fillings are always generous, plus add a few home-made chips.

Lovely pub and great staff!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    64
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A cut above the usual pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My son's took me to the Blue Bell for Mother's Day. We chose to go for the evening meal as we thought it would be a bit less frantic. We were surprised to find that only one of the dishes on the menu was unavailable and had a really good meal. The service was pleasant and quick and the quality of the food was, as usual, very good. The pub itself has a warm and welcomong atmosphere and we had a good red wine from the wine list. We will certainly be back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LTD54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Pure booked a group of 24 a few days before and very accommodating. Turned up 30 mins early and they were great. Food is not usual pub food but something for everyone on the menu and reasonable prices. Very clean looking food and very tasty. Would definitely return if we were in the area. Great local walks so stopping by the Blue Bell Inn would be a great choice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrissieMackie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Evening with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We drive to the \Blue Bell on winters evening. We arrived to w very warm welcome from the Landlady who introduced us to the Chef who would be coking our meal tonight. We were shown to our table in the room with a good fire going. Our meal arrived to gasp from us all as to the size of the meal. Both my husband and myself couldn't finish it all as it was so large but was an excellent meal. We all had sweets which were as good as the meal.
We will ne soon.again .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank labaker-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
458 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 574 helpful votes
“A very mixed Sunday lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were taken here by friends and to be honest had a mixed bag experience!
This really surprised us as we'd been before and found it to be excellent.
We all really enjoyed our starters, but oh dear, the mains were a totally different story!
2 of us had the delicious black pudding, pulled pork and chorizo starter, with 1 having the crab thermidor (too much brown meat, so quite strong in flavour) and the other had the fish cake, which she said was very nice.
But it was the mains that really surprised us!
The ladies went for the liver and mash, but the liver hadn't been cooked!! It was stringy and horrible!
When we told the waitress she immediately took the dishes away, apologised profusely and took them back to the kitchen.
She came back, still apologising, and said the chef had told her the liver was "pink" - it wasn't, it wasn't cooked properly!
She asked if they wanted anything else instead and the ladies chose the fish and chips.
When the fish came they found the batter to be a little soggy, but took this to be because they'd rushed it out. The fish itself was fine.
I had the delicious steak and ale pie - never had so much meat! - but the pastry was slightly disappointing and appeared to be frozen puff pastry!
Our friend had the homemade burger and he said it was great and he couldn't fault it.
Needless to say we felt a little flat so didn't have desserts or coffee.
To be honest the Blue Bell couldn't have been fairer to us when we came to pay the bill!
They didn't charge for the liver and gave the ladies their fish for nothing.
One couldn't have asked for more - great customer care and service!
We were very surprised as we'd been before and found it to be excellent on all counts.
Let's hope our next visit is back to their normally high standards!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Bell Inn also viewed

Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Blue Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing