We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“relaxing week away with dogs”

Review of Old Barn Cottages

View from the lake.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the lake.
Old Barn Cottages Country style kitchen in The Granary.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
View from the lake.
Old Barn Cottages
Country style kitchen in The Granary.
The Granary bedroom.
Interior view of The Granary.
Children are very welcome.
Rural tranquility.
Patio view.
Top quality linen in all bedrooms.
The Granary
Cosy corner of The Stable living room.
Single bedroom in The Stable
Granary living room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Horncastle, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
travellee...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relaxing week away with dogs”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Granary Cottage which was one of three cottages which had been really well converted from a barn.
The best thing for us was that there was a wood within the garden...so the dogs could have their 1st walk,even with me in pajamas.However the nearby farmer didn't appreciate dogs, & access to his field was too easy- so the dogs had to be escorted- but very lovely & containable.
Nearby Horncastle is a lovely town...lots of pubs,& dogs were welcome in those we visited

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wood in the garden
Liked least: TV sound very poor...but mentioned this to owners,who said they would look into it
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loo4Dog
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in interesting building.”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We were travelling from the Midlands to collect a car from Grimsby. Decided to make a weekend of it, and were lucky to find the Chaffhouse at Old Barn Cottages for three nights.
We are so pleased we did! The Chaffhouse was extremely clean, comfortable, with everything we needed to spend a (wet at times) weekend there with our two large dogs.
The woods only a few steps away were great for walking the dogs, and the views of surrounding countryside very relaxing. As city dwellers, we were amazed by the number of stars visible at night in this wonderful spot.
We took a trip to the coast, visiting Skegness - not quite our place, but not far it you wanted it, and Sutton on Sea, an old fashioned seaside resort. We also visited Donna Nook, and were thrilled to be there at this time of the year as we were able to see mother seals with newborn pups.
We would love to go back and explore the area a bit more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, clean, nearby woods for dogs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janemajor...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Past its prime”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed in the Stables cottage, we were greeted with uneven and loose paving slab steps up to the entrance of the cottage, not very good for my elderly mother-in-law. The cottage was extremely dusty with large cobwebs on the beams, ceilings and corners of the rooms. The wardrobe in the main bedroom was so smelly we didnt dare put our clothes in it.
The wardrobe in the single room was extremely dusty inside and out. There was a single chair in the lounge that was so badly stained the owners had thrown a throw over it to hide the state of it. The lighting in the lounge/kitchen was the old type eco bulbs trying to shine some light out of a very old dusty/grubby lampshades. The beds were very uncomfortable the mattresses I would think had not been changed in over 10 years, you could feel the springs through the mattresses.
The owner provided lovely clean soft towels, and the bedding was nice and clean. I should think this cottage was a fantastic place to stay when it got its 4 stars back in 2004, but since then has gone badly down hill.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen T
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, perfect grounds for puppy.”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage was clean, spacious and had everything we needed. The grounds were great for early and late little walks with Spot the dog. Lovely views from the property, friendly owners who made us and our pup feel very welcome. Good base for touring Lincolnshire, with the Limewoods not too far away for longer walks. Very relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfetcion”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a 4 night stay in the Granary and right from when we pulled up to park to when we left Dan and Hiroko made it such an easy and pleasant stay. Our 2 dogs loved the walk through the wooded area and the massive lawned area, just a shame we had to return home so soon. But hopefully we will be back in 2014.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
Reviewed 5 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package!
Liked least: Nothing, we did`nt want to leave.
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;