We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a quick lunch ~”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We merely stopped here for a quick lunch. The main restaurant was full to overflowing (Saturday lunchtime) so we sat in the bar area. Very comfortable and not over-noisy. We both had an individual quiche with home-made coleslaw. The food was presented very well and was extremely tasty - just the right amount to keep us going on our trawl round the antique shops! Good service and good price too, so highly recommended. The building looks a little run down from the outside, but inside it is spotlessly clean and quite modern - very comfortable seating in the bar area, too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with work.
Room (double with a bath) was on the road side of the hotel - a bit of traffic noise but didn't keep me awake.
Excellent meal in evening - good menu choice - meal for under £10 and up to £20 also.
Breakfast was good - good range of foods.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Plenty for comfortable sofas for relaxing in bar in evening.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornhollio_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Goodday Cornhollio_21

Thank you for your recent review of the Admiral Rodney Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you had a good stay with us.

We appreciate the importance of a nice room and a nice meal after a long day at work, so it is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us whilst travelling with work.

We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you are in the area with work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed on New Years Eve, had dinner first which was lovely..8 of us all enjoyed our meals and we were served by friendly staff..then enjoyed the evenings entertainment with live music by a band called Gingersnap..The rooms were spotless and the only comment not positive was that you can hear any noise from the other guests in their rooms, but would recommend this hotel and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanEssex_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Good Day JanEssex_England.

Thank you for your kind review of the Admiral Rodney Hotel. We have received lots of great comments about New Year’s Eve, and it is great to see that you had a lovely time with us. With the special menu and the live band there was a great atmosphere around the hotel and it is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the night.

Kind Regards
Alison Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Lovely warm welcome, nothing too much trouble. All the staff were approachable, friendly and made our experience a memorable event. Food was good quality, service excellent. Rooms were spotless and well presented. Hoping to book for next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Good Day Valerie P

Thank you for your kind review of the Admiral Rodney Hotel. Our New Year’s Eve was a great night and it is lovely to hear that you had such a wonderful time. With our live band and a full restaurant there was a great atmosphere around the hotel, and the staff enjoyed it as much as the customers! Thank you for your high recommendation.

Kind Regards
Alison Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

First time at the hotel and was very impressed with the very well running of it . The dinner was very good and there was plenty of room between the tables so not sitting on top of very one. There was 5 people in our group and we only had 1 plate of veg for all 5 of us but noticed that the same amount of veg was being served to tables with only 2 or 3 people . I had cheese and biscuits for my dessert it was nice but would have been better if I was asked what cheese I wanted , but these were only minor things. Would book again for a Christmas dinner. The surrounding were very festive and all of the staff were very friendly and happy .

Room Tip: Book in the summer so you don't miss out . Very popular hotel for Christmas dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyhols46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Good Day Happyhois46.

Thank you for your kind review of the Admiral Rodney Hotel. We are all glad to hear that you had an enjoyable Christmas lunch with us, and your kind words about the staff were a pleasure to hear.

Kind Regards
Alison Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We used the hotel as a base for going to Lincoln Christmas market, drove to Metheringham station and then train to Lincoln.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the guy on reception couldn't have been more helpful ensuring we had located the car park and had a pleasant day.
Our room was clean and well presented and overlooked the rear patio area. It appears to be an old coaching inn and has some good features.
In the evening we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant, the food was very good, slightly high on price but well presented.
Breakfast was excellent and all the waiting and bar staff were really polite and enthusiastic. All in all a good stay, the only slight problem was a drain type smell overnight which I reported in the morning, the receptionist was most apologetic and said she would get it checked out.
We will return in the spring to have a further tour of Lincoln.

Room Tip: I would personally choose a room at the rear, probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Goodday Derek W,

Thankyou for your review of the Admiral Rodney Hotel. It is always great to hear the kind words of guests in relation to the Hotel and the staff. We are glad that you had a good stay with us whilst attending Lincoln Christmas market, which is always an enjoyable time in the area.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Alison Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed one night at this hotel this week whilst nearby with work. I normally stay in Woodhall Spa but the hotel was full, and I am so pleased it was! I will now always stay at the Admiral Rodney.

I paid the corporate rate and was given a very large and comfortable room. A bit hot, but I turned off the radiators and opened the windows.

I ate in the hotel and, though I would not describe the menu as extensive had a very good steak, done exactly as I asked it to be. I asked for veg and mash instead of the usual accompaniments which was no problem. Veg arrived and I had two bowls with 5 or 6 different perfectly cooked veg. Extremely smiley pleasant service from the waitress.

Bed was comfortable and the water pressure in the shower and bath, in the morning was very good.
Breakfast was nothing fancy, but a pleasant cooked breakfast done for me.
Free fast wifi and plenty of parking.
Would I come again and recommend? Too right I would!
But would I recommend Lincolnshire to go to? What a boring flat County, I hate the place! This hotel is a welcome oasis, as indeed is the town of Horncastle.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Chrisbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Good Day, Chrisbarrow,

Thank you for your review of the Admiral Rodney Hotel. It is great to read your kind words and to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us here in Horncastle.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you much more often in the future.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Alison Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horncastle
5.6 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
1,041 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
16.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
425 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
436 reviews
15 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House

Address: North Street, Horncastle LN9 5DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Horncastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horncastle
Price Range: £63 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horncastle
Horncastle Best Western
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House Horncastle, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing