We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the Best Western Admiral Rodney Horncastle.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Third visit for lunch here...Staff polite,very clean surroundings and excellent food...Very nice and re-assuring to see the chef taking food temperatures at the carvery...Highly recommended & good value for money.
Many thanks A+++

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ni20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Ni20132014,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed lunch with us and we thank you for your positive comments, Our chefs always maintain very high standards of food hygiene practices and standards of preparation, which is reflected in our 5 star hygiene rating and positive feedback from our customers. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Many Thanks
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 801 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

At £90 p. night the expectations are high but delivery low. Hot rooms, a shower that is a nightmare to work and control and it could easily be remedied by a little tlc and modest expenditure to bring the hotel up to the standard of its charging,

The staff (night porter, restaurant) are almost universally good although the reception area is not always promptly manned and sometimes they have a way of seeking to put you the customer in the wrong when you are not.

Room Tip: The floors area bit thin so being on the top floor probably helps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 422John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear 422john,

We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met by the hotel on this occasion. Unfortunately, the weather we have been experiencing lately has resulted in some of our rooms becoming quite warm. We do provide fans in each room which can provide some relief. We are currently undergoing a series of refit and refurbishment to our bathrooms when any issues we may have will be rectified. We are however glad that the staff met with your satisfaction as excellent customer service is something they pride themselves on. We welcome your return in the future to see the improvements we are making for yourselves.

Yours Sincerely
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

as a last minute thought , on some ones recommendation for a birthday treat had a great evening staff were very friendly ,helpful and informative which left us very comfortable and relaxed food was good and nicely presented . on one of the hottest evenings of the year it was a bit stifling in there but cant be helped will be going back more often

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear mark h,

We are so pleased to hear that your birthday treat with us was so enjoyable. Our staff always endeavour to maintain the highest level of standards for our guests and we are glad they met your expectations. Furthermore, we are happy that you enjoyed the top class cuisine that our chefs work tirelessly to provide. We look forward to hopefully seeing you more regularly in the future.

Many Thanks
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel has comfy beds. Found the staff to be extremely attentive and helpful. We ate in the restaurant's outdoor courtyard as we had our dog with us. The food was great, would recommend the Wild Boar burger, beef vindaloo and chocolate brownie with hazelnut ice cream. Overall affordable and very pet friendly. Would definitely return just for the food alone!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aidan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Aiden P,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. The staff always pride themselves in providing an extremely high standard of customer service to all our guests. Our chefs continuously strive to provide both an excellent variety and high standard in the food they serve, and the “exotic” burgers have proved to be extremely popular as is our locally sourced ice-cream from Dennets of Lincoln. All of the staff look forward to your return.

Many Thanks
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just spent the one night here on a room only basis, so can't comment on the food, although we did have a drink in the bar. There is a pleasant open courtyard with comfy seating and no smoking. There were plenty of picnic benches out the back as well.
The room was very comfy although we had to have the window open as it was a warm evening, which meant that the traffic was disturbing. The furniture in the room was very grand. There was alarge bath wuth plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ruby37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Ruby37,

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room comfortable. We have recently upgraded several of our rooms to Superior rooms and have received many positive comments on their comfort and style. Our courtyard area is always popular with our guests, especially in the summer months. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We went here for lunch today with some friends as it was my birthday. My husband had booked a table but did not say it was for my birthday. When we arrived we discovered there was a birthday deal but when inquiring about this I was told it was only available if booked in advance. I asked how we would know about this I was told if I was a regular I would know about it. About 2 or 3 times a year I book a group of us here for a meal but don't think I shall be in a hurry to do so again. The food was mediocre and lukewarm. Waitress was pleasant but whole experience disappointing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kathrynswaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear kathrynswaby,

We are sorry that you found your dining experience with us uninspiring; we assure you that this is not usually the case for our diners or guests. The birthday offer that we have run over the past 12 months is, unfortunately, only available if pre-booked; we have run several advertisements in the local press, including one two page spread just last month. Additionally, we also advertise this offer online through social media and our website and outside the hotel on large A boards. We do apologise if you found our food mediocre, the chefs do take great pride in the fine dishes they produce. Your comments will be taken on board in order to ensure all our customers are satisfied. We would invite you back to sample some of our new menus which have recently been introduced which emphasise the great pride and care the chefs take in their work.

Yours Sincerely
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horncastle
5.6 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
982 reviews
5.8 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
410 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
7.1 mi away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
165 reviews
10.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House

Address: North Street, Horncastle LN9 5DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Horncastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horncastle
Price Range: £74 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horncastle
Horncastle Best Western
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House Horncastle, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing