We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable two nights stay in this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“enjoyable two nights stay in this hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had booked a superior room in advance, but were told on arrival that we had been upgraded to a suit, which was comfortable, spacious and clean. Restaurant meals were of good quality and service efficient. Staff were friendly and helpful, especially Jenny, who served us in the restaurant. I would recommend this hotel and will certainly go there again.

Room Tip: Flagship Suite was spacious and fairly quiet with a king size bed. Bathroom had loose floor tiles a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Maritta M,

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us met with your satisfaction. The chefs and restaurant staff always aim to provide an exceptional dining experience for all our guests. All of the staff aim to be friendly and helpful at all times and your praise will be passed on to Jenny and the rest of the staff. We hope to see you again shortly and welcome your recommendations.

Yours Sincerely
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    290
    105
    36
    21
See reviews for
142
334
28
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We normally enjoy the "Rodney" and on impulse decided to have lunch there the other day. The carvery, however, was disappointing. The turkey with sausage was minus any sausages and the vegetables were running out. This was before 1 o'clock. There weren't many people there but we gathered that customers at two nearby tables were having problems.
The staff were very friendly but we felt that they really needed extra help as people had to wait at the bar to be served by the restaurant staff.
You get the impression that the company is trying to save money by cutting down on staff and overworking the few who are left.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Lizieann,

We are sorry that you found your latest experience with us disappointing. It is not usually the case for us to run out of vegetables or other items on the carvery and I will be looking into this matter personally. We are currently in the process of reviewing the carvery and how it operates, in doing this we aim to identify and eradicate any issues that we may have. We do hope to see you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

used to love eating here. The carvery was always varied and there was something for everyone. What a change - now its boring with just a choice of two or sometimes three joints usually pork, beef turkey. The restaurant is less busy now - you usually had to book but now it is not necessary. This is such a shame and a lot of regulars are now going elsewhere for variety including us. The staff are fantastic and the atmosphere is lovely, so come on bring back the variety of the carvery and it will be perfect again.

Room Tip: we only lunch, we live locally
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Tara b,

We welcome the feedback you have provided in regards to the carvery. We are sorry that the recent changes made to the layout of the carvery has left you feeling bored with what is on offer. We are currently reviewing the carvery and changes will be made in the near future. Thank you for your continuing custom.

Yours Sincerely
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a most enjoyable 2 night stay here , had both breakfast and evening meals good quality menu and great service will be back, loved the Alpaco burger !! and the perfect floater coffees
Rooms clean good selection of Tea and coffee in room and tv with all channels
WI FI easy to connect and free

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear JamesG,

Thank you for your kind words in regards to your stay with us. Our chefs continually aim to provide a great choice of dishes on the menus and supplement this with a stellar range of chef’s specials such as the “exotic” burger range which have proved to be very popular with our diners. The staff also take great pride in their barista skill over a range of products such as the liqueur floater coffees. We all hope to see you again soon.

Yours Sincerely
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed overnight at The Admiral Rodney whilst in Horncastle. Greeted by the friendly receptionist, given all the info we needed and were informed as to the parking which is at the rear of the hotel, safe and secure. Went straight to our room, excellent size , bed comfortable , the room overlooked the courtyard garden. Décor throughout the hotel was lovely. The bar and restaurant area is very quaint and full of character we were pleasantly surprised for a chain run hotel. Breakfast was superb and all the staff work really hard to make you feel welcome. Although we didn't eat in the evening the menu looked good value. Would definitely recommend to all. We were emailed a voucher to use after our stay which we will use if stopping in the area again,

Room Tip: ask for a room that doesn't overlook the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertiebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Bertiebunny,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you found the room to your liking, we have upgraded several of our rooms lately and it is nice to hear the positive comments regarding them. The staff are always happy to provide the highest standards of customer service and strive to make all our guests very welcome. We are happy that you appreciated the character and charm of our bar and restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again on your return to the area.

Many Thanks
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A lovely two-night stay. The food was excellent,we had breakfasts and evening meals from menus with lots of choice. The staff were warm & friendly and our room was clean comfortable and bright. Yasmin & Jenny were particularly nice

Room Tip: I would say that the High Street side rooms could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear JohnSLowestoft,

It was very pleaseing to hear that you had a lovely stay with us here in Horncastle. We are glad that the rooms, food and staff all met your expectations as we all aim to provide the best possible experience for all our guests. Your kind comment regarding Yasmin & Jenny will be passed on to them, and I thank you for your praise. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Many Thanks
Luke Hatchman
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horncastle
5.6 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
899 reviews
5.5 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
389 reviews
5.8 mi away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
The INN at Woodhall Spa
#3 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
156 reviews
15.3 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House

Property: The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Address: North Street, Horncastle LN9 5DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Horncastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horncastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horncastle
Horncastle Best Western
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House Horncastle, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing