We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A fantastic venue!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of Skendleby Hall

Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
45 reviews
Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Music room
Master ensuite
The Hall from the Garden
Victorian ensuite (disabled friendly)
Table football and air hockey
Full size billiards table
L shaped Main kitchen 2
Path through woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
14 Bedrooms, 15 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Horncastle, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niki W
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic venue!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I booked Skendleby Hall for a weekend to run a small boardgames convention. Thanks to the amazing comforts of the house and Ruth and David being so friendly and accommodating we had an absolutely amazing event.

Every room in the house is well appointed with comfortable beds, wonderful squishy duvets and beautiful furnishings. We were a group of 26 splitting the cost evenly and everyone felt happy with what they got.

We catered for ourselves and found the kitchen to be well stocked with pots, pans and utensils but also the things you don't normally find like cling film, and enough dishwasher tablets to keep the two machines running almost constantly throughout the weekend.

The large parlour made a fantastic gaming space for the main group and David and Ruth were kind enough to rustle up some of the dining tables used at weddings for us. Other living spaces like the library and dining room were good for gamers who wanted some quiet (or to make a lot of noise!) and the living room and music room were nice places to escape to and read a book or watch some telly.

All in all, 26 of us spent 3 solid days in the house in comfort... we almost hoped the snow would make it longer! I would highly recommend this house to any group looking for somewhere to gather, but it is particularly perfect if you have a special interest you want to get together for, be that gaming, painting, wine or murder mystery!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Getting to spend a weekend in such a beautiful house
Liked least: The only extremely minor complaint is that the fire doors slam so loudly! All else was perfect
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H
yorkshire
1 review
“Perfect wedding weeked!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Having previously visited Skendleby Hall for a family birthday and spent an amazing weekend with 20+ family and friends, we were delighted to return in December for our wedding day! (The venue has very recently become licensed for wedding ceremonies as well as receptions!)
The whole weekend was fantastic from start to finish, the venue is perfect for an intimate wedding, (50 guests) and with bedrooms to sleep 26 it was ideal for wedding guests to stay over(plenty of accommodation nearby for extra guests)

The house is itself is huge, beautifully decorated and well equipped - it needs to be seen to be fully appreciated, the photos don't do it justice! Many of the downstairs rooms are big enough for larger groups at once- perfect for what we wanted, everyone could be together but with a less formal wedding approach. Our ceremony was held in the piano room, and the reception/evening in the large drawing room- both looked amazing when decorated!

All in all we couldn't have asked for more, a wonderful venue with lovely owners! Gillian the events coordinator was brilliant throughout, she helped in the lead up to the wedding with everything from chair covers to hairdressers, nothing was too much trouble... Jen the caterer who did our wedding breakfast was also absolutely excellent-a 3 course meal for 50 people with no fuss and fantastic food!

Highly recommended! :-)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Size of house, having the place to ourselves, relaxed wedding
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth H
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding house for a family get together - we've been four times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We have just returned from our 4th stay at Skendleby Hall and it continues to delight us in all that it has to offer. Our extended family numbers 21 and encompasses all ages from babies to mid-seventies. We love the house because everyone gets a really comfortable (often luxurious) bedroom mostly with a private bathroom and the facilities have something for everyone. The youngsters love the wooded area and their own playroom, the teenagers love the snooker table and the TV room and we all love coming together for meals in the large dining room which seats everyone comfortably. The front lawn has seen some exciting games of cricket and the large drawing room played host to some fabulous parties. It really has been the perfect holiday house for our large family.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The indoor space and the lovely setting
Liked least: The dishwashers could do with updating
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onarock
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for large group with children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Skendleby Hall exceeded our expectations in almost every way. Everyone was comfortable in magnificent rooms. Great facilities, hard to add to what is advertised but lingering memory will be the views from both the front lawn and over to the church behind. Recommended and good value for a large group.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The splendour
Liked least: Accessability
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidmb27
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful luxury venue in beautiful peaceful countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Skendleby Hall is a magnificent Manor house in the small Lincolnshire village of Skendleby. It lives up to all my expectations of life as Lord of the Manor! Spacious, beautifully furnished and practical with great facilities - love the full size snooker table and other games. Quiet and secluded yet in a lovely small village - great atmospheric pub nearby. We used the catering staff who can be booked in advance and the food was excellent.
Just perfect for that special occasion - for us it was a Silver Wedding - we all loved it! Thanks.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and sense of luxury
Liked least: Weather was bit cold!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micheleks
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous 19th century country house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My husband and I recently rented, at a very reasonable price, this remarkable property to hold our wedding. There was only 19 of us staying but the house sleeps 26 and has more than ample room to stage a small or larger wedding (of up to 50 I believe), or any other family gathering. We felt that having our wedding in a venue like this made it so much more personal, the setting was great with the house being surrounded by beautiful countryside and gardens...there is also a great barbeque area which we didn't get to use, but will do on our next visit.

On arrival at the hall, Mel was there to welcome us and show us round the property. The house interior made us gasp when we first entered, it is tastefully decorated and absolutely beautiful.

The house is also fully stocked with all the things that you need from kitchen appliances, cutlery, plates all manor of kitchen and dining needs, linen and towels are provided and are very good quality. There is also a sauna and steam shower the sauna was great to use.

We have to say a big thank you to Ruth and David for such a great retreat for our day and to Mel who was there on hand should we need anything, also to Jen the caterer who gave us a fabulous day of food and made the day go very smooth indeed.

Would I recommend it? without a shadow of a doubt and will also be using this venue again for any other large family get togethers we may have.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything about this place is magical
Liked least: nothing to not like
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
listsinc
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spacious 14 bedroom house ideal for big group or landmark family birthday gathering”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in July 2011

This is a great house for a big group of any age range with lots of space outside and in. A choice of lounges (a TV in one, a piano in another) and quiet areas (a library room with board games), full size snooker table, two kitchens, nine bathrooms,14 bedrooms (everyone has a proper bed and no sofa beds) give this house great flexibility for whatever shape your group takes. There is a really large lounge with window seats and sofas for the whole group to gather together as well as a dining room with a table for 26.
What sets Skendelby Hall apart is the huge amount of living space it offers for a group and how beautifully it has been restored. It is a handsome house on the outside and on the inside too. It is extremely well maintained: everything works as it should (no missing light bulbs, dripping taps or broken showers): there is plentiful hot water, kitchen is properly equipped to cook for a big group and all bed linen and towels are of good quality. The owners are friendly and welcoming and close by if you need them (we didn't).

Skendelby Hall doesn't so much have a garden as it has grounds. Huge lawn with haha separating it from field next door make for lovely countryside views. Great play space (with football goal) outside plus a games room and play room with toys inside means that your kids will not be bored and will entertain themselves with lengthy games of hide and seek. The ten kids in our group did not want to leave the house to explore the area at all.

If you are looking at hiring other country houses of this size, Skendelby Hall looks cheap at £4300 for a week in high summer. This is probably relects its location: not everyone thinks of Lincolnshire as a holiday destination. But this can be an interesting part of the country to visit: we enjoyed trips to Lincoln and the seaside at Mablethorpe, walks across the countryside, long lunches in the village pub (good) and there is a theme park near by and many antique shops in small towns all over the county. This is an ideal place for you to relax and take time out. If real life insists on intruding, the house wifi works well.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Huge garden (with smart terrace with barbeque) separated from field by a haha.
Liked least: Lincolnshire is not the most obvious place for a holiday and you will need to drive to reach places of interests. The price reflects this. We enjoyed trips to Lincoln, Tattershall Castle, Mablethorpe and Cleethorpes (great beach).
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing