We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Have to see it to believe it”

Review of Skendleby Hall

Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Arriving at Skendleby Hall
Music room
Master ensuite
The Hall from the Garden
Victorian ensuite (disabled friendly)
Table football and air hockey
Full size billiards table
L shaped Main kitchen 2
Path through woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
14 Bedrooms, 15 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Horncastle, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lucychris...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Have to see it to believe it”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This place is just as good as it looks!
As a large family with a mix of young and older people it was great to distance the kids from the adults!
We had a few wet days and didn't even make plans as the house provided so much entertainment!
Great hosts, fab facilities and a brilliant time away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
What a lovely review, thank you so much. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison C
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing House in amazing grounds”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Skendleby Hall for one week with 22 people, the hall exceeds all expectations and caters for all ages. Ruth and David made us very welcome and are on call if needed however I doubt you would need them as they leave detailed instructions to make sure you enjoy your holiday. All bedroom are amazing however the master suite has to be seen to be believed and everyone in our party said how comfy their beds were. There is an outside play area for the children and plenty of games including table tennis, air hockey, table football and a full size snooker table. We loved the hot tub and spent time in there to relax however you could not fail to relax at Skendleby Hall...Ruth and David obviously love their house and go the extra length to make sure all visitors love it, we will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Thank you so much Alison. It was lovely to have you and your extended family there and we really hope you will come back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eloiseche...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay - we'll be back”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our second time staying at Skendleby Hall and we loved the recent additions outside for the children. It's by far the best large house we've stayed in and the large layout of the hall suits our needs perfectly. Thanks again to Ruth for the prompt answers to my questions, Eloise

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thank you so much Eloise - it was lovely to welcome you back to Skendleby Hall again- delighted that you had such a good time
We look forward to your return. Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelseysee...
Woodmansey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing as always”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great stay, great to be back, the house looks magnificent. Gillian, Ruth, David as lovely as always. Jens catering is amazing. Can't knock it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Thank you for a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you at the Hall again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hmcloake
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding house and grounds, superb facilities”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Skendlby Hall for a weekend away with 25 other friends and we were completely bowled away with how beautiful the Skendlby Hall was. The rooms and facilities are immaculate and the kitchen was so well stocked, it made cooking for 26 a lot easier that we thought!
Ruth made the booking, payment, check in and check out process so easy - we felt incredibly welcome!
I cannot recommend Skendlby Hall enough - i have stayed at many large houses with friends over the past 5-6 years and this was by far the best yet.
We're already planning our next trip!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for the review, we are so pleased you enjoyed Skendleby Hall so much. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“This is a fabulous house for a weekend party with family and friends”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I booked Skendleby Hall for 24 of my family and friends to help celebrate my retirement and 60th birthday. The facilities and location were excellent and the owners couldn't have been more helpful, though not at all intrusive. All of the rooms are lovely and beautifully decorated - the drawing room is especially beautiful. would love to go back every year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
Thank you for your lovely review Clare - we love to help people celebrate their special events and are so pleased that yours went well
We very much look forward to your return!
Ruth and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rodkate
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“70th birthday”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My family have just had a fantastic weekend at Skendleby Hall celebrating my dads 70th birthday. An absolutely amazing house. Beautiful inside and out. This house has everything you need to keep everyone happy and entertained. We had 20 guests and everyone was blown away by the standard and beauty of this amazing place. Thanks for a truly memorable occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope you can come back and visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;