We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Dining & Riverside Grill

Thai Dining & Riverside Grill
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Horncastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$17
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Thai Dining and Riverside Grill where we invite you to take a relaxing journey around our delicious menus featuring authentic, traditional Thai dishes, with a unique modern twist. Enjoy our freshly prepared curries cooked to your own personal taste (you choose the heat!), delicious, succulent stir fries, or our mouth-watering selection of special grills and seafood All our dishes are full of flavour and prepared using fresh, seasonal quality produce from trusted local suppliers. Tell us about your favourite foods and ingredients, or those you prefer to avoid, and as part of our Taster Menu we will create a five-course surprise feast of starters, main dishes and desert (plus a few extra special treats) cooked just for you!
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were expecting great things after reading all the reviews on trip advisor and we weren’t disappointed. The restaurant, which was very nicely decorated, was also very clean and tidy – it only has 4 tables and serves up to 12 people making for a very charming, intimate atmosphere.

On arrival we were made to feel very welcome, first from the waitress and then later on by the chef himself (Phil), who made time to come out (even though he was very busy) to chat to each of the diners.

The food was freshly prepared and tasty delicious – spot on with the flavours and good size portions – what more could you want. The waitress was very helpful and knowledgeable about the food and when taking the orders asked us what strength we wanted the dishes – and they were prepared to exactly our requirements. There was a good selection of dishes available and we were spoilt for choice.

There was just the right amount of waiting between the courses, nothing was rushed which made for a very pleasant leisurely meal.

The appetiser was a nice surprise and extremely tasty, in fact we could find nothing wrong with any of the dishes. It’s unlicensed so you’re able to take your own favourite wine to enjoy with the delicious meal.

Credit must be given to Phil for the standard of food and service he's achieved, it’s no wonder hes number one for Horncastle on trip advisor. We will certainly be recommending it to others and look forward to our next meal – give it a go you won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ajpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phillip c, Owner at Thai Dining & Riverside Grill, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review im so pleased you enjoyed your eve with us , hope to see you again soon
Phil & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    17
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Like being back in Thailand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We went last night for the early bird dinner, 7.50 for a 2 course meal, fantastic value. I had the chicken satay which is the best I have had outside Thailand, we also had the Thai fishcakes which were moist and really tasty. Main courses where the Massaman chicken curry which again was really well presented and tasty but the star for me was the chicken rendang, really spicy and so much there I had to ask for the left overs to be taken home. Make sure you book though, there are only 4 tables, brilliant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raycouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phillip c, Owner at Thai Dining & Riverside Grill, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello
It was great to meet you and your partner and am so pleased you had a nice eve with us, we will welcome you back at anytime.
Rgds Phil & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“very delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Budgeting, we'd planned to grab a 'beat the clock' offer at Shakesby's next door, which we've visited & enjoyed a couple of times but forgot that's a weekday only deal. Next door is this fabulous little find, with comparable prices. Fate can be a fantastic thing!
We didn't know what to think. It's tiny ! (But its food is perfectly formed! ) & then the beautifully skilled co chef/owner said they didn't have a restroom, but they had an arrangement with the pub across the road!
My mother can be less keen on asian foods. This was all a very unknown quantity.
But we needn't have worried. THIS PLACE IS VERY, VERY GOOD! I can still savour it over a week later. I had a chicken & peanut curry & my mother a salmon stir fry. Delicious pork amuse bouche were a lovely surprise & an exciting trailer for the main feature. Lovely, huge chunks of fish. She is a convert! What a refreshing & welcome interruption to normal service!
Quality is clearly chief priority to the owner - & he has the right approach. He correctly sees that his culinary attention to detail will grow his business through word of mouth. He has done very well to be tripadvisor's no 1 in Horncastle because Shakesby's & Magpies are both established & good but this high quality Thai restaurant (growing from being a take away) complements them very well & is very reasonably priced.
Waitress was attentive but not overbearing. Very pleasant. Beautifully dressed!
Excellent. Don't be put off by the toilet thing. Relaxed, intimate, BYO.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank abfrasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phillip c, Owner at Thai Dining & Riverside Grill, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello
Thanks for your review I am so pleased that we managed to make your visit with us a good experiance, and we hope to see you again next time your in Horncastle.
Kind Rgds
Phil & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thai-rrific :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Saturday night; date night with my hubby. Stepped inside at 8pm from the cold into a small, steamy restaurant. On first impressions I was taken back by the size although this definitely did not make for an awkward atmosphere. The waitress was friendly and polite and immediately placed a wine cooler on the table for my fav wine, which I had brought with me.

We ordered the starter sharing platter. Devine. The fish cakes were especially beautiful. 3 sauces accompanied this which added to each mouthful.

For main we ordered Duck green curry and Chicken red curry with endless sticky rice. Sharing a bit of each highlighted the fantastic flavours in each dish. Cooked at a lovely heat to tantalise the taste buds.

The only downside to the restaurant is the lack of toilets. My husband ran across the road to the pub although obviously it's not ideal. This did not take away from the superb meal, atmosphere and experience.

We will definitely be returning to try more dishes. In fact it's probably quite dangerous as we discovered they also deliver!! :)

Helpful?
Thank 00WorldTraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phillip c, Owner at Thai Dining & Riverside Grill, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi
Love the heading name Thai-rrific! we are happy that we managed to make your eve fun and that you enjoyed the food service etc..
We hope to see you again very soon
Phil & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Cosy, welcoming restaurant with superb Thai food. The ambience is great and the chef/owner made us feel very welcome. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank Delia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phillip c, Owner at Thai Dining & Riverside Grill, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello
Thanks for the taking the time to write a review we are pleased that you had a nice eve and hope that you join us again soom
Kind Rgds
Phil & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Dining & Riverside Grill also viewed

Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
Horncastle, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Thai Dining & Riverside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing