We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic all round and great wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laceby
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic all round and great wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We recently got married at Oaklands and it was the most fantastic day. ALL the staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help us and our guests. The food was all excellent including the wedding breakfast, the evening buffet, and the buffet breakfast. Many of our wedding guests also stayed the night and were very please. The bedrooms have all been recently redecorated and look lovely.
In addition, the help I received from the events team leading up to the wedding was amazing, they did everything they could to meet my very specific needs. They really did help to make it the best day of our lives. Thank you Oaklands team

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel following your Wedding and stay with us. We are pleased to have been part of your special day and I am glad that my team has made it a memorable time for you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Warmest regards,

Scott Dunn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    124
    49
    17
    9
See reviews for
106
142
8
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night (fortunately) to attend one of its Xmas Party nights.
The check in was quick so not a bad start. my wife and I were part of a party of 26 to have dinner and attend an "Abba Tribute" night. What became very obvious was a shortage of staff because to me the hotel had over-stretched itself in attempting to hold a large number of events on the same evening.( Tribute night ,Beach Party, Private function and main restaurant all in operation.)
The bar staff struggled to cope with the early rush and what followed was even worse.
There were over 200 diners all on large tables very close together. There were no more than 8 waiting staff for the whole place. This meant that there was an obvious delay for a large number of people who happened to be the last tables to be dealt with.
To make matters worse the food was not of acceptable quality and this added to the lack of service made for a very disappointing experience.
On confronting the Duty Manager I was told that 6 staff had failed to arrive so the hotel had tried
its best in the circumstances.
The following morning breakfast was something akin to a Fawlty Towers experience.
Cleaning materials, hoovers Bin bags full of rubbish greeted you on the temporary stage right next to the Food server. There was one person serving and when the 9 am rush arrived there was
not enough food to serve. In addition the young lad had to attempt to be an electrician because all the hot plates and toaster were cutting out due to the electrical extension leads being unfit for purpose. In addition the quality of the food was poor.
Overall one judges establishments from comparison with other competitors in the locality who are doing a similar offer in the mass catering field. Having been to 2 other local establishments
in recent times this was the worst by a country mile. My advice to others STAY AWAY and GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but avoid Party Nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank orelac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations during your party and your stay with us.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

It is a shame that you have had a negative experience this time but I hope that you would give us another chance to prove that we can offer what is expected.

If you require anything else then please feel free to contact me.


With all good wishes,

Scott Dunn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a party we were attending at the hotel. Room wasn't great..small with dreadful red decor.
Bathroom wasn't the freshest and toilet was stained and worn.
The water pressure was awful, impossible to have a decent shower :(
We were in the new part of the building so maybe this is why it was disappointing, friends, who also stayed, but were given rooms in original building, said their rooms were nice.
It was ok.. But have stayed in much better budget hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharleyWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations on this occasion.

Unfortunately we were experiencing some issues with our water pressure in certain areas of the hotel which have now been resolved.

With regards to the décor of the bedroom; some of our rooms are still undergoing refurbishment and are due to be completed in the new year.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can provide you with a superior experience.


Warmest regards,

Scott Dunn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent would stay here again plus food excellent.
Hotel in lovely location and the staff very helpful and knowledgeable. Good section if beers us wines.
Good quantity if food expertly prepared.
Nice grounds and easy to find from main road.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mapledown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Public Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel following your experience. I am glad to hear that the refurbishment along with the quality of food purchased and service given has all provided a memorable time for you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Warmest regards,

Scott Dunn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Excellent venue for the PTA ball on Saturday 9th November, everything was sorted out for our arrival and nothing was to much trouble, Ben and his staff were very attentive making sure that the night went smoothly. The food was excellent, would definitely recommend this as a venue.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times, both for business and leisure. Whenever we visit the area, we stay at Oaklands Hall. The staff are always welcoming, the accommodation is excellent and beds extremely comfortable. Standards at the hotel are very high both at the reception and in the restaurant. The menu in the restaurant has a good selection and is prepared and served to high standards. WIFI access is very efficient. We always enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just got back from staying at the Oaklands Hotel and we had a wonderful time.The visit was a late 35th wedding anniversary treat for my wife and I. I rang last week and spoke to Laura at the Hotel who was very helpful and friendly. We decided to upgrade to one of the feature rooms in the old part of the hotel which was definitely worth doing. Thank you Laura for your recommendation and for choosing us such a nice room. The room was spacious, very quiet and elegantly furnished in character with the lovely main part of the building. If we had one minor niggle about the room it was that the pillows were very hard. We also ordered a bottle of champagne which was duly waiting in the room on arrival and was very enjoyable.The evening meal was outstanding followed by coffee in the Long Room. Breakfast was also very good. All the staff we met were lovely and we would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laceby
3.1 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
3.0 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
11.9 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
6.5 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 9 in Cleethorpes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel
Address: The Bungalow Oaklands Hotel Barton Street, Laceby, Grimsby DN37 7LF, England (Formerly Oaklands Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby > Laceby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laceby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Laceby
BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel Laceby, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing