We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hollywood Extravagansor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laceby
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hollywood Extravagansor”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The Oaklands Hall Hotel hosted our works Christmas outing this year. I had suggested we go paintballing or fire walking but was out voted, the girls had decided something more glamorous was in order.

The oaklands did us proud, on arriving there was a T-Rex on the dance floor. It was amazing, I have never seen anything like it before. After being chased from the dance floor by the T-Rex to the bar, we were welcomed with a champagne reception.

The meals was served promptly as promised, we have had work do elsewhere in the past where the staff couldn't cope with the sheer numbers and we were left watching as other people were being served and enjoying a meal. Not at the Oaklands, they got the whole thing running smoothly.

A fantastic night was had by all, the staff were fantastic, the venue was great. Thank you!! I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience.

It sounds like you had a terrific night with us and I am pleased to hear that everything exceeded your expectations. We do like to throw a little surprise in every now and again; the T-rex in this instance did provide everyone with a bit of pre-meal entertainment.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.


Warmest regards,

Scott Dunn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    130
    52
    17
    9
See reviews for
110
146
8
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here recently, albeit apprehensive as I had never traveled to this location before.
Reception greeted me well,my bedroom - an Exec, was very clean and recently refurbed. Dinner was excellent, service professional and unobtrusive.
Pleasant grounds, location ideal, and yes, Grimsby was surprisingly welcoming.
Having researched the local hotels prior to my visit, this was by far the best.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 46.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us following your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that your experience was everything that you expected it to be.
We always try to be accommodating to everyone as we do have a widely varied client base.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again if you visit the area.


Warmest regards,

Scott Dunn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had our staff Christmas Party at Oaklands this year and last and both were very good. There was a great party atmosphere and although there could have been more staff, the ones that were on were really friendly and nice. I think they packed more tables in this year for the ABBA tribute party which made it very crowded but it was good fun and we all had a great time. The food was fine, especially the pate which was excellent. Biscuits had been left out too long on the cheese course and were soft but the cheese was nice. There was another party going on in the back room and a trio singing in the foyer so plenty to look at and enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazePaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel following your experience. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate all comments made.

I am pleased to hear that the quality of food purchased, service and great entertainment has provided a great night for you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Warmest regards,

Scott Dunn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Really friendly staff, amazing food really enjoyable night would recommend the Oakland hotel to friends and family. We have had our work Christmas meal for 3 years running and service and food has been great every time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 543kim_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel following your experience. I am glad to hear that the refurbishment along with the quality of food purchased and service given has all provided a memorable time for you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Warmest regards,

Scott Dunn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

From start to finish what a awful stay we had suppose to be a real treat turned into a real nightmare . It was a abba tribute party night ,food was disgusting service terrible with minimal staff and I always thought ABba had 4 people in it . Breakfast next morning was like something of a comedy show with one person serving cold horrid breakfast next to hoovers and rubbish bags, I have never come across so many people complaining to each other just hope they complained to the manager. THey seriously need to get things and staff sorted properly. Such a shame because ate in comfy duck before and was lovely and JEff is a real asset to this hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations on this occasion. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We do take your feedback very seriously and hope that you will return to the hotel again so that we can provide the superior experience that you expect.

If you require anything further then please do not hesitate to contact me.


Kind regards,

Scott Dunn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

a very good hotel with great staff and fine food but a bit remote rooms good executive rooms very well presented hotel has nice grounds a cosy bar area with good bar staff i would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel following your stay with us. I am glad to hear that the refurbishment along with the quality of food purchased and service given has all provided a memorable time for you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Warmest regards,

Scott Dunn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We recently got married at Oaklands and it was the most fantastic day. ALL the staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help us and our guests. The food was all excellent including the wedding breakfast, the evening buffet, and the buffet breakfast. Many of our wedding guests also stayed the night and were very please. The bedrooms have all been recently redecorated and look lovely.
In addition, the help I received from the events team leading up to the wedding was amazing, they did everything they could to meet my very specific needs. They really did help to make it the best day of our lives. Thank you Oaklands team

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott D, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel following your Wedding and stay with us. We are pleased to have been part of your special day and I am glad that my team has made it a memorable time for you.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.


Warmest regards,

Scott Dunn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laceby
3.1 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
412 reviews
3.0 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
285 reviews
11.9 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#2 of 10 in Grimsby
132 reviews
3.4 mi away
Stallingborough Grange Hotel
4.0 mi away
Millfields Hotel
Millfields Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grimsby
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Address: Barton Street, Laceby, Grimsby DN37 7LF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby > Laceby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laceby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Laceby
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel Laceby, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing