We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laceby
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wedding venue”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

What an excellent place for a wedding, I can't fault anything, the staff can't make you feel more at home you really feel like one of the family. they are all young things but with heads way beyond there age sitting on their shoulders nothing was to much trouble and you are genuinely made to feel welcome.
The grounds are amazing from the prettiest lawned gardens and trees to the stone work of the original house, the photographs look amazing.
The cost of the venue is around the same as anywhere else but the service is way beyond.
Thank You for making my daughters wedding that little bit more special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry f, Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Michael C
Wedding days are the most special of days to most and each of those are as important to us as they are to the families that are joining together on the day. Thank you for your sincere Thanks and the kind words with regards to the hotel and its gardens. I do encourage all the team to look at trip advisor and they will certainly talk about this one.
Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future or the 1st year anniversary at least.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    125
    50
    17
    8
See reviews for
106
142
8
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Immingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We have been here many times over the years and also got married here 11 years ago. The staff are lovely and the food is absolutely gorgeous. I have also arranged several company events here because the people are so accommodating and their prices are very reasonable. The Laceby Suite next door is also part of the hotel and we've held several company family barbecues there, as it's an enclosed area at the back and very safe for children. The rooms are lovely and the hotel also has free wi-fi.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry f, Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Melanie A
Thank you for the fantastic review that you posted. It is always pleasing to receive such high praise from our customers. The Laceby Suite has now been renamed after the extensive refurbishment that was completed a short time ago to the Garden Room. It was so named after the gardens that you so rightly mentioned. The room is perfect for the events which you described and many more. Thank you again for the comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

my wife and I whent tea we ordered starter scallops I had scotch egg both where good main course pork to share this big platter come roast potatoes chips mash veg the meat was lovely but to much left half of it if I had I criticism there was there was only to fish on the menu should be more also scotch I had for starter we got the same with the pork but was a nice touch a free soup and bread to start with overhaul good

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry f, Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Michael E
Thank you for the comments with regards to the Comfy Duck restaurant. The Scotch Egg is a popular dish which is home-made as the soup at the start of the meal. We do try and make as much as we can in the restaurant. The menu has recently changed and we have added more fish dishes and choice through the menu.
Thank you for your comments as we are aiming for a perfect menu for all the customers and welcome the feedback in a positive way.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed over as part of a wedding taking place in the hotel grounds. The room was well laid out with an iron and board in the room as standard, freeview on the TV but couldn't get the Sky Sports channels, need a sports fix! There was an extractor fan going all night underneath the room as I think I was above the kitchen. The food for the wedding breakfast was top notch, and the buffet supplied at night was also. Bar pretty reasonable price wise, with happy staff. Breakfast was served to order but got cold quickly as the plate wasn't heated through well enough, but a good selection and poached eggs was great. Good work Oaklands!

Room Tip: Room 16 was over an extraxtor fan which was on all night, so ask not to be there if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19white83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry f, Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear 19white83
I was pleased to read the review that you left as it gives us an opportunity to be able to improve some of the points that you raised. The kitchen extractor is to be switched off during the evening and can only apologise if this was not the case. As for the Sky Sports there is a switch on the remote control that switches this over. We do have limited Sky Sports coverage in the rooms. We are making sure this is clear to all customers. Thank you for the compliments with regards to the breakfast, the food and the bar service, we are constantly training to ensure these are always of the best quality. I look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We recently attended a Wine Tasting evening here and had a brilliant night.
It was a beautiful evening and we sat on the terrace whilst English Sparkling wine and delightful canapes were served
.We were then treated to a gourmet four course meal, each course had a specially selected wine chosen by the wine merchant who shared his knowledge of each wine and entertained us at the same time.The service was excellent and seamless - the highlight being when the chefs came out at the end and spoke to each table in turn - it was so nice to be able to thank in person the Chef who had created the mouthwatering dishes.
Everyone was so friendly and the venue was perfect. Thank you to all of the staff - we have already booked for the next WineTasting event and for our third Champagne Evening - can't wait.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry f, Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear lindhay
Thank you for the comments with regards to the Wine Tasting Evening. These are the highlights on the calendar for the chefs as they get the opportunity to really show off their skills. The food is always freshly made and produced to order. The wines are always selected to accompany the dishes that have been produced. With the 2 wine tasting events and the 2 champagne events it gives us all something to always look forward to.
Thank you for your comments with regards to the staff as they seem to get forgotten on these occasions when the food and drinks are centre stage.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
511 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Overall I would sum up this hotel as a little sleepy, but given the clear lack of competition in the area there is probably no incentive to improve. Check in would have benefited from a smile, and being told that the Internet network you were given the pass code for was not working. Another was working which you could get the code for if you asked. Room was comfortable but a little drab. However my overall view improved the next morning after an excellent breakfast. Endless coffee, fantastic bacon and sausage along with fried bread which is such a rarity these days

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bro44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barry f, Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Bro44
Let me take this opportunity to thank you for your comments in relation to your stay here. I can only apologise for the receptionist on duty, we are currently undergoing the Best Western Personality Experience Training for the hotel so we should start seeing an improvement shortly. We have put more budget into improving the Wi-Fi capabilities to ensure any drop off is reduced. Thank you for your comments for breakfast it is the most important meal of the day and pleased we produced what was need for you.
I look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laceby
3.1 mi away
Humber Royal Hotel
Humber Royal Hotel
#3 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.0 mi away
Healing Manor Hotel
Healing Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Healing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
11.9 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grimsby
6.5 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#1 of 8 in Cleethorpes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Yarborough Hotel
The Yarborough Hotel
#5 of 10 in Grimsby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel
Address: Barton Street, Laceby, Grimsby DN37 7LF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Oaklands Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grimsby > Laceby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Laceby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Laceby
Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel Laceby, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing