We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveller rating
296
146
57
20
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
296
146
57
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews comfy duck afternoon tea garden room wedding venue breakfast service daughters wedding lovely setting wedding breakfast waiting staff food was lovely cooked breakfast plenty of parking full english stayed for one night lovely staff ben meal
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 536 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Had a great time (again!). This is the second time that I have visited the Oaklands and I can say that it will not be my last! Service was great from arrival to departure. The Chef excelled himself on the evening that we dined in the Resturant with a fantastic meal!

A special thanks to Jenna who was attentive, engaging and entertaining throughout the evening.

All in all, a great stay in comfortable accommodation with great staff and food.

10/10

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank gremlin030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa P, Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Dear Gremlin030,

How lovely to hear that this is your second visit to us and we are again exceeding your expectations. Your thoughtful and kind comments have been passed on to the Chef and Jenna, who both care passionately about what they do. They both work hard to make sure that everyone has a positive experience when staying with us.

Kind regards

Teresa
Teresa Penistone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Can highly recommend the Oakland Hall Hotel Afternoon Tea! It's a wonderful place for any occasion, I've visited this year to meet with friends, a celebration and family afternoon out. The beautiful grounds, attentive staff, ambience of the restaurant make the delicious afternoon tea a perfect experience. If you've not tried it, you must, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Beaks183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa P, Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Dear Beaks183

Thank you for your wonderful recommendation of our Afternoon Tea, we must be getting it right if this is your 4th visit to us. I must say that our new Wimbledon inspired Afternoon Tea is being very well received, could this be your excuse for a 5th visit?

Hopefully look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Teresa
Teresa Penistone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

We went to our friends evening reception at the Oaklands. Beautiful venue. Very good food, nice staff, stunning gardens and a fantastic young woman singing in the lounge area. What a fabulous place! Would definitely recommend it to couples thinking of an intimate venue can't imagine it being cheap but so worth it.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa P, Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Dear Sam C,

What a lovely and complimentary review, we definitely appear to have hit all the right areas for you. Our restaurant is especially welcoming to couples with the intimate booths for individually tables. We would love for you to dine with us and I think you would pleasantly surprised; our prices aren't as high as you would imagine.

Kind regards

Teresa
Teresa Penistone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Be very careful if you choose to book this hotel. I had booked it 3 weeks ahead and had a confirmation email. I needed a specially assisted room, they only have one in the hotel. On our journey to Grimsby we were told the room was double booked. They did find us another hotel to go to at the same rates but this was a huge disruption for us after a 4 hour drive. We will not be booking this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank mozzanewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa P, Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Mozzanewman,

I am sorry to hear that you will not be using our hotel again and can only apologize as we did at the time for the disruption caused to you. I took the decision to call you before you arrived at the hotel to offer the various options that we had available, in case you wished to stay at the other hotel, thus making it easier for you to journey to the alternative hotel which was not far from us. The issue with the double booking of disabled room was entirely our fault and due to the configuration of the room types within our booking system. This has now been rectified and moving forward will not happen again.
Kind regards

Teresa Penistone
Hotel Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

The food was very poor which was surprising in that we were handed two different menus for dinner. The staff were so disorganised that we did not get any drinks, even though we had ordered water and a bottle of wine, when our starters arrived. The table was sticky and covered in debris from previous customers and there was a sad flower in a vase on the table that was filled with moldly water, literally. At breakfast it was the same and we were told that "chef" couldn't poach an egg without breaking it so they could not give one of our party poached eggs. Table was still filthy at breakfast. In our double room there was only towels and tea/coffee for one person and the room was over heated. Terrible combination of Faulty Towers and the Two Soups sketch.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Duncan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa P, Manager at Best Western Oaklands Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Duncan F,

I am sorry to hear about your recent experience with us at the hotel. We do like to use all feedback to improve our service to our guests. What you have described is certainly below any standards we set and I would sincerely like the opportunity to discuss this with you. If you could contact me direct at the hotel so that I can respond to your issues that would be greatly appreciated.

Kind regards

Teresa Penistone
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews