We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”
Review of The Thorold

The Thorold
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Marston
Price range: £5 - £30
Description: The Thorold is newly refurbished after a long period of closure. Under community ownership and professionally managed, it offers a delightful, rural welcome to all. On the corner of Main Street and School Lane in the Lincolnshire village of Marston, it is easily accessible - just 7 miles from Grantham, 12 from Newark, and a mile east of the A1. It is the community focus of the village and is a pub with rooms, café, restaurant, and shop. A Free House, The Thorold offers cask ales from Bateman’s Brewery, varying guest beers, a range of lagers, cider, other beers, and a great selection of wines, spirits, and soft drinks. The menu is tasty and local, with meals to suit all appetites. The ethos is relaxed and family-friendly, with well-behaved dogs welcome. There is a beer garden with a lawn and plenty of outside tables and seating. The pub has level access throughout from the garden door and car park. Future development will provide full ground floor wheelchair accessibility.
Restaurant details
Description: The Thorold is newly refurbished after a long period of closure. Under community ownership and professionally managed, it offers a delightful, rural welcome to all. On the corner of Main Street and School Lane in the Lincolnshire village of Marston, it is easily accessible - just 7 miles from Grantham, 12 from Newark, and a mile east of the A1. It is the community focus of the village and is a pub with rooms, café, restaurant, and shop. A Free House, The Thorold offers cask ales from Bateman’s Brewery, varying guest beers, a range of lagers, cider, other beers, and a great selection of wines, spirits, and soft drinks. The menu is tasty and local, with meals to suit all appetites. The ethos is relaxed and family-friendly, with well-behaved dogs welcome. There is a beer garden with a lawn and plenty of outside tables and seating. The pub has level access throughout from the garden door and car park. Future development will provide full ground floor wheelchair accessibility.
Reviewed 25 July 2022 via mobile

So refreshing to visit somewhere where the staff are so invested in you. Attention to detail in every area. Delicious food and friendly, personable service. Rachael Lane could not have done more to ensure we felt valued.

Date of visit: July 2022
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ed Faulkner, General Manager at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

Marie W,

Thank you very much for your lovely review!

We hope to see you all again soon at The Thorold.

Ed Faulkner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2022 via mobile

Teddy rocks again !, fabulous tapas night this evening Ed , great food , great atmosphere, and live music, chap with a guitar was a nice touch .

Both had a lovely evening , this place is a gem !

Date of visit: July 2022
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ed Faulkner, General Manager at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2022

Chris P,

Thank you for such a wonderful review!

Really pleased you enjoyed everything. We will have some more them nights coming up very soon!

See you soon,

Ed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2022 via mobile

We called in here on the way back from a walk. There was a great selection of beers on, which was a good first impression. Although we arrived a little after lunch, the chef was fine with us to be seated still. The food was very tasty and made with good quality ingredients. It all tasted homemade and that it had been put together with skill and care. Our server noticed I was suffering badly with hay-fever and went above and beyond to help. Great service on top of lovely food, really was the icing on the cake. This community pub felt like a really good find, we were very glad we decided to pop in. The place is a real credit to everyone involved and we would definitely visit again if we were in the area.

Date of visit: June 2022
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ed Faulkner, General Manager at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2022

Chris R,

So pleased you loved your visit.

Your comments are valuable to us so thank you.

Looking forward to seeing you again when you're in the area.

Kind regards
Ed Faulkner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2022 via mobile

Visited last Saturday night, staff very friendly and helpful. Food took a long time to arrive and it wasn’t very busy some of it was very good some just average, my burger was very dry and bland but the lamb suet pudding was apparently nice, steaks also very average, desserts were very good! The sticky toffee pudding was fantastic but we had to wait a hour for them to arrive which with 3 children wasn’t great. Not sure I will return but worth a visit as We might have just gone on not such a good night

Date of visit: May 2022
1  Thank Princess7510
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ed Faulkner, General Manager at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2022

Princess7510,

Thank you for your review.

Apologies that you thought the food took a long time to come out to you. I will talk to the kitchen team to see why the wait was on this occasion.

Don't let this experience put you off, please do come and try us again.

Kind regards
Ed Faulkner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2022 via mobile

Would Definitely recommend the Thorold .
Food was delicious perfect sunday roast .
Racheal and the team were super . Friendly helpful and super customer service .
We will definitely return again.
Thankyou Racheal 😊😊😊

Date of visit: May 2022
1  Thank 69bell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ed Faulkner, General Manager at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2022

69bell,

Thank you for your lovely review!

I hope to see you soon again at The Thorold very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thorold also viewed

Been to The Thorold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.