We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pub lunch”
Review of The Thorold

The Thorold
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Marston
Price range: £5 - £30
Description: The Thorold is newly refurbished after a long period of closure. Under community ownership and professionally managed, it offers a delightful, rural welcome to all. On the corner of Main Street and School Lane in the Lincolnshire village of Marston, it is easily accessible - just 7 miles from Grantham, 12 from Newark, and a mile east of the A1. It is the community focus of the village and is a pub with rooms, café, restaurant, and shop. A Free House, The Thorold offers cask ales from Bateman’s Brewery, varying guest beers, a range of lagers, cider, other beers, and a great selection of wines, spirits, and soft drinks. The menu is tasty and local, with meals to suit all appetites. The ethos is relaxed and family-friendly, with well-behaved dogs welcome. There is a beer garden with a lawn and plenty of outside tables and seating. The pub has level access throughout from the garden door and car park. Future development will provide full ground floor wheelchair accessibility.
Restaurant details
Description: The Thorold is newly refurbished after a long period of closure. Under community ownership and professionally managed, it offers a delightful, rural welcome to all. On the corner of Main Street and School Lane in the Lincolnshire village of Marston, it is easily accessible - just 7 miles from Grantham, 12 from Newark, and a mile east of the A1. It is the community focus of the village and is a pub with rooms, café, restaurant, and shop. A Free House, The Thorold offers cask ales from Bateman’s Brewery, varying guest beers, a range of lagers, cider, other beers, and a great selection of wines, spirits, and soft drinks. The menu is tasty and local, with meals to suit all appetites. The ethos is relaxed and family-friendly, with well-behaved dogs welcome. There is a beer garden with a lawn and plenty of outside tables and seating. The pub has level access throughout from the garden door and car park. Future development will provide full ground floor wheelchair accessibility.
Reviewed 14 October 2023

This place is my new favourite local for a good, honest pub lunch!
Visited with 7 friends and 9 dogs... yes 9!
They welcomed us inside, however, we did elect to sit in the lovely, modest garden.
Nothing was too much trouble for the team working...we felt so spoilt.
Food was delicious and the service, second to none!
So glad we visited here....and will definately call in again soon!

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amybeaumont1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Glad we managed to fit you all in. Many thanks to you and all your companions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2023 via mobile

A lovely pub with great rooms and lovely staff . Only stayed for one night but had a fabulous welcome and a really comfy room. It is the best value b&b/hotel I have ever stayed in and the breakfast was excellent quality. The poached eggs were fabulous.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank MikefromNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Great review! So glad the stay was a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2023

What a change it makes to have different options on the menu both for starter and main.
So many country pubs are all the same standard(nothing wrong with it)options.
This menu excited on the specials alone.
Plenty of choice which left it hard to choose from but we made the right choices tonight.
We had chicken and chorizo croquettes and the baked souffle,both of which were gorgeous and we would have them again.
For mains we had the pie which was really well made.
The pork belly was delicious and a good size portion.
We only live a few villages away and will absolutely come here more often
We came a few years back and there wasn't anything wrong with the meal but nothing bought us back.i presume it's new people or new chef.we will be back.
Our favourite deserts were on the menu too but unfortunately we were too full to try them but next time we will leave a bit more room.
Thankyou to everyone that made it a lovely evening out.
Rachel and Gemma( I believe )were really attentive and looked after us well

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2023

What a great review! Thank you so much and come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2023

We stayed over on a Saturday for a wedding nearby. Had a super warm welcome from the landlady, room was new and immaculate, great bed, great shower. Cooked breakfast was awesome too. Couldn't fault a thing. Would def recommend. Rob & Linda

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Passport38538805641
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2023

Thank you, Rob and Linda. We really appreciate your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2023

The staff were absolutely amazing. All of them could not do enough for you. The room was clean and really comfortable. Breakfast was brilliant and the location is lovely.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zakwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2023

Thank you so much. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thorold also viewed

Been to The Thorold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.